Saturday, May 25th, 2013

- It is currently Sat May 25, 2013 11:47 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

Biggs3ne
 Post subject: 4G18 to 4G93T GDI
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 8:02 am 

Can anyone comment as to whether or not I should attempt this, just want to get some feedback on your thoughts about this guys. Some say not to buy, others say buy and maintain properly.

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

daniel135
 Post subject: Re: 4G18 to 4G93T GDI
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:23 pm 

Raybic is the guy to deal with.he did this conversion

Biggs3ne
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 6:51 am 

I having mixed feelings about this. Saw a few posts tha3t highlighted the issues with this engine and it was like only one off when smeone said nothing wrong with the engine and to purchase.

I really wanted to convert to the 4g93t (CM5A), but i doubt i will be able to fet a front half with that engine.

dutyspeed
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 3:37 pm 

4G93t gdi is a great engine jus use proper oil and fuel and yuh good to go

daniel135
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 10:54 pm 

4g93t gdi,fits bolt for bolt..4g93t gsr doh,mite have to do some work on the mounts,not sure which ones.from what i heard,the gsr is more powerful than the gdi version.are u going manual or auto?if auto/tiptronic-gdi,manual -gsr :twisted: :twisted:

raybic
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2012 6:59 am 

hit me call for the 4g93t gdi,3435341 did the entire conversion. for the 4g93t gsr geometron is de man. the gsr from what i heard is not bolt for bolt and mounts,harness have to be wired into ur old dash. didnt want all that trouble.

Biggs3ne
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2012 1:34 pm 

^^^How much did u pay for the half cut and where did u get it?

raybic
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:52 am 

last year it got the whole front cut for 22k with rear disc brakes........mileage was 22k too.

now when i go in the bamboo, they calling 25-28k. so it depends.

btw if u can get the 1.6 dohc mivec with 5wd gearbox take it that engines is one of the best small engines round but hard to find and maybe expensive but worth it

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 7:11 pm 

^ Cosign, the gsr 93t will have to do over electrical and mounts.
Gdi93t is easier but being gdi you're taking a chance, because previous maintenance will decide if you have a reliable engine or a set of headache.
The gsr is easier to mod, the gdi is harder because of the design, simply raising boost can cause problems.

The 4g92 mivec is an awesome NA engine.

Biggs3ne
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 7:31 am 

^^^ Will the 4G92 be a direct bolt on? How easy/difficult is it to obtain it? Right now the 4g93T GDI is in the lead, but I still lots and lots more researching to do as well as saving. I like the fact that parts are widely available in the bamboo as stated by Raybic because it's a pain in d @$$ to get parts for my 4g18.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 8:28 pm 

^ no th e92 will need some modification, the 93tgdi is the easier swap, but that engine is taking a chance, seen some that worked great and others as soon as installed was one issue after another.

Don't want to detract you from the gdi cause it is a great engine, just have someone knowledgeable inspect it before purchase. If you intend to do further mods later on or get more power out the engine the gdi is not the engine for you, look at the gsr for that.

Or if you come across one of this in the bamboo, V6 NA power :evilbat:

newevolution costoms
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:21 pm 

mixed feelings but the 4g93 works really well and with good maintenance lasts really long and performs good.