CB3 Lancer engine swap...

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

hindian

CB3 Lancer engine swap...

Postby hindian » February 24th, 2014, 2:09 pm

Fellas, I looking for a direct swap into a CB3 model lancer. The car came with the 4g91 carb motor and tranny but the tranny gave out and I cant find a replacement. The cost to repair the original tranny coming up to something like 6k which not making sense to me to spend as the engine giving problems as well. So i'm exploring my options to resovle the situation. Preferably non turbo and economical as it will be lady driven so no excessive fyaz will be geed. I was looking for the Libero engine and tranny as it is a direct swap but them things scarce and I dont have time to run around to look too much. Much appreciated thanks.

hindian

Re: CB3 Lancer engine swap...

Postby hindian » March 9th, 2014, 9:25 pm

Anybody? I'm looking around but not finding anything, I'm looking for either the libero engine and tranny carbed or the fuel injected version or any engine and tranny combo that will fit into this car. Thanks....

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » March 9th, 2014, 10:02 pm

Im not the expert but a bolt for bolt for that car may be difficult to source.

Im very sure that with a little work, the 4G15 from a CK can work well. Parts and maintenance would be easier too.

Walk through the bamboo a day and see what options are there

hindian

Postby hindian » March 10th, 2014, 8:02 am

This is what i'm realizing as i am looking around, the engine and tranny combo hard to find...unless i'm looking in the wrong places...i'll look into the ck conversion Smurf thanks for the idea man...

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » March 10th, 2014, 5:34 pm

No scene, saw it done already in a Mirage Lancer and it fit and performs pretty well, hence the suggestion.

Good luck.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » March 11th, 2014, 4:29 pm

4g91........

hindian

Postby hindian » March 17th, 2014, 7:56 am

Thanks fellas, i got through. I got a 4g93 complete conversion out of a Libero front cut in the bamboo complete with instrument panel,axels and shifters.

vicnuman

Postby vicnuman » June 8th, 2014, 11:24 am

Hey hindian what u do with the old engine

marcus the 1

Postby marcus the 1 » June 9th, 2014, 10:52 am

hey how much did it cost you man
thinking about changing the engine and tranny in my libero and in need of a bumper as well

hindian

Postby hindian » June 9th, 2014, 11:44 am

vicnuman wrote:Hey hindian what u do with the old engine

It was sold for parts already

marcus the 1 wrote:hey how much did it cost you man
thinking about changing the engine and tranny in my libero and in need of a bumper as well

in total, it cost me 15k to do the whole conversion with labour and electrical work and a whole lot of other parts like instrument panels, radiator etc. Some might say thats a high price to pay for an old car but it was worth it IMO cuz she does fly now lol...i know i'm not ever going to recover that cost if i ever decide to sell, thats why i'm not selling :)

anthonemorris

Postby anthonemorris » September 4th, 2014, 12:01 pm

could have used a 4g92 sohc or dohc as the swap motor (believe its bolt for bolt)

SweeP

Postby SweeP » October 22nd, 2014, 3:29 pm

hindian u say u sell the engine already but what about the transmission, u still have that???

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » October 22nd, 2014, 4:12 pm

u was drunk wen u spend dah 15k or u lying

hindian

Postby hindian » October 22nd, 2014, 8:42 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:u was drunk wen u spend dah 15k or u lying

Breds, i probably was drunk but at least i eh waiting for no maxi and i not selling mih car so it was i worthwhile investment for me, i've done almost 50,000 kms with it since the conversion and no problems. And why would i lie about something like the price i paid for the conversion?

Return to “MITSUBISHI”