vr4 conversion project

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

john boy

vr4 conversion project

Postby john boy » January 27th, 2014, 7:44 am

so iam on ah lil project changing my normal shark mouth galant to vr4 but wanna keep it 2wd for d while what r my options, advantage an dis adv ??? 8-) 8-)

bas

Re: vr4 conversion project

Postby bas » January 28th, 2014, 8:17 pm

Bump

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » February 4th, 2014, 9:52 pm

Take a look at Banzai's VRG to VR4 conversion thread. Its linked in Mishi's stickied tech thread.

Quality info there.

kerwin1968

Postby kerwin1968 » February 6th, 2014, 10:36 pm

Disadvantage traction issues if you go fwd

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » February 6th, 2014, 10:56 pm

But it have ppl who gon AWD and dont wire the AYC and guess what happens by a corner.

2WD is better if you don't intend to go all the way OP.

john boy

Postby john boy » February 6th, 2014, 11:47 pm

iam only askin cause i dont know like the; 'ground details'.... but i drove in the two already,the 2wd wow/// dat was ah kicker ,the awd ;;;ah mean;; dont get me wrong yea it performed better but i dont think it was all dat big of ah difference, well not enough to spend couple thousands again stupsss// i feel d 2wd go cut it for me man .....probably there was something more i should of felt and didnt ??????

Kinday

Postby Kinday » February 7th, 2014, 1:15 am

I'm running 2wd sadly it's auto. It's pretty damn good tbh. My car came with TCL from factory so it helps unless I turn it off but I'm scared for the tranny so I leave it on. Would love a gearbox tho

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » February 7th, 2014, 2:06 am

RWD. Best option.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » February 7th, 2014, 5:44 pm

Kal-El Ward wrote:RWD. Best option.

Explain to me how that is done in this particular conversion, if you dont mind...

And OP, have u considered a 4G63T swap?

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » February 7th, 2014, 7:23 pm

de_dougla_smurf wrote:

Explain to me how that is done in this particular conversion, if you dont mind...

Never underestimate the human mind, I'm engineering. Think about it carefully. This is trinituner. A community focused on automobiles. We're seeing worldwide cars being created from scratch. Just an idea that becomes reality. Can be done.

Postby 1UZFE » February 7th, 2014, 7:26 pm

de_dougla_smurf wrote:

He dont know what he talkin bout smurf.
He prolly dont know what is a vr4.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » February 7th, 2014, 7:38 pm

Transverse v6 powered 4wheel drive mitsubishi galant.

Postby 1UZFE » February 7th, 2014, 7:39 pm

Kal-El Ward wrote:Transverse v6 powered 4wheel drive mitsubishi galant.

Goggle workin boi...

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » February 7th, 2014, 7:39 pm

Nothing is impossible. Make fun. But OP, don't give up. Explore the possibilities.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » February 7th, 2014, 7:42 pm

I never Googled it. I knew someone who had one. He regretted selling it though. Don't like cars with transverse engines, but that particular model, I always saw a potential to be a RWD beast.

Postby 1UZFE » February 7th, 2014, 7:43 pm

Op if u goin to do d mod u need to go all d way. Would start by buyin a front half thats abt 25k or more. U would get d engine and transmission also u would get d suspension set. Just swap part for part (if it was that easy), the wiring is a bit tricky. But Bazai conversion was well done as mentioned. U would get good help there.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » February 7th, 2014, 8:46 pm

It have a good looking conversion for sale right now for 45k on tuner.

Also have a legit vr4 for about 70k.

Sell your shark and take one of them.

Saves on time, headache, frustration.

I would take my own advice but mine is a family car.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 8th, 2014, 7:11 am

de_dougla_smurf wrote:It have a good looking conversion for sale right now for 45k on tuner.

Also have a legit vr4 for about 70k.

Sell your shark and take one of them.

Saves on time, headache, frustration.

this

xtech

Postby xtech » February 8th, 2014, 9:02 am

here is absolute simple way to VR2 power......

there is no wiring headache....to say. everything plugs back in. just a simple jack out GDI engine ECU and tranny ECU unplug all sensors on engine and tranny unplug from engine bay fuse box pull it out an throw it in a corner remove engine leave tranny (and while its free open the tranny oil pan and up the line pressure bolt will get back to this later)..... :lol:

now in reverse order install V6 bolt to 2WD tranny jack in VR4 harness plug in V6 ECU and use your 2WD tranny ECU and start the car.

To run the VR4 cluster hard way partially remove dash to get at cluster dash harness pull it out an install VR4 Dash harness and dimmer switch. There is a lazy easy way but u loose the dimmer function.

all thats left is to do is install turbo pipes and bits......flash the car ECU to remove limits.....flash the tranny ECU to take advantage of the higher hydraulic pressure to shift faster harder and in the correct rev range. As ironic as it sounds It will last longer.

Only problem with the tranny is the input shaft is to short......so you cant launch the car anytime at all....have to remember to put on the power gradually or you will strip splines in the convertor so dont lend the car to anybody without telling them that :roll:

Postby Ted_v2 » February 8th, 2014, 9:49 am

is there any gearbox that can take the jammin 2wd?

Kinday

Postby Kinday » February 8th, 2014, 7:33 pm

Then you'd want the 4G92 gearbox, For ease I just stayed with the tranny since I won't be racing just the occasional spirited drive.

I have a huge torque converter on my car. Original VR-M Mivec Galant....It's bigger than the VRG torque converter, additionally I put a decent oil cooler on the tranny too. The factory TCL restricts any "launching" when it's on, but TBH though once you mash the gas excitedly the tyre rips.

The swap was simple. Just take out and put in much like Xtech said. I didn't even change the high VIS cluster that came with the VR-M. The original tranny from the mivec has a 4.4 final drive so the gearing isn't the most economical for the 6A13tt. The car came from factory with the VR4 brakes, 4 airbags, premium leather, etc...it's just sad that it was only limited to the Mivec lump.

Xtech I respect your knowledge on the subject and read a lot of your earlier posts about the swap. Can you elaborate on some info on who/ where I can flash my TCU and ECU? Mine is the 7201 ecu though, I heard it's not flashable or not as simple....but my TCU should be. I would love to flash it though and I'd like some more info on upping the tranny pressure too. The VR-M usually shifted quite aggressively before but I'd like to get as close to best for this VR2.

xtech

Postby xtech » February 8th, 2014, 11:05 pm

Oh i forgot to mention you need the V6 starter

Well now a days all ECUs can be flashed but I don't have the hardware required to flash metal case ECUs.

I think we met...

I haven't seen a V6 2WD tranny up close. Do they have a long input shaft?

Kinday

Postby Kinday » February 9th, 2014, 5:31 pm

I have both starters...I recently serviced the Mivec starter prior to the install so I just reused it. About the input shaft, I have no clue, but it's the same F4A42 4 speed tranny so I assume it's not long.

john boy

Postby john boy » February 9th, 2014, 11:19 pm

well dat was my next question to ask .....how to do d 2wd conversion ah c like ah doh need to ask no more ah jus ha to add to it ,cause so far i got 3 options d fto transmission which is a 4 speed dat can handle d power but leaves ur engine bawlin for ah 5 ,d normal gdi wah go work inno but because of d power ratio from engine to trans i go mash up dat ///u no wiz to have all dat power under uh foot to b petting mash an move not mash an mash up ,but wat ah c people do an it holding out so far iz remove d transfer case using back d tripod cup from d previous trans, an makin ah blank off with 1/4'' aluminum. an dem mashing an moving eh ////me ent reach dat part of my build yet but when it reach option 3 iz 4 me.....lol .... but iam gonna give it ah shot an c how it plays out
Last edited by john boy on February 9th, 2014, 11:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

xtech

Postby xtech » February 9th, 2014, 11:23 pm

john boy wrote:but wat ah c people hold in out so far iz remove d transfer case using back d tripod cup from d previous trans makin ah blank off with 1/4'' aluminum an dem mashing an moving eh ////me ent reach dat part of my build yet but when it reach option 3 iz 4 me.....lol .... but iam gonna give it ah shot an c how it plays out

Neat trick......

or u can leave the transfer-case remove and blank of the tail piece plus weld the diff......
otherwise its a slow pull off until the viscous coupling heats up

thats also the way to send 100% power to rear wheels if u remove front axles (instant RWD VR-4)

john boy

Postby john boy » February 9th, 2014, 11:39 pm

i really heard about the slow pull off but dats only if the tc was still there an not connected

Kinday

Postby Kinday » February 10th, 2014, 12:51 pm

john boy wrote:d fto transmission which is a 4 speed dat can handle d power but leaves ur engine bawlin for ah 5

So damn true :x
I find myself hitting the tippy looking for a 5th often.

xtech

Postby xtech » February 10th, 2014, 12:57 pm

The MIVEC FTO tranny is 5 speed eh....

Kinday

Postby Kinday » February 10th, 2014, 2:52 pm

The pre 98 mivec FTO's and all of the mivec 8g Galants (limited to 500) got the 4-speed tranny....silly Mitsubishi

john boy

Postby john boy » February 10th, 2014, 10:25 pm

Ooo xtech tell mah ah lil more about dat diff ting na boy if uh doh mine ???

Return to “MITSUBISHI”