4G15 tuning and related info

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

blazing

Postby blazing » March 31st, 2006, 8:07 am

local made extractors = waste of time

what about a chip to boost performance for our engine?

unless you talking about a piggy back like the e manage ...no

where does one look to get a pair of eclipse front rotors, calipers and a master cylinder in Trini? How does the caliper offer up if the spindle is not changed?

The same length of brake lines would work back in the front, or these will have to be changed as well?

for the first part of the question ... :lol:

second part, caliper is a direct bolt up to spindle and uses same lines.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » March 31st, 2006, 9:05 am

*sigh*...... Thanx blazing. i guess my EBC pads and arospeed rotors will have to do for now then. I really wish I could get the hook-up for these parts, lancer brakes really suck arse!!..... :cry:

But I wonder if I understand the upgrade....... are the eclipse rotors larger in diameter? if so, how can the caliper be rebolted in the same position on the stock spindle? U don't need to relocate the caliper?
Last edited by Rudman on March 31st, 2006, 9:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

blazing

Postby blazing » March 31st, 2006, 9:07 am

well i have a link to get the parts but it will be a bit pricey

venum

Postby venum » March 31st, 2006, 6:16 pm

Rudman wrote:lancer brakes really suck arse!!..... :cry:

I really wish taht you would stop saying this man, yuh making them sound bad

You under-estimate the brakes that you have and you have 4 wheel discs with EBC pads

I running stock brake setup - front disc with GIC pads and rear drums with OEM shoes

My car does stop real good and I drive a lot harder than you on most times

I wouldn't mind a lil better stopping power (espcially @ dex) and hoping to achieve this with the EBC pads

but with the setup that you have and not even closely using it to it's potential, you should have real braking power man.

the 4g15 has a flat spot somewhere around 3k - 4.5k rpm

somebody please elaborate on this

I think that the power band of the DOHC 16V EFI 4G15 is 3800 - 5200 rpm, because this is where I notice the main power comes from during acceleration

also during spirited driving the tranny shifts gears mostly withing this range (closer to the 5000 rpm end)

hardly below and hardly above when a sudden kick down on the gas pedal is given

often when I am driving around 2500rpm and I suddenly step on the accelrator and the tranny downshifts to "3" the tacho swings up to 4000rpm and stays there until the tranny shifts back up to "4"

is this that flat spot you are talking bout?

should the engine then rev up past 4000 rpm?

please explain?

Rudman

Postby Rudman » March 31st, 2006, 7:22 pm

venum wrote:
Rudman wrote:lancer brakes really suck arse!!..... :cry:

Sorry man, its just that after driving an EK3 Civic (rear disc) and a B16 Almeria, I find lancer brakes really leaves something to be desired.

The initial bite these cars have is a lot more than a lancer. And I talking Stock OEM brake pads.

But to be on the fair side, these cars also run their OEM 14" rims. I might have to put on back my 14" to really compare them.

blazing

Postby blazing » March 31st, 2006, 11:00 pm

You under-estimate the brakes that you have and you have 4 wheel discs with EBC pads

I running stock brake setup - front disc with GIC pads and rear drums with OEM shoes

i will say it too, lancer brakes are sheit.
sorry to say , but this is the worst thing that mitsubishi has done with the ck model lancers. after tasting eclipse brakes i would never go back. :!: :!:

venum

Postby venum » April 2nd, 2006, 6:45 pm

blazing wrote:after tasting eclipse brakes i would never go back. :!: :!:

call me the mitsu hoe for defending the CK brakes eh :D

but Blazing bro,

just consider what you are comparing the CK Lancer brakes to b4 making that statement

Eclipse to Lancer | Powerhouse to economy sedan

the stock setup on my Lancer stops the car in a perfectly safe distance and with proper bias to maintain a controlled stop

with Dex as my only motive for n upgrade (EBC Green Stuff)

the stock brakes work perfectly

venum

Postby venum » May 1st, 2006, 6:47 pm

Mitsu men

don't forget this thread

I am sorely broke lately so I may not have much to contribute to this thread

but you all are welcome

Rudman, if you may, please include details of the install that you recently did

Postby Dave » May 2nd, 2006, 8:11 am

also remember in order to maintain some sort of good drivablility u must not over brake your car at the same time

scooby

Postby scooby » May 2nd, 2006, 10:03 pm

peeps i drag race my car aginst my brothers lancer

i get wash 3 times in a row ...... i need mods on my 4g15 quick

blazing

Postby blazing » May 4th, 2006, 3:55 am

^^ :? :lol:

venum

Postby venum » April 12th, 2007, 11:46 pm

long time since this thread surfaced

well I changed my timing belt at 85,000km

needed to change 3 oil seals in the engine head, so I did teh timing belt one time

mileage is now 138,000km and I need to change the tappet pan gasket

saw some oil stains leaking down teh back and from of the head & block

problem is not too bad right now

the gasket is practically impossible to get locally - no where in south has it

there are several places that have the 12V SOHC 4G15 gasket though ~ TT$55.00

my resort is to buy from a powerseller who will bring it from Singapore or Japan

machined the rotors and drums lately also

using some Wagner brake pads currently, so far they are working and very quietly so

the CK2 is very faithfully earning her keep

blazing

Postby blazing » April 13th, 2007, 12:02 am

^^ group buy?

Rudman

Postby Rudman » April 13th, 2007, 7:52 am

^^Yea, a group buy should be in order. That would make U, me and venum who's interested in brining down a spare tappet pan gasket.

Venum, were U able to confirm that part no. I gave U for the gasket, MD 312887? What's the cost involved?

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » April 13th, 2007, 7:58 am

i got one of those gaskets th other day i doh remember where tho it was a place in town tho... wen i get th name of th place i'll let u know.

blazing

Postby blazing » April 13th, 2007, 12:54 pm

on dundonald stret?

central auto parts?

stock933

Postby stock933 » May 3rd, 2007, 1:16 pm

Hey guys , I stumbled on to this website .. it has mitsu service manuals for alot of mitsu engines . its not clearly laid out but when you find what you're looking for , you will thank me :D

http://indy.pp.ru/GDI/Docs/

blazing

Postby blazing » May 3rd, 2007, 1:42 pm

stock933 wrote:Hey guys , I stumbled on to this website .. it has mitsu service manuals for alot of mitsu engines . its not clearly laid out but when you find what you're looking for , you will thank me :D

http://indy.pp.ru/GDI/Docs/

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=128842

blazing

Postby blazing » May 3rd, 2007, 1:43 pm

so wats d latest with all the 4g15 tuners?

stock933

Postby stock933 » May 3rd, 2007, 3:07 pm

Hey didnt realise we had it already .... :D ....

stock933

Postby stock933 » May 3rd, 2007, 3:15 pm

Here's a question to all the 4g15 tuners out there . Common problem is that the fuel pressure regulator goes bad on the GDI DOHC(part#md362933) , has anyone ever used an after market regulator with any success on the 4g15 engine ? I know MISHI was checking this out but anyone else has ever tried this ?

Rudman

Postby Rudman » May 3rd, 2007, 3:44 pm

^^I think Blazing has an Aeromotive FPR on his, but his engine is not GDI.......PM him for more info.

There is a 4G15 GDI DOHC?

stock933

Postby stock933 » May 3rd, 2007, 3:56 pm

Yeah most of the lancer cedia's esp 2001 model come with that engine

http://media.mitsubishi-motors.com/pres ... il421.html

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » May 3rd, 2007, 5:01 pm

Nice engine bay, venum.. love the intake..

venum

Postby venum » May 4th, 2007, 12:58 pm

Rudman, teh 4G15 GDI is a DOHC

most new gen 4G15's are DOHC even the MIVEC and MIVEC Turbo variants

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 4th, 2007, 9:06 pm

yeah was told it can run an aftermarket FPR.... not sure exactly which brand though

peung

Postby peung » May 12th, 2007, 8:05 pm

Hey.. in context of the bolt on air filter - as shown in the pics- How does using a K&N high performance air filter that fits the OEM setup, compare with the bolt on cone as shown?

I ask cause i am thinking that with the cone in that 4G15 wouldnt u be pulling hot air from inside the engine instead of cooler air....(that is is if the 4G15 is bone stock and the air filter is first upgrade bein performed).

srnoth

Postby srnoth » May 13th, 2007, 10:33 pm

Wow, quite a thread here. Nice info, I'm assuming most of it is useful for the 4g13 as well, since it's identical to the 4g15 SOHC, just less displacement.

So after all this talk of installing a small turbo, what happened?

Also, are there any piggyback ECUs that can boost the performance of these engines simply by being installed? If so how much do they cost?

Stephen.

srnoth

Postby srnoth » May 13th, 2007, 10:43 pm

peung wrote:Hey.. in context of the bolt on air filter - as shown in the pics- How does using a K&N high performance air filter that fits the OEM setup, compare with the bolt on cone as shown?

I ask cause i am thinking that with the cone in that 4G15 wouldnt u be pulling hot air from inside the engine instead of cooler air....(that is is if the 4G15 is bone stock and the air filter is first upgrade bein performed).

Lets see.
*Using the K&N drop in filter with the stock intake setup = very slight performance gain, same quietness as stock.

*K&N filter & short ram intake (just bolted on, sucking hot air) = some performance gain, REAL PLENTY OLE NOISE when accelerating.

*Using K&N cone filter & Cold Air Intake setup = even more noticable performance gain, PLENTY LOUD NOISE when accelerating.

****Best option - Use a K&N drop in filter and the stock box, but modify the intake system to make it a Cold Air Intake. This gives you the performance increase of the cone filter & CAI, but without the loud noise.
Take a read here:
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 89#1722289

Also read these:
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=125653
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=123087
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=109089

Sorry for biggin up my intake :oops:. But its a real fun & easy project that actually makes a noticeable difference.

Stephen.

EDIT: With pics :D .

blazing

Postby blazing » May 14th, 2007, 1:37 am

looks good, just dont drive through no flood ..... and give yuh engine a lil clean nah.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”