National Motor Racing Championship - POSTPONED to Aug 31

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 11th, 2015, 10:43 pm

This event has been postponed - we will post an update on the new date as soon as it is decided.

1/4 mile king

Re: National Motor Racing Championship - August 23rd

Postby 1/4 mile king » August 12th, 2015, 1:09 am

nicee :D 50 dollars.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 12th, 2015, 11:55 am

DurzoBlint1

Postby DurzoBlint1 » August 17th, 2015, 1:03 pm

Any ideas of the competitors and their cars in gp 1 and 2?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 20th, 2015, 1:22 pm

This event has been postponed due to inclement weather in setting up the venue. We will post an official release from TTASA soon and a date when the event will be held.

DurzoBlint1

Postby DurzoBlint1 » August 20th, 2015, 1:40 pm

Postponed due to inclement weather!!!!!!
I wonder if all formula 1 races was postponed due to inclement weather what would happen???

link

Postby link » August 20th, 2015, 5:10 pm

DurzoBlint1 wrote:Postponed due to inclement weather!!!!!!
I wonder if all formula 1 races was postponed due to inclement weather what would happen???

some were INDEED called off....but F1 is a different world from T&T :

Since the first World Championship Grand Prix in 1950, red flags have been shown in sixty-six races. Twenty-six were restarted on the first lap. Thirteen races, nine stopped because of rain and four due to accidents involving drivers, were not restarted. Five races were stopped due to incidents that resulted in fatalities: The 1975 Spanish Grand Prix was stopped on lap twenty-nine and not restarted after Rolf Stommelen's car crashed into a spectator area, killing five people.[8] The 1978 Italian Grand Prix was red-flagged after a massive crash at the start that claimed the life of Ronnie Peterson. The 1982 Canadian Grand Prix was halted on the first lap after Riccardo Paletti was killed when his car collided with the back of Didier Pironi's Ferrari.[9] The 1994 San Marino Grand Prix was red-flagged on lap five following the fatal accident of Ayrton Senna, in which his car crashed into a wall at the Tamburello curve.[10] The 2014 Japanese Grand Prix was red-flagged for a second time following a serious collision between Jules Bianchi and a recovery vehicle which would ultimately prove to be fatal.[11]

Wikipedia is yuh fren

DurzoBlint1

Postby DurzoBlint1 » August 20th, 2015, 5:47 pm

I appreciate your analysis, however one cannot simply compare statistics more than a decade old (with the exception of the Bianchi incident which is one in god knows how many of this decade) with the present scenario. If TTASA is concerned about safety then maybe they should pay more attention to dem ole car wey dey have racing on d track. Is either they fit to race or dey unfit for competition in which case the safety standard has to be raised ( and among other things the drainage of standing water on d track needs to be addressed) and the organization needs to keep up wit current standards in racing for both cars and drivers. I think the rain racing can happen.

And PS: Provide covered stands for spectators, we dont mind paying ah lil 20 dollars extra to enjoy d ting.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » August 21st, 2015, 9:49 am

Hope all goes well.
Last edited by JDM_GUY on August 28th, 2015, 5:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

streamevents

Postby streamevents » August 21st, 2015, 2:19 pm

This event will be streamed live from http://streamevents.tv from 2pm to 5pm.

DurzoBlint1

Postby DurzoBlint1 » August 21st, 2015, 2:27 pm

Could somebody seriously let me know if the event is still on?I heard they pootponed it???Anyone know if the event is confirmed for sunday?

matthew2730mvp

Postby matthew2730mvp » August 21st, 2015, 2:55 pm

DurzoBlint1 wrote:Could somebody seriously let me know if the event is still on?I heard they postponed it???Anyone know if the event is confirmed for Sunday?

It is postpone... till further notice
Big drift event nxt sun

MICROTECH 7

Postby MICROTECH 7 » August 22nd, 2015, 8:16 am

Please all drivers be aware that tomorrow Sunday 23rd Aug has a free open practice day located at the Frankie Boodram Wallarfield Raceway. This was confirmed yesterday by competition Secretary Nizam and President Amar.

Drivers who's cars have not been scrutinised last weekend, are requested to appear tomorrow, registration entries can also be completed.

Tomorrow's driving practice invites all racing groups, Super cars, Circuit cars, Bikes, and Go Carts, commencing at 10:00 am.

Limited tents should be available to early birds for a fee.

Duane should have confirmation of this info today.

For more details please contact Nizam at 682-3523.

stikid09

[BLOG]: TTASA Open Practice: 23.Aug.15

Postby stikid09 » August 23rd, 2015, 9:03 pm

This is a blog post. To read the original post, please click here »

The calm before the storm. I'm sure at some point in your life you've encountered a tiny aggressive dog- all bark and skin teeth but walk up close and they shut right up.

Unfortunately this weekend Tropical Storm/Hurricane Danny was of the same caliber. Horrendous weather all week caused the Trinidad and Tobago Automobile Association (TTASA) to cancel their National Circuit racing event yet the weekend brought sunshine. But the event already cancelled what we supposed to do?

Practice. The drivers of all groups and even the karting association took the opportunity of a hot sunny day to come test their cars and hone their skills before the "storm"- the actual circuit event now carded for the 31st August 2015.

Unfortunately the gremlins of my camera presented themselves this weekend in the form of autofocus issues. So...enjoy 1/3 of the photos I was actually able to take!!!

ADDITIONAL IMAGES

link

Re: National Motor Racing Championship - POSTPONED to Aug 31

Postby link » August 24th, 2015, 7:28 am

Aaaahhh ggyyaaaddd.................. dat bikeman really enjoying himself............... !!!!

matthew2730mvp

Postby matthew2730mvp » August 24th, 2015, 8:09 am

Quick question to sun each driver will have to qualify or pick a number from a hat for Grid position?

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 25th, 2015, 9:28 am

matthew2730mvp wrote:Quick question to sun each driver will have to qualify or pick a number from a hat for Grid position?

Suggestion for more exciting and competitive racing for Super car race.

Have all cars put down some lap times, hand timed – can be done by neutral persons, run a few cars at a time.
Then note and calculate maybe 5% faster, all clearly written down.

Separate into two classes, 1st, 3rd, 5th, and continuing.
And then 2nd, 4th, 6th etc.
Run off the two races, then the top performers move on to a final run, where cars are started according to best lap time, slowest first.
If all are consistent, this can lead to a most interesting finish.

Anyone exceeding their 5% limit, disqualified.

In past circuit events, at the end of the day, there used to be a Handicap race with whoever, from whichever Class, running together.

This can be the breeding ground from those in D&W and other Events who want to join TTASA and participate in future Circuit events.

Do this and earn more respect for coming up with a really competitive manner of satisfying the competition. Close racing will ensure that most come back. And look how many are keen to run.

The current suggestion of allowing 10 or 12 cars to run then run a second race and switch around positions depending on finishing positions in first race is also not the best. Knowing that if you finish first you will then run last will certainly have drivers sandbagging in a big way.

DEVI

Postby DEVI » August 25th, 2015, 9:45 am

I hear you Autosport...It is something to look at...but for now we advertised the pull from the hat for the first race and reverse pole for the second race . We will stick to that for this event and review the new ideas for the next.

matthew2730mvp

Postby matthew2730mvp » August 25th, 2015, 10:06 am

DEVI wrote:I hear you Autosport...It is something to look at...but for now we advertised the pull from the hat for the first race and reverse pole for the second race . We will stick to that for this event and review the new ideas for the next.

excellent suggestion mr. Rawle

Devi God speed an Be safe Sir..

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 25th, 2015, 4:02 pm

DEVI wrote:I hear you Autosport...It is something to look at...but for now we advertised the pull from the hat for the first race and reverse pole for the second race . We will stick to that for this event and review the new ideas for the next.

Really? No Championship points, no series of races run.

So if Alistair should compete and he again pulls #1, and takes off, and starts to put another half a lap on the others, would he be shouted down because he did not "slow down and make a race" out of the run?

All can see the flaws in this system even before it is started, and you still go with it and review the flaws after they occur on race day? Ever heard about getting it right the first time around?

So one like Neil in his GTi, with the least amount of power, will go out and get clobbered and then his sponsor will say what? How we looking?

Instead of the fundamental suggestion allowing him an equal opportunity to be competitive in a handicap system or as we say elsewhere, in a dial-up system.

Sorry, I guess it was cast in stone....

Sorry for intruding.

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » August 26th, 2015, 7:02 am

UPDATED FLYER PEOPLE! ^_^
Tell yuh friend and dem!

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Event now on the 31st of August!

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » August 28th, 2015, 8:46 pm

Will there be seating facilities like the cmrc event?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 28th, 2015, 9:19 pm

dragaholic wrote:Will there be seating facilities like the cmrc event?
not quite, the layout will be a bit different, but there will be bleachers.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 28th, 2015, 10:04 pm

Full drivers list and pole position for first race
1. K Boodoosingh Civic R fd
3.Mad Cow .. Skyline R32
4.Neil G ...Suzuki gti
6.Asad Ali .. Evo x
7.Kevon Ramjohn Evo 6 rs
8.Bunny K...Subaru sti
9.Brandon S..Evo 8
10. S. Partapsingh Evo 6
11.Aaron Achan Subaru sti
12.Imran K...Medallist rb25
13.Akash M..Rx7 RB 20
14.Kerry P..Chaser 2jz
15.Dario J..Lancer sr20
17.Skene H.. Subaru sti
18.Chris K.. Miata
19.Ajmal M..Subaru sti
20. Alister R..Evo V

drivers who didnt pick yet

Marsden
Vashist supra
kezay (unofficially out)

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » August 29th, 2015, 7:26 am

AutoSport wrote:

Really? No Championship points, no series of races run.

So if Alistair should compete and he again pulls #1, and takes off, and starts to put another half a lap on the others, would he be shouted down because he did not "slow down and make a race" out of the run?

All can see the flaws in this system even before it is started, and you still go with it and review the flaws after they occur on race day? Ever heard about getting it right the first time around?

So one like Neil in his GTi, with the least amount of power, will go out and get clobbered and then his sponsor will say what? How we looking?

Instead of the fundamental suggestion allowing him an equal opportunity to be competitive in a handicap system or as we say elsewhere, in a dial-up system.

Sorry, I guess it was cast in stone....

Sorry for intruding.

Great points, that's the same reason I never tried to get in. What's the point of such a race? What it is really are just some laps, not even a prize at the end. Last time Alister got to carry the flag for 1 lap come on that's not a prize. The guys are being taken advantage of because they are anxious to have some track time and the people whom are in charge seeing it as a profit.

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » August 29th, 2015, 10:53 pm

Because the grid doesn't paint itself. Prep for Monday.

From what I saw today there is only 4 (give or take 1 lol) spectator stands about 20ft long 4 rows each, don't know if they'd add more in time for Monday
182357-Kasey_Ramoutar.jpg
172817-Kasey_Ramoutar.jpg
172605-Kasey_Ramoutar.jpg

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » August 30th, 2015, 5:51 pm

they should put the stand back at the bottom corner.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 31st, 2015, 3:56 pm

word is former MoNS Gary Griffith supposed to be racing the SuperCar Event today.....

*grabs keys...

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 31st, 2015, 9:17 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:word is former MoNS Gary Griffith supposed to be racing the SuperCar Event today.....

*grabs keys...

Son, when you grab the keys. how the heck the man going to start the car?

Like meh nex son, he grab the throttle from the throttle-man and nex thing yuh know Rug Rat take a dive.

Gary G, Gary H, whichever one we welcome them.

But the former position does not guarantee the cut to the derriere is not booked!

Postby Monk BANzai » September 1st, 2015, 12:23 am

BANG!!!! CLATAX CLATAX CLATAX....