Project Box Lancer

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

jackal

Project Box Lancer

Postby jackal » June 13th, 2013, 10:07 pm

So I was looking for a foreign used box lancer, did not get one, so I end up purchasing a local used. It is a 1400cc one, but the shell is a GSR shell, the chassis number is on the fire wall. Everything original (certify copy), so I know it is not a changeover.
Somebody told me that the PAK models was all foreign, both GSR and EX models, the local ones had the chassis number welded to the passenger side apron.
This project will be long, based on the spare time I have, because I would be doing most of the modification/restoration work. As for a budget, don’t have one, just buy what I need. I would be looking for things like FPR, BOV, FMIC, radiator, catch can, fuel pump etc………. the whole can of worms.
My first phase is to scrape down off all the paint and put the body in primer. Paint the engine bay and build the suspension. Hope fully this should be completed before year’s end, if I finish earlier, I could send it in to be painted. What is a good brand of paint on today’s market? I currently looking for a GSR differential, some coil overs, some rotors and caliper for the front.
I need an engine, I am not one to do much crossbreeding, so I going 4g63T (JDM or DSM). It seems that DSM would be much cheaper. People hear want to dig out your eye on prices.
I want to network with anyone who have done this conversation hear, anyone can link me up?
I will put some picture of the car by weekend.
Too bad, I can’t get it as a sticky; I would have updated it as the project goes along.
Let’s hear some comments

SweeP

Re: Project Box Lancer

Postby SweeP » June 14th, 2013, 8:07 pm

dude post some pics nah to start off yuh thread!!

jackal

Postby jackal » June 14th, 2013, 9:41 pm

DSC04925.JPG

Look at the engine bay, the whole thing have never been painted.
DSC04926.JPG

Same as above
DSC04927.JPG

Again
DSC04931.JPG

For a 30+ year old car, no cracks on dash board.
DSC04929.JPG

Look at the line up of the seams.
DSC04924.JPG

Look at the body, it straight.
DSC04932.JPG

Ah start gathering parts.

jackal

Postby jackal » June 14th, 2013, 9:44 pm

Goind to look for some brakes for the front and a rear diff.

What alyah think of a prado diff?

Do we have anyone down hear that does the respline when I shorten the banjo?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 16th, 2013, 12:54 am

Nice car... Long project. Goin to take awhile to get all the parts. Good luck.

IMHO even with a stock DSM 4G63T, you will need plenty more than just "front rotors & callipers."
My stock 1800 GSR w/4-wheel disk brakes used to "fade" regularly.
New A175X project will use bigger Image Starion rotors PLUS Brembos (ft & rr) & Master cylinder from an Evo 8.

This might help... Link--> Project Zero G Forums.

My $0.02¢

jackal

Postby jackal » June 16th, 2013, 8:31 am

Sanctifier wrote:Nice car... Long project. Goin to take awhile to get all the parts. Good luck.

IMHO even with a stock DSM 4G63T, you will need plenty more than just "front rotors & callipers."
My stock 1800 GSR w/4-wheel disk brakes used to "fade" regularly.
New A175X project will use bigger Image Starion rotors PLUS Brembos (ft & rr) & Master cylinder from an Evo 8.

This might help... Link--> Project Zero G Forums.

My $0.02¢

Yea, I know. Parts hard to come by and most of the work will be done by me. With work, house and family....... it go take long.

Sanctifier......

I saw one of you box lancer on one of the forum, you seem to have done all this and that with the lancers........

The colour is silver........have the code?

PM me your number.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 16th, 2013, 10:01 am

jackal wrote:...With work, house and family....... it go take long.
I saw one of you box lancer on one of the forum, you seem to have done all this and that with the lancers........
The colour is silver........have the code?
PM me your number.
With work, house and family... Yup. With the new risk of losing my business and having to start over again, Paintless Dent Repair "start up" is more important than car projects right now.
you seem to have done all this and that... CORRECTION: Getting ready to do...
1st Paintless Dent Repair "start up" soon. Compressor installed... lines to run. :roll:
2nd Complete Evo 6 rebuild later this year. Still have to get a few more more bits. ($$$$)
3rd Fortunately, I finally have all the bits for GroceryGetter. (A175X.)
colour code... Sorry, I don't know. Never paid much attention to "colour codes" I'm afraid.
All projects are RestoMods so OEM colours don't mean much to me.
GroceryGetter will be Spies Hecker metallic silver grey... The E6 & the E6 Clone will be pearl white.

Phone number: 684-4552.

SweeP

Postby SweeP » June 16th, 2013, 8:11 pm

dat engine bay and interior looking real decent fuh ah local dat still original

Postby black start » June 17th, 2013, 12:55 am

SweeP wrote:dat engine bay and interior looking real decent fuh ah local dat still original

first thing noticed too....once the body in that kind of condition, you have a decent platform to build on...

jackal

Postby jackal » June 17th, 2013, 4:12 pm

So today I transfered the vehicle, so it mine, all mine!

jackal

Postby jackal » June 17th, 2013, 4:19 pm

So on the way back, I took up a few things to start preparing the body for paint.

Some bondo, some stripper, some de-ruster, some epoxy primer & some top coat primer.

Also picked up a production sander, cheeze grader & a file blade.

As luch would have it, they did not have a straightning hammer.
DSC04949.JPG

jackal

Postby jackal » June 17th, 2013, 4:27 pm

I am a firm believer in the saying that if you can read and understand, you can accomplish almost anything.
So, me not being a straighter decided to order some books off the net last week, guess what, they were hear when I got home today.

They should guide me along the way.

And thanks to one of my cousin, an Auto Body Technician, in Princess Town, Shaheed by name, he will guide me along the way.

DSC04958.JPG

DSC04959.JPG

jackal

Postby jackal » June 17th, 2013, 4:34 pm

This also came in the mail, ordered one just in case I need it.

DSC04961.JPG

SweeP

Postby SweeP » June 17th, 2013, 5:08 pm

ahh boii yuh real determine to make dis project ah reality, dats good man!!an if yuh get fed up reading dem books it always have you tube.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 17th, 2013, 6:42 pm

Great start jackal. We'll talk again soon.
jackal wrote:As luc(k) would have it, they did not have a straightning hammer.
This current eBay auction might help... Snap On Autobody Hammers Dolly Set (Used)

Eastwood also has their 7-piece "pro"(?) set for US $100.00.

venum

Postby venum » June 19th, 2013, 8:10 pm

interested on teh developmenst as they occur

jackal

Postby jackal » June 20th, 2013, 6:56 am

Sanctifier...........

After reading your post on Zorce..........

I only thinking Brembos...........

Did some searches on the net, it is very affordable and doable. I could do the entire system in evo and that would solve the issue of searching for hard to find hand brakes cables for the lancer; ah have everything eve, use the evo.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 20th, 2013, 5:48 pm

I only thinking Brembos... Yup! Just be aware of the usual limitations of almost every swap.
In this case... Handbrake mechanism & cables! The OEM Lancer 1400 EX and 1800 GSR rear mechanisms are different.
IIRC you want to use a hybrid diff. That may need some fabrication (& maybe using the 'hybrid' handbrake lever as well?!?)

I'm going totally Image Starion independent rear suspension...
but with Evo 8 Brembo calipers, I'll have to make adapter plates (ft. & rr.) to suit the Starion struts...
and use Brembo or Wilwood handbrake calipers like these (US $70-$100 on eBay)...
Image Image

My $0.02¢

jackal

Postby jackal » June 20th, 2013, 8:02 pm

Know anybody that respline diffs axel shafts? The GSR ones hard to find and when you do the price high, If I have to spend that kind of money might as well spend it on something that I can get replacement parts and stronger.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 20th, 2013, 9:22 pm

^ ^ ^ Nope, sorry. Never bothered to check... No need to do so. I'm using OEM parts to avoid unnecessary additional headaches. I have more than enough of those to deal with as it is.

GSR ones hard to find... Yup, almost impossible. I'll keep my GSR's rear axle in case my son needs it in future.

jackal

Postby jackal » June 23rd, 2013, 7:46 pm

So Saturday I went looking for a bonnet and trunk lid, this is what I ended up with.

After negotiating with the two guys, I had only $20 in my wallet and my wife purse empty.

DSC04971.JPG

jackal

Postby jackal » June 23rd, 2013, 7:51 pm

Got it with the both handbrake cables and the four bars/struts.

It is a 10 bolt diff, not sure what the ratio is.

My intent is to scrap it out and do a rebuild and repaint before install.

diff.jpg

jackal

Postby jackal » June 23rd, 2013, 7:58 pm

So today, had some spare time and took to stripping the paint off the hood. Funny thing, it seems that the hood had some corrosion spots that appare to be comming from the inside.

Came across a guy with a hood, thinking of changing out the entire hood to get rid of the corrosion, since the vehicle is one I intend to keep.

I might solve the corrision issue for inception, now that I understand it.

DSC04966.JPG

Big Rock1

Postby Big Rock1 » June 24th, 2013, 12:42 pm

liking this project.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 26th, 2013, 11:36 am

subscribed

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 26th, 2013, 1:25 pm

jackal help me with a problem please...
How did you remove the Lancer's hood-liner without breaking the odd 'J/L-shaped' hidden plastic clips?

I have to remove the hood-liners from both EXs. Three people (2 "pros" & myself) have tried unsuccessfully so far.
I can't even see the damn things... far less get access to them with tools.
We even tried 'lifting' the liner after removing plastic 'surround'... still NOT visible! :roll:

FOUR roof-mounting clips have broken so far. We stopped any further attempts until a solution is found.
They are IMPOSSIBLE to find, (& I still have a complete set) so I want to reuse them when the time comes.

Any ideas/suggestions... OEM suppliers... or Image "factory hood-liner tool" recommendations will be appreciated.
Thanks.

jackal

Postby jackal » June 26th, 2013, 8:55 pm

Haven't removed the hood liner yet, for the very same reason.

I will look at it next week when I come off shift.

Will let you know how it goes.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 27th, 2013, 12:21 pm

^ ^ ^ Okay. Thanks.

neofrog

Postby neofrog » July 1st, 2013, 6:31 pm

Nice project! Looking for project builds like these to feature on our website. Check out www.jdmhunter.net or email feature@jdmhunter.net if you interested.

jackal

Postby jackal » July 4th, 2013, 2:23 pm

The diff turned out to be a dud, it is a welded one. The seller and I did an arrangement and I took the banjo and disc system.

Currently looking for a 10 bolt LSD.

I have some updates, will post it later or tomorrow with pictures...... went looking for parts.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”