The OFFICIAL Sharkmouth Galant Thread

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

de_dougla_smurf

Re: The OFFICIAL Sharkmouth Galant Thread

Postby de_dougla_smurf » March 26th, 2014, 3:50 pm

I care, but thaz just me. Wouldnt mind learning.

:/

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » March 29th, 2014, 9:30 pm

de_dougla_smurf wrote:@xtech + other gurus: what are your thoughts on decat and extractors for gdi engines and possible consequences.

Menace3.0

Postby Menace3.0 » April 2nd, 2014, 12:45 pm

de_dougla_smurf wrote:
de_dougla_smurf wrote:@xtech + other gurus: what are your thoughts on decat and extractors for gdi engines and possible consequences.

Possible consequence is a check engine light and your car not performing as it should......possible eh. However I believe that if you're deleting the CAT/using Extractors you can do two things:

1) remove oxygen sensor and insert a resistor to simulate the signal that the ECU would read. Do a search....think Raybic and another person did that to their GDI 4G93T's

2) or leave the sensor but use a spacer to kind of reduce the probe's contact surface area with the exhaust gas. Due to the removal of the CAT or even adding the extractors the volume of your gas would increase so the probe would have difficulty in reading the new temps, etc. If you have seen one of the aftermarket EGT probes; even the OEM's ...they come with bung that you can adjust how the probe screws/fits into resonator.

Keep us updated. Was considering the extractors, but the stock ones are a'right..... so far.... the only advantage I can see with the aftermarket is that they are lighter than the cast irons.

Ques. though....what size is your current exhaust setup? Meaning from manifold to muffler.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 2nd, 2014, 4:22 pm

2" front to back, stock barrel removed in favour of HKS Drager barrel, 3" in 4" out and about 1/3 the weight.

Thanks for the recommendations. Ill look into them. Im really persuing this because a lot of people dont believe that I didnt do an engine swap in this car. As much bolt ons I could get, ill invest.

I grew accustomed to hearing, like yuh put ah ess arr, nah GDI doh wuk so, how it does idle so quiet, how it does song so when yuh open out etc etc...

Side note. I went by an exhaust shop recently to get a hole sealed. I also asked him about doin the cat delete. He said "nah dis car doh have no cat, alldem ting is resonators on d pipe." He went on to say, "yuh car real gehin hole back too with da foreign used barrel. Buy one of mine for $600 and ah go put it on for free!"

Needless to say, this is solid advice.

Upon inspection, The silencer was rotting a bit, so I removed it and all of the potscrub insulation around it, so meh car wouldnt hole back, for free...

Menace3.0

Postby Menace3.0 » April 2nd, 2014, 5:24 pm

Smurf
Lol about the CAT..... but I hear you. The same here.

Had a HKS barrel as well. Car does really move though. Recently gave it to a partner of mine. Mines was 2 inches from front to the 1st resonator. However after that its 2.25" to muffler.

Had a hole in the exhaust right under the left passenger seat where the car used to rub going over those annoyingly high road humps. Tried to get it repaired but it was costing about $700!!!!..... just to patch a hole in cast iron dread.

Bought a complete exhaust to replace it...cost about the same thing. Plus was able to shed some weight....those exhausts are heavy.

But really if you can avoid it....don't let anyone work on your car....put you in more expense. I'll hit you guys a pic when she's painted.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 3rd, 2014, 12:11 am

2.25" Sounds interesting. Funny enuff is that same spot needed fixing on mine.

Looking forward to the pic.

I love to DIY, but I dont always have the luxuries of time or the right tools now and again...

Where do you do your suspension maintenence?

Menace3.0

Postby Menace3.0 » April 4th, 2014, 11:22 am

I do my own suspension work. Have the manuals which helps alot ....having problems loading them though. Have the tools as well to do the work. Actually I did the engine rebuild for myself. This was the second one I did. First was on B13 with a SR20 conversion. A lot of research and planning went into both builds.

However these days I hardly have time to think let alone work on a car.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 4th, 2014, 12:53 pm

Question

anyone ever swapped a 4g93t GDI into one of these galants?

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 5th, 2014, 12:23 am

I needs bushing work done on sub frame, lower control arms, front and back, rear upper cradle bushings and ball joints.

Also want to change front springs.

@sound boy
I dunno anyone with 4g93 gdi-t in d shark, have u heard of that swap already?

Postby Ted_v2 » April 5th, 2014, 6:07 am

if you from south i can put you onto a guy for the bushings ect.

i was thinking its a pretty good swap, from the CS turbo wagon

autozam

Postby autozam » April 5th, 2014, 9:36 am

need to get front wind screen and front grill...galant vrg...anyone???

Menace3.0

Postby Menace3.0 » April 7th, 2014, 12:04 pm

de_dougla_smurf wrote:I needs bushing work done on sub frame, lower control arms, front and back, rear upper cradle bushings and ball joints.
Also want to change front springs.

@sound boy
I dunno anyone with 4g93 gdi-t in d shark, have u heard of that swap already?

Vyshall from Aditi Enterprises have the energy suspension bushing kit for the Galant as well as the superpro bushings for the front straight lower control arm. PM him to get a quote.....he also installs them.

I ordered mines from Garvin's on Long Circular....... it was closer for me.....car was not running then and I ordered the superpro bushings online. Machine shop pressed them in the same day I got them. The entire suspension (control arms) was pulled. The only thing is that you will have to get OEM for the rear toe control/lateral control arm. No PU available for those. Cost was $2,200 for the entire set PU & OEM plus $600 to press them in.

With regards to the ball joints...is better you replace the entire control arm that is affected. If its the lower front arm definitely replace the entire arm. In the 1999 - 2001 Models the lower arms' ball-joints are defective from the factory.

Ball joints have been known to separate from the control arm......while driving.

Seen it happen to a partner of mine...left side of car dropped, hit the road and skid into a wall. Luckily, I was able to avoid crashing into him. When we check the car, the ball joint came cleanly out of the control arm. He never changed any of his control arms, bushings were starting to crack, etc. So please don't repeat his mistake guys.....this error was partly of his failure for not doing routine maintenance checks....the ball joint seal was busted and there was a heavy presence of rust.

Menace3.0

Postby Menace3.0 » April 7th, 2014, 12:07 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:if you from south i can put you onto a guy for the bushings ect.

i was thinking its a pretty good swap, from the CS turbo wagon

Once its not the e-throttle. If your galant is e-throttle then it should be no problem. However for those whose throttle is cable operated....they will have some difficulties.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 7th, 2014, 11:18 pm

I now type a whole friggin post here and tapatalk crash.

Anyway @ autozam, bobby's in the bamboo told me they have in stock for $600 about 2 months ago. Check the classifieds here for a vrg grill, there was one FS recently. Was tryin to link the ched for u but tapatalk giving real trouble.

@ soundboy_64, thanks i like how menace3.0 prices sounding but ill still link with your guy for shopping around sake. PM or post, whichever your preference.

@ menace3.0, those prices sounding achievable, ill browse the classifieds for his contact, glad to hear he installs as well. The front lower ball joints were in good order upon last inspection, i wouldnt let mine get to that stage tho, whey sa...

Ive planned for what im getting into, ill be on jack stands for a few days cuz i want to do it right. Will do oil and filters one time.

Hadda take it in stages cuz i have a next lil project too.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1396927049.813635.jpg

;)

Menace3.0

Postby Menace3.0 » April 9th, 2014, 1:45 pm

Nice. Here what you saying. RWD or FWD?

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 9th, 2014, 2:37 pm

RWD in a MK5 Corty.

xtech

Postby xtech » April 11th, 2014, 7:19 am

anybody looking for aftermarket adjustable suspension arms?

KrazyIndian

Postby KrazyIndian » April 17th, 2014, 2:07 am

anyone know where you can get coilovers? or maybe new shock and spring set up?

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 18th, 2014, 8:56 pm

xtech wrote:anybody looking for aftermarket adjustable suspension arms?

I am but the question is if I can afford them.

KrazyIndian wrote:anyone know where you can get coilovers? or maybe new shock and spring set up?

Tuner Imports in Chaguanas has the tein super street set for about $10K.

New struts are available from Bobby's in the bamboo for $310 each. You will have to get foreign used spring (and shock complete) for approx $250 each.

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » April 26th, 2014, 7:21 pm

Looking for a starter for a VR4. It's a 6A13TT engine. Anyone?

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » April 28th, 2014, 7:41 pm

BAZZINGA wrote:Looking for a starter for a VR4. It's a 6A13TT engine. Anyone?

Never mind... Got it repaired. The brushes were pretty worn down.

KrazyIndian

Postby KrazyIndian » April 30th, 2014, 6:40 pm

Looking for an alternator for the 6a13tt. ASAP. Anyone?? Please contact me 707 0860 thanks in advance. ..

Menace3.0

Postby Menace3.0 » May 20th, 2014, 11:09 am

Guys

Need a little help here. The fuel pressure regulator that is part of the High Pressure Fuel Pump on the 4G93 GDI engine - its on a '99 EA1A Galant - how serviceable is it?

Reason for asking is that my engine suddenly is not starting. Its cranking but not starting. I checked all the other components of the fuel system; intank fuel pump, the fuel filter & regulator, solenoids etc, everything is good. Just that the car isn't starting. Even checked the timing belt

Not getting any fault codes... fuel lines, rail and the high pressure pump has fuel in them. So I suspect that its the fuel pressure regulator on engine pump. Also the fuel return line from the regulator to the pump on the engine is dry....which is leading me to believe that the regulator is clogged or totally gone through.

Any thoughts on this....trying to find out if it's serviceable before I purchase a replacement or change the sensor, as a last resort...which is about US$122. For that price I can purchase a used fuel pump assembly from the Bamboo

STREETFREAK

Postby STREETFREAK » May 20th, 2014, 3:52 pm

Tuners have anyone of you been by anywhere that sells the complete vr4 setup
(thinkin of buyin a vr4 with some issues as my second car any advice?)
Thanks in advance

STREETFREAK

Postby STREETFREAK » May 21st, 2014, 2:50 pm

anyone?i would really like the advice from the older mitsubishi heads

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » May 21st, 2014, 10:21 pm

Generally, the mitsubishi forum is useless unless you're discussing a lancer.

@ Menace, buy the bamboo assembly or add $1000 again, if you can and get a whole engine.

If you have a service manual for the 4g93, check out what are your options.
I never had need to service my pump so i dont have first hand information/never researched it.

I must say, the 4g94 doh give no chubble.

Last I checked, the high pressure pump went for $1200ish.

xtech

Postby xtech » May 21st, 2014, 11:34 pm

STREETFREAK u have to go in the Official VR4 thread for that info.....one of the monster VR4s forsale...

i have a spare GDI pump left over...... $900

Menace3.0

Postby Menace3.0 » May 28th, 2014, 12:42 pm

xtech wrote:STREETFREAK u have to go in the Official VR4 thread for that info.....one of the monster VR4s forsale...

i have a spare GDI pump left over...... $900

Thanks xtech, but already got a replacement for $1,000.....mechanic found one out for me.

bagogalant

Postby bagogalant » June 13th, 2014, 4:20 pm

I have a 2001 EA7A with the 2.0L 4G94. its smoking terribly and know one seems to know what to do to help. so I'm looking for a 6A12 2000cc V6 24V MIVEC. anyone knows where I can get one?

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » June 14th, 2014, 10:19 am

Tried engine job? Changing rings.

Or prolly even an engine restore?

Return to “MITSUBISHI”