2013 Lancer CVT whining noise

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Bobbietoe

2013 Lancer CVT whining noise

Postby Bobbietoe » October 6th, 2014, 3:39 pm

Tuners, I am having an issue with my 2013 Lancer GT. I am hearing some sort of whining noise from the the transmission after the car does some driving. When the transmission gets hot. When it cools down its completely gone. The car is now doing about 21000km. Has anyone experienced this issue before? Any help or suggestions welcomed. Thanks.

Re: 2013 Lancer CVT whining noise

Postby BrotherHood » October 7th, 2014, 11:48 am

Might be time to change the CVT oil. What's the change interval on that oil?

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » October 7th, 2014, 11:53 am

Does it happen in tiptronic mode or normal driving. ?

Bobbietoe

Postby Bobbietoe » October 10th, 2014, 12:02 pm

The owners manual says 80,000 I think.

Bobbietoe

Postby Bobbietoe » October 10th, 2014, 12:03 pm

It happens both in tiptronic and normal but tipronic is worse.

kjaglal76v2

Re: Jowelle making election bid

Postby kjaglal76v2 » October 10th, 2014, 12:05 pm

ent this still under warranty

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » October 10th, 2014, 12:48 pm

Hmmm...sounds like the oil needs to change..
Mine only sounds like that wen I tippin for a good while and I hav a tranny cooler wit a built in fan from mishimoto..

Bobbietoe

Postby Bobbietoe » October 10th, 2014, 3:24 pm

Yep.....under warranty still. Just trying to find out if anyone had a similar experience.

Bobbietoe

Postby Bobbietoe » October 10th, 2014, 3:28 pm

I noticed yesterday, after driving down the highway when the car gets hot the noise got worse so I pulled aside put the car on neutral then reved the engine and the noise could still be heard. I thought with the transmission disengaged I will not hear it. That just got me thinking more.

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » October 10th, 2014, 4:12 pm

Wen the tranny oil gets too hot u will see "slow down" show up on the IP...
It happens wen u drivin like u stole it plus runnin it in tiptronic 8-)
It happens to me wen I drivin spirited

Postby Team Loco » October 10th, 2014, 4:32 pm

Would have been better if it said "slow the f##k down"

Postby BrotherHood » October 12th, 2014, 3:58 am

As the CVT oil wears and breaks down over time, it gets thin and therefore gets hot fast. Do you drive 'hard' often?

Bobbietoe

Postby Bobbietoe » October 15th, 2014, 4:42 pm

Nope. Just regular driving. Now and then i will give it ah run when could............well adding to the story, Diamond confirmed that the transmission is the prob.

Postby BrotherHood » October 16th, 2014, 12:44 pm

Bobbietoe wrote:Nope. Just regular driving. Now and then i will give it ah run when could............well adding to the story, Diamond confirmed that the transmission is the prob.

What's the next step? What they doing about it?

Return to “MITSUBISHI”