The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Re: The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Postby gastly369 » December 17th, 2014, 9:02 pm

Ordered my on amazon

4g18 engine?
Got the part number if needed

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » December 17th, 2014, 9:36 pm

nerve CS2 or CS3? the hole is at the top right?

You should be able to pull it out from the top of the cylinder that holds it

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » December 17th, 2014, 9:41 pm

gastly369 wrote:Ordered my on amazon

4g18 engine?
Got the part number if needed

Post link nah

Postby gastly369 » December 18th, 2014, 10:23 am

part number MD373734

not listed on their page but when i contacted them they sourced and sent me item
got lots of stuff from them since and very helpful

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aag/main?ie=UT ... 6UU4D3JXAA

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » December 18th, 2014, 1:53 pm

Thnk.you very much

Postby nervewrecker » December 18th, 2014, 5:40 pm

Was with my qg16 engine. Took out the dipstick with a tweezers.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » December 18th, 2014, 5:45 pm

That dipstick should not be hard to get then......any corner shop should have it....

Postby BrotherHood » December 18th, 2014, 6:32 pm

Thanks gastly...

Will provide a picture tomorrow nerve.

Postby gastly369 » December 18th, 2014, 11:42 pm

No scn bro

Nidish

Postby Nidish » December 19th, 2014, 2:07 pm

Hey guys, where is the Cabin Air Filter found in the Lancer CS3 4G18? Mine is year 04. Thanks

Postby Dave » December 19th, 2014, 4:30 pm

Behind glove box

Nidish

Postby Nidish » December 20th, 2014, 3:27 am

Ok do you know which screws are used for the air filter? like screw size, the filter was not screwed when I took out the glove box.

Also where can I get steel braided brake lines for the cs3 online that ships worldwide?

Postby Dave » December 20th, 2014, 8:56 am

There are two on opposite sides and ends. Normal phillips screws. If local more than likely you don't have one and need to cut the opening out for the installation of one.

As for braided eBay you can get or remove old and carry and Trinidad hose and they will make back a set for you.

Nidish

Postby Nidish » December 23rd, 2014, 6:58 am

So, just changed the Cabin Air Filter. I used sakura brand, excellent value for money. The part number is CAC-1006, in case someone want to buy it.

Here are some pics of my old cabin air filter. It's just a filter the previous owner put in, it's not made for the car.

I'm not sure what that cloth and that rubber/spongy thing I found in the cabin air filter are for? Any idea? Did the previous owner just put them in there to make that filter sort of fit?

Also on the main page of this thread, it says for engine coolant DIA Queen super long life coolent, i did not get it in the shop. Instead I got Asuki Extra Long Life Coolant, will it work? It's made in japan so i'm convinced quality is good. Any idea guys? Also bought Arexons Radiator Flush.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » December 25th, 2014, 7:55 am

Merry Xmas, y'all

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » December 25th, 2014, 8:02 am

Merry Christmas !

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » December 25th, 2014, 8:03 am

Merry Christmas !

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » December 25th, 2014, 10:32 am

Nidish, I think the air filter comes by itself no extra sponge etc.

The coolant will work, Prestone is one of the better coolants in case you don't get what is specified here/manual

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » December 25th, 2014, 7:25 pm

Looking for fogs like that guys, anyone can help me out?
if u know the model number for the fogs leme know plz. thanks
mitsubishi_lancer_a1117492395b697294_2.jpg
mitsubishi_lancer_a1117492395b697294_2.jpg (33.8 KiB) Viewed 4228 times

QG

Postby QG » December 25th, 2014, 8:58 pm

Fogs look good

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » December 25th, 2014, 9:03 pm

I have the rectangular fogs, one is kinda cracked at the back but usable...PM me if interested.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » December 26th, 2014, 7:50 am

Merry Christmas guys, hope ally enjoying the holidays.

But onto more 'fun stuff', image below is what the top of my radiator looks like when i tried to put coolant this morning. It cut off on me close to home, overheated. I was also hearing a kinda of knocking noise when i accelerate just before it cut off.
What's the prognosis, radiator crack?

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » December 26th, 2014, 8:13 am

Yea radiator gone thru, u most likely need a headgasket also

PapaC

Postby PapaC » December 26th, 2014, 8:19 am

Ok. Any idea of cost? OEM?
Also heard people talk about a plastic one, relevant?
And anybody have the number for the radiator man opposite the cemetery in Marabella?

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » December 26th, 2014, 8:35 am

Dollar savers have for 650, try leak test it on d spot & doh lose yur receipt

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » December 26th, 2014, 9:16 am

ammmm...you may not need a new radiator......from that pic it seems that the plastic tank at the top is cracked, that part can be changed

Postby Ted_v2 » December 26th, 2014, 9:33 am

those plastic ones for 650-700 works excellent.

most people go with larger metal ones, which i personally thinks makes no sense.

The plastic is designed to break to keep the engine from overheating.

Postby A172 » December 26th, 2014, 11:21 am

PapaC wrote:Merry Christmas guys, hope ally enjoying the holidays.

But onto more 'fun stuff', image below is what the top of my radiator looks like when i tried to put coolant this morning. It cut off on me close to home, overheated. I was also hearing a kinda of knocking noise when i accelerate just before it cut off.
What's the prognosis, radiator crack?

pal dah radiator hadda toss
i fix a cs3 wid dah same exact problem d other day
it overheat and wudnt start bk and d engine guh knock when driving
yuh hg definitely blow so change d rad and organise to change dah right after

d one jaglal tlkin abt in dollarsavers bess for d $, everything line bk up properly

Postby BrotherHood » December 26th, 2014, 12:23 pm

ZeroOne wrote:ammmm...you may not need a new radiator......from that pic it seems that the plastic tank at the top is cracked, that part can be changed

Agreeing with Zero here. Seems as though the leak is at the top of the radiator. That very same top tank of the radiator can be replaced for about $400-$500 depending on where you go. It may be cost efficient to just buy an entire plastic one for a couple hundred more, but from what I am seeing, that radiator can still serve its purpose with just a change of the top tank.

Regardless of whatever radiator man you go by, they will pressure test it first. Infact lemme not make such a bold statement.
A good radiator repair man should pressure test it first to see exactly where is leaking.

I am talking from personal experience. Coolant residue was visible on the top tank. I changed top tank. It has worked flawlessly up until today. That was approximately three years ago.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » December 26th, 2014, 12:46 pm

yea they will pressure test and clean out the entire rad as well (if the problem is the top tank and is a good repair man you by)

I changed the top tank over 4 years ago and it still going strong.

That aside I flush the rad at least every year since.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”