The OFFICIAL Sharkmouth Galant Thread

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

NR8

Re: The OFFICIAL Sharkmouth Galant Thread

Postby NR8 » September 1st, 2014, 10:31 pm

Mike93 check these Moog springs http://www.fme-cat.com/Application.aspx ... ators&ga=Y

Just google Moog and the corresponding part numbers to find online retailers.
Front http://www.amazon.com/Moog-81214-Suspen ... B005JCPSO2
Rear http://www.amazon.com/Moog-81103-Suspen ... B006DYIR8E

Those are great prices. The Nissan B12 springs I got an amazon were $60usd a pair.

Mike93

Postby Mike93 » September 2nd, 2014, 8:52 am

NR8 wrote:Mike93 check these Moog springs http://www.fme-cat.com/Application.aspx ... ators&ga=Y

Just google Moog and the corresponding part numbers to find online retailers.
Front http://www.amazon.com/Moog-81214-Suspen ... B005JCPSO2
Rear http://www.amazon.com/Moog-81103-Suspen ... B006DYIR8E

Those are great prices. The Nissan B12 springs I got an amazon were $60usd a pair.

Thanks a lot man.

Postby BrotherHood » September 4th, 2014, 12:04 pm

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 4th, 2014, 2:05 pm

Anybody knows how to remove that wood grain finisher and how to get to the deck? Want to change the deck.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » September 4th, 2014, 11:50 pm

You need to remove the trimming around the gear lever first with flat bladed screw driver. there are also two screws pointed upward in the ash tray, get them out before you attempt to pry out the console. Its held in place with clips, so with a little patience you should be able to get it out. Pull it evenly to the back of the car.

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 5th, 2014, 12:04 am

Thanks. Forgot to post a pic of the finisher I was referring to for clarification. Here it is

mitsubishi_galant_3316944_8_orig.jpg

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » September 9th, 2014, 10:46 pm

yup.

yuh get tru?

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » September 10th, 2014, 11:28 pm

Hey anyone know where you could source the courtesy light bulbs for the gallant? One of mines blew. All the parts places I went to have a bulb that looks almost the same, but its a little longer and they're more rounded off at the ends. :/

iceman_international

Postby iceman_international » September 17th, 2014, 3:25 pm

does anyone know where i could get a brand new alternator n a complete ignition switch?? my switch giving trouble..

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » September 19th, 2014, 7:45 am

@ yvan300 try aftermarket LEDs.

@iceman Take a walk through the bamboo or d&d auto in central.

Postby BrotherHood » October 2nd, 2014, 11:16 am

Fellas, what model bulbs does the instrument cluster and AC controls use? Is it the T5? How many in total?

STREETFREAK

Postby STREETFREAK » October 18th, 2014, 3:22 pm

Hey does the back seat of a 8 gen galant (shark mouth) fold down?

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » October 30th, 2014, 10:55 pm

Nope.

Had a bad idle.

Changed MAF and throttle body. A lot better now. Will clean injectors in next service and change fuel filter innd back to see if that helps.

Need an OEM denso O2 sensor tho. Anyone here have?

NR8

Postby NR8 » November 1st, 2014, 11:13 pm

Where'd you get the MAF and throttle body and what price? You have the 4G94gdi right?

Try amayama.com for the O2 sensor. I think our cars have two O2 sensors, one by the exhaust manifold and another under the car. Is it throwing a CEL? Which one's defective?

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » November 1st, 2014, 11:42 pm

NR8 wrote:Where'd you get the MAF and throttle body and what price? You have the 4G94gdi right?

Try amayama.com for the O2 sensor. I think our cars have two O2 sensors, one by the exhaust manifold and another under the car. Is it throwing a CEL? Which one's defective?

I got the MAF for 500 at Premium Auto Parts. Got the throttle body for 1000 at Raj Auto Parts. Premium is a few turns off the main road, raj is a few buildings after double zee on the right hand side.

You may not get a TB directly out of a 4g94 so 4g93 TB from galant or cedia will work too.

Yes my car is an EA7A with the 4G94 GDI.

I only have one o2 sensor on the manifold.

By comparison, I saw a few 4g93s with only one under the car, after the flexpipe.

I've never seen one that has both.

I'm not getting a CEL but I ran a paperclip scan and it always shows.

When I was getting 300-400km off a tank, I changed it and milage improved to 450-550km.

I spliced the replacement however so I'm looking for the OEM plug in replacement

NR8

Postby NR8 » November 2nd, 2014, 12:57 am

I assume both those places are in the Bamboo? Just asking for future reference nah.

I have an EA1A with 4G93gdi and I think I have both O2 sensors, will check and confirm.

What symptoms were you getting that prompted you to do the paperclip scan though? Just poor mpg?
I've never done the paperclip thing. Does the number of blinks pinpoint exactly to O2 sensor failure? Or did you still have to troubleshoot?

NR8

Postby NR8 » November 6th, 2014, 1:33 pm

Guys I'm looking for a brake booster and master cylinder for my VRG. Checked all the foreign used places by Bick's compound in Penal but none had. Anybody knows where else I can check, and the average price?

Someone has a VR4 turbo brake booster and master cylinder but they say the booster is wider in diameter. I don't want to buy it and then it can't fit. Does anyone know if it can fit and work on the VRG?

Postby Ted_v2 » November 6th, 2014, 8:35 pm

Bicks would never have that.

Go by Ivar down quarry. Or maraj in Duncan village if not.

Then bamboo

streetpunk

Postby streetpunk » November 7th, 2014, 9:46 am

Anybody have a 4g63 tranny that came in the local shark mouth galants.....or know if another mitsu tranny will work like from the ck lancer or something?

xtech

Postby xtech » November 7th, 2014, 10:00 am

U can get those in by bicks In penal still mated to 4G63 GDIs

NR8

Postby NR8 » November 7th, 2014, 10:19 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Bicks would never have that.

Go by Ivar down quarry. Or maraj in Duncan village if not.

Then bamboo
Where exactly in Duncan Vlg is Maraj? Got a number for them?

streetpunk

Postby streetpunk » November 7th, 2014, 12:12 pm

xtech wrote:U can get those in by bicks In penal still mated to 4G63 GDIs

Mine isnt gdi man...its the local 4g63 injected with normal tranny.....no cvt ,no tiptronic

xtech

Postby xtech » November 7th, 2014, 12:38 pm

The transmission is what you need. An there is no mechanical difference between tiptronic or non tiptronic trannys the difference is in the software in tcu box and it needs tiptronic shifters to activate it.

Obviously we not talking about CVT cause the 4G63 never got CVT from factory.

streetpunk

Postby streetpunk » November 7th, 2014, 12:45 pm

Ik man but is there 4g63 gdi engines?....ik there are 4g93 gdi engines....

xtech

The OFFICIAL Sharkmouth Galant Thread

Postby xtech » November 7th, 2014, 1:11 pm

Oh yeah there plenty types of GDI engines out there even a few V6.... But there are no 4G63 GDIs sorry... You asking for 4G64 2.4l GDI they are the same.

NR8

Postby NR8 » November 7th, 2014, 1:14 pm

I & S in Penal actually have a 4G63 engine and tranny in front next to a couple 4G94s. Saw it there yesterday.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 8th, 2014, 12:19 am

No contact

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » November 16th, 2014, 7:22 pm

NR8 wrote:I assume both those places are in the Bamboo? Just asking for future reference nah.

I have an EA1A with 4G93gdi and I think I have both O2 sensors, will check and confirm.

What symptoms were you getting that prompted you to do the paperclip scan though? Just poor mpg?
I've never done the paperclip thing. Does the number of blinks pinpoint exactly to O2 sensor failure? Or did you still have to troubleshoot?

Yes both places were in the bamboo.

The paperclip scan is easy, I learnt it from a tutorial xtech posted here in the mitsu forum.

I happen to have another bookmarked.

http://www.evoscan.com/technical-vehicl ... iagnostics. Scroll down to the 1994+ Mitsubishi Diagnostic Trouble Code Retrieval Without Scan Tool section.

The blinks represent numbers which are your trouble codes and you cross reference with the list.

I was getting an racing idle and constant abs light which is why i did it the first time.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » November 16th, 2014, 7:27 pm

streetpunk wrote:Anybody have a 4g63 tranny that came in the local shark mouth galants.....or know if another mitsu tranny will work like from the ck lancer or something?

The transmission you are looking for is the F4A42 transmission. It came in both local and foreign galants. You can get one FU for around $3500. Look for one that does not have the filter on top, as this is the newer version.

Tuners, im also in the market for a TPS. If you see one around for sale lemme know. No luck finding one so far...

STREETFREAK

Postby STREETFREAK » November 16th, 2014, 7:59 pm

Came across this yesterday an original vr4 legnumImage

Return to “MITSUBISHI”