URGENT HELP PLZ ! 97 Mitsubishi Lancer upgrade 4G15 to 4G93T

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Kiemando

URGENT HELP PLZ ! 97 Mitsubishi Lancer upgrade 4G15 to 4G93T

Postby Kiemando » January 14th, 2014, 11:32 am

Hi guys i'm new here and just need some help/advice on a full project i intend on starting...

i have a 1997 Mitsubishi Lancer (GLX) i think or (GLXI)
Manual 4G15 injector engine

So instead of doing work on this small engine i want to do things the proper way.
1. i want to get a 4G93T engine which i think is the same mounting patterns etc. now is this possible?
2. the 4G93T is a GSR engine and that gearbox is for 4WD which my lancer is front wheel drive ... so which gearbox is indeed the correct performance gearbox to get for my car & this engine ?
3. I currently have break drums at back which i need to convert to discs and upgrade the front ones also ... which breaking kit is straight bolt up for this car ?

thanks in advance for the help guys and i am open to all suggestions... i anxiously look forward to the replies

Re: URGENT HELP PLZ ! 97 Mitsubishi Lancer upgrade 4G15 to 4

Postby Ted_v2 » January 14th, 2014, 7:38 pm

all engine mounts would work back, the gearbox will need to change if i can remember properly, best bet is to upgrade the mounts to poly mounts or soild mounts as they would damage if you using them back from the ck as mounts slowly break down. I busted 2 lower mounts when i upgraded from a sohc carbed 4g15 to a dohc EFI.

either a F5M41 or F5M42 from a CK chassis( 4G15 F5M41-4G92 F5M42-4G92)...that gearbox will fit on a 4G93T out of a GSR bolt for bolt...you will just have to locate a 7 hole flywheel when going 4G93T.

the cs2 lancer brakes are upgrades to the front. 1" bigger. No need to mc upgrade.
the rear disk can be sourced in the bamboo easily.

im actually planning a similar project but im looking to get some more $ to start.

upgrades i had in mind, was to do.
full d2 coilovers.
front and rear strut brakes.
A pillar braces from the evo4-5
(looking at a idea of using cs lancer 5 stud hubs to convert both front a rear)
custom modded rear camber arms, and upper arms.

-> here has some good info.
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=548053

Postby Ted_v2 » January 14th, 2014, 8:18 pm

Just realized what I said. The mounts on the gearbox won't need to change with the 4g15 mounts. And that gearbox you have can work with a 7 bolt flywheel and a clutch upgrade

Kiemando

Postby Kiemando » January 14th, 2014, 8:45 pm

OHHH THANKS MAN REALLY APPRECIATE THE INFORMATION, MY ONLY PROBLEM NOW IS SOURCING THE ENGINE I LIVE IN JAMAICA AND I CANT SEEM TO FIND THAT ENGINE OUT HERE.

ANY MORE INFORMATION WOULD BE GRATEFULLY ACCEPTED AND APPRECIATED !

Postby Ted_v2 » January 15th, 2014, 4:16 am

Those are rare in Trinidad also.

Postby Morpheus » January 15th, 2014, 4:27 am

Great engine that 4G93T, but rare and hence the crazy prices if you do happen to find 1. :|

Postby Ted_v2 » January 15th, 2014, 4:39 am

Last price I heard was 15k for one with a fwd gearbox

Kiemando

Postby Kiemando » January 15th, 2014, 10:27 am

wow thats expensive ..... i wonder y this engine is so rare though if everyone thinks its so good ,,,,, and what is it like in comparison to the 4G92T & 4G91T ?

Postby Morpheus » January 15th, 2014, 12:56 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Last price I heard was 15k for one with a fwd gearbox

I hear $25k in 2012. So for me $15k is a great price!:lol:

kav747

Postby kav747 » January 15th, 2014, 1:42 pm

Just bought a complete CM5A 4G93T Engine, ECU, Harness and 4WD Gearbox for 12K in the bamboo yesterday. One of the last ones at that price. Everybody else have it for 15k plus and it might not be complete. Upgrading from Mivec to GSR with Box

Postby Morpheus » January 15th, 2014, 6:16 pm

That's a steal.

Padna paid $14K for 4G92 mivec and box a few years ago.

Kiemando

Postby Kiemando » January 15th, 2014, 11:26 pm

kav can u assist me in getting one of those engines shipped to jamaica ? the only thing i wouldnt want is the gearbox but everything else complete.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”