4G18 to 4G93T GDI

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Biggs3ne

4G18 to 4G93T GDI

Postby Biggs3ne » June 21st, 2012, 8:02 am

Can anyone comment as to whether or not I should attempt this, just want to get some feedback on your thoughts about this guys. Some say not to buy, others say buy and maintain properly.

daniel135

Re: 4G18 to 4G93T GDI

Postby daniel135 » June 21st, 2012, 10:23 pm

Raybic is the guy to deal with.he did this conversion

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » June 22nd, 2012, 6:51 am

I having mixed feelings about this. Saw a few posts tha3t highlighted the issues with this engine and it was like only one off when smeone said nothing wrong with the engine and to purchase.

I really wanted to convert to the 4g93t (CM5A), but i doubt i will be able to fet a front half with that engine.

dutyspeed

Postby dutyspeed » June 22nd, 2012, 3:37 pm

4G93t gdi is a great engine jus use proper oil and fuel and yuh good to go

daniel135

Postby daniel135 » June 22nd, 2012, 10:54 pm

4g93t gdi,fits bolt for bolt..4g93t gsr doh,mite have to do some work on the mounts,not sure which ones.from what i heard,the gsr is more powerful than the gdi version.are u going manual or auto?if auto/tiptronic-gdi,manual -gsr :twisted: :twisted:

raybic

Postby raybic » June 23rd, 2012, 6:59 am

hit me call for the 4g93t gdi,3435341 did the entire conversion. for the 4g93t gsr geometron is de man. the gsr from what i heard is not bolt for bolt and mounts,harness have to be wired into ur old dash. didnt want all that trouble.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » June 23rd, 2012, 1:34 pm

^^^How much did u pay for the half cut and where did u get it?

raybic

Postby raybic » June 24th, 2012, 6:52 am

last year it got the whole front cut for 22k with rear disc brakes........mileage was 22k too.

now when i go in the bamboo, they calling 25-28k. so it depends.

btw if u can get the 1.6 dohc mivec with 5wd gearbox take it that engines is one of the best small engines round but hard to find and maybe expensive but worth it

Postby rollingstock » June 24th, 2012, 7:11 pm

^ Cosign, the gsr 93t will have to do over electrical and mounts.
Gdi93t is easier but being gdi you're taking a chance, because previous maintenance will decide if you have a reliable engine or a set of headache.
The gsr is easier to mod, the gdi is harder because of the design, simply raising boost can cause problems.

The 4g92 mivec is an awesome NA engine.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » June 25th, 2012, 7:31 am

^^^ Will the 4G92 be a direct bolt on? How easy/difficult is it to obtain it? Right now the 4g93T GDI is in the lead, but I still lots and lots more researching to do as well as saving. I like the fact that parts are widely available in the bamboo as stated by Raybic because it's a pain in d @$$ to get parts for my 4g18.

Postby rollingstock » June 25th, 2012, 8:28 pm

^ no th e92 will need some modification, the 93tgdi is the easier swap, but that engine is taking a chance, seen some that worked great and others as soon as installed was one issue after another.

Don't want to detract you from the gdi cause it is a great engine, just have someone knowledgeable inspect it before purchase. If you intend to do further mods later on or get more power out the engine the gdi is not the engine for you, look at the gsr for that.

Or if you come across one of this in the bamboo, V6 NA power :evilbat:

newevolution costoms

Postby newevolution costoms » July 31st, 2012, 10:21 pm

mixed feelings but the 4g93 works really well and with good maintenance lasts really long and performs good.

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 8th, 2014, 5:46 pm

Any updates with this conversion Biggs3ne?

Postby Ted_v2 » September 8th, 2014, 5:55 pm

He went 4g15 dohc and box. Then back to automatic I think.

Postby BrotherHood » September 9th, 2014, 10:18 am

:lol: yea after like two weeks he went back to automatic cvt.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 9th, 2014, 10:42 am

Manual is not for everyone yes. I like it but can't see myself driving that as a daily. Weekend machine NP

Postby BrotherHood » September 9th, 2014, 2:48 pm

Agreed. For me to have a manual vehicle, I hadda be owning two vehicles.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » September 11th, 2014, 7:40 am

^^BH the tranny is non CVT

Postby Ted_v2 » September 11th, 2014, 7:47 am

invec 2?

normal ck tranny not so?
what axles u used?

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » September 12th, 2014, 7:21 am

I think the tranny code is F4A42...filter on the inside...

Currently have on regular CS2 axles

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » September 12th, 2014, 7:22 am

NR8 wrote:Any updates with this conversion Biggs3ne?

What engine do you currently have bro, and why do you want to convert?

If you don't mind me asking.

bagogalant

Postby bagogalant » September 29th, 2014, 2:29 pm

Guys I need your help. I currently have a 2001 EA7A GDI VRG Galant that comes with the 2.0 DOHC 4G94 Engine. I'm experiencing issues with it after it has faithfully served me and I'm looking for a replacing that will be bolt for bolt. i was thinking 4G93T or the normal 4G93. also there is the VRM alternative which is a non turbo v6 MIVEC that comes in the Galant and the FTO or I can simply go back with the less hassle option of a 4G94. can anyone help and advise me on whereabouts of the recommended Engine??????????

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 29th, 2014, 2:33 pm

6A13

Postby Ted_v2 » September 29th, 2014, 3:01 pm

4g93 sohc from the ck5.

xtech

Postby xtech » October 1st, 2014, 9:12 pm

When it comes to Mitsubishi engines and wire harness there is no hassle

All 4G1x and 4G9x and 6A1x share same tranny bolt up all you need to do is plug in the correct tranny Ecu for your chosen tranny

If your engine is from same car like a V6 galant into a GDI galant the engine control harness will plug right into the cars main power harness and start up right away.

Only prob will be the gauge cluster won't be calibrated for V6

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 29th, 2014, 11:20 pm

Biggs3ne wrote:
NR8 wrote:Any updates with this conversion Biggs3ne?

What engine do you currently have bro, and why do you want to convert?

If you don't mind me asking.

Now saw your reply man :oops:
I've got a VRG with 4G93 GDI. No problems with it, was just just considering possible options for upgrade.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”