The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

idlemind

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby idlemind » September 5th, 2012, 6:41 pm

To my knowledge, the GDI tb will not work. and gdi's do not have a idle step up.

Maria, I using Super from day 1, no problems.

Biggs, I have yuh oil.

venum

Postby venum » September 5th, 2012, 8:17 pm

idlemind wrote:To my knowledge, the GDI tb will not work. and gdi's do not have a idle step up.

Biggs, I have yuh oil.

I think they meant teh 4G15 SOHC EFI

not the 4G15 DOHC GDI, which will not work, btw
correct GDI doesn't have step up as most e-throttles do not

Hot Rod

Postby Hot Rod » September 5th, 2012, 9:23 pm

idlemind or venum ........ how long interms of mileage should i leave the cvt oil in the tranny???\
i read differnt articles which said a range of 25k to 100k .......... ne advice here fellas

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 5th, 2012, 10:38 pm

Nothing past 20,000km, Hot Rod

icefox

Postby icefox » September 5th, 2012, 11:09 pm

he fellas im gonna change my spark plugs, an engine oil, in my cs2a 4g15, wat do uall recomend for d spark plugs, an wat engine oil i shud use. And who is a good machanic om the north side to handle this, im from port of spain side... some one was tellin me bout a titanium spark plug, but i dont no much bout this engine so need ur advice

Postby ronsin1 » September 6th, 2012, 5:37 am

venum wrote:
idlemind wrote:To my knowledge, the GDI tb will not work. and gdi's do not have a idle step up.

Biggs, I have yuh oil.

I think they meant teh 4G15 SOHC EFI

not the 4G15 DOHC GDI, which will not work, btw
correct GDI doesn't have step up as most e-throttles do not

Correct

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 6th, 2012, 6:27 am

icefox, you dont need a mech to do those things.
If you willing you could change oil and spark plugs yourself.

Best body oil to use is a 15w40 some give preference to 10w30.
Good brands are Amsoil, Shell Helix....do a search in this thread, there lots of oil reccomendations.
Im using NP 15w40 oil for the past 6 months...no complaints.
Do you know which body is in the car right now?

With regard to spark plug, try NGK BKR5E-11 or NGK BKR6E-11.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » September 6th, 2012, 7:38 am

^^With all the traffic in and around POS I don't think I will be able to take the Oil from you until tomorrow or Saturday. Will give you a call to organize. Thanks Again

Hot Rod

Postby Hot Rod » September 6th, 2012, 7:28 pm

thanks ah mil idlemind

icefox

Postby icefox » September 6th, 2012, 8:10 pm

idlemind wrote:icefox, you dont need a mech to do those things.

Good brands are Amsoil, Shell Helix....do a search in this thread, there lots of oil reccomendations.

Of course im willing, i jus dont no wat to do, dats d onli problem, an im not sure wat kind of engine oil i currently have...

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 6th, 2012, 8:34 pm

pics of maria's 19mm rear sway bar install ...... brackets were made by ansil ali
377759_10152113379735473_48203388_n.jpg
377759_10152113379735473_48203388_n.jpg (19.39 KiB) Viewed 2047 times
561616_10152113378480473_1396082466_n.jpg
561616_10152113378480473_1396082466_n.jpg (20.74 KiB) Viewed 2047 times

QG

Postby QG » September 6th, 2012, 8:57 pm

look cool!!!

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 6th, 2012, 9:36 pm

where they got the sta bar end links from?

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » September 7th, 2012, 7:20 am

icefox wrote:
idlemind wrote:icefox, you dont need a mech to do those things.

Of course im willing, i jus dont no wat to do, dats d onli problem, an im not sure wat kind of engine oil i currently have...

There are tons of videos on youtube to show you how. However, some may not be correct practice to follow. I think you could either go back with Castrol 10W 30 Oil or a 15W 40 body with little worries. It is not as difficult as you think bro!!

You will need the following:

1. Oil of preference
2. New Oil Filter
3. 17 Spanner
4. Oil Filter wrench
5. Jack and Jack Stands
5.Container to collect old oil.

Maybe you can take the car to the mechanic just this once so you can see what he is doing, and after that do it yourself.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » September 7th, 2012, 7:23 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:pics of maria's 19mm rear sway bar install ...... brackets were made by ansil ali

Install looks great!

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » September 7th, 2012, 7:27 am

What causes my brakes to make noise? No I am not talking about the brake pads. It sound as though it's coming from the Caliper. Whenever I put the gear in reverse and apply brakes it makes the noise. Has anyone ever experienced this? Could this be a sign that my Calipers need replacing?
Do the Calipers need to be serviced periodically? I know I may be sounding stupid but I really don't know what is the cause.

Any views or thoughts on this?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 7th, 2012, 7:43 am

Calipers need to be greased ever so often.

When you change oil how do you dispose the old oil?

Maria need an underwash.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » September 7th, 2012, 8:06 am

Ideally and in compliance with Environmental Best Practices I should bottle it and drop it off at the gas station, but the last few times I emptied it in the drain :oops: .

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 7th, 2012, 8:20 am

Ok.

I want to get one of those big barrels that mechanics use to store old oil, I was told that once the barrel is full you can arrange for an oil company to collect it.

María

Postby María » September 7th, 2012, 10:04 am

ZeroOne wrote:Calipers need to be greased ever so often.

When you change oil how do you dispose the old oil?

[b]Maria need an underwash.
[/b]

lol u volunteering?

María

Postby María » September 7th, 2012, 10:06 am

turbo_beast369 wrote:where they got the sta bar end links from?

Chuna's Auto Spares and Accessories in Charlieville

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 7th, 2012, 10:43 am

María brand and price please

ZeroOne specify to d man what exactly has to be greased on the caliper and what kind of grease to use....here, I would do it....the caliper pins needs to be greased with a rubber safe grease...I bought a clear silicone based grease from the Motorist for my caliper pins because there is a rubber bushing on one of the pins on each of my caliper but on regular stock CS2/CS3 brakes it's also to protect the rubber boot that seals off the pin in case someones uses petroleum based grease which damages rubber...for guys that have rear disc brakes, the lower caliper pin has the bushing on it....

another item to check for noise are the brake pad clips and shims...where the disc pad "ears" makes contacts with the clips needs to be cleaned and greased as well...if the disc pad feels slack in the caliper what you can do is take out the clips and try to squeeze them slightly in with a bird beak pliers (but be as gentle as possible because you could disfigure the clips with too much force) so it would hold the disc pad tighter (no, not like a white pants) so there would be minimum disc pad play....if you doh wanna take that risk, buy new clips....in some cases it's recommended to put grease on the brake pad shim where both the caliper and caliper piston makes contact to eliminate noise...if your shims are bent, try to str8en them, if u not getting it perfectly flat replace them

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 7th, 2012, 1:41 pm

I does just take the car to the mechanic and he does the servicing lol

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » September 7th, 2012, 2:04 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:María brand and price please

ZeroOne specify to d man what exactly has to be greased on the caliper and what kind of grease to use....here, I would do it....the caliper pins needs to be greased with a rubber safe grease...I bought a clear silicone based grease from the Motorist for my caliper pins because there is a rubber bushing on one of the pins on each of my caliper but on regular stock CS2/CS3 brakes it's also to protect the rubber boot that seals off the pin in case someones uses petroleum based grease which damages rubber...for guys that have rear disc brakes, the lower caliper pin has the bushing on it....

another item to check for noise are the brake pad clips and shims...where the disc pad "ears" makes contacts with the clips needs to be cleaned and greased as well...if the disc pad feels slack in the caliper what you can do is take out the clips and try to squeeze them slightly in with a bird beak pliers (but be as gentle as possible because you could disfigure the clips with too much force) so it would hold the disc pad tighter (no, not like a white pants) so there would be minimum disc pad play....if you doh wanna take that risk, buy new clips....in some cases it's recommended to put grease on the brake pad shim where both the caliper and caliper piston makes contact to eliminate noise...if your shims are bent, try to str8en them, if u not getting it perfectly flat replace them

Thanks for the info. Gonna try and do this sometime over the weekend.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » September 7th, 2012, 2:19 pm

ZeroOne wrote:I does just take the car to the mechanic and he does the servicing lol

well I do the majority of work on my car....most mechanics don't take the time to do things properly like how you would want it to be done...they rush down everything so they could have more time to make more money lol

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 7th, 2012, 2:27 pm

Yea I going to change oil myself, save myself a $60.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 7th, 2012, 6:04 pm

well i dus pay 30 fur oil change so no biggie... mech dus basically errthing engine related. i dus do meh own paint touchups and odds and ends

point_blank

Postby point_blank » September 7th, 2012, 7:55 pm

On the 04 CS what is that angular part at the bottom (in the center) of the front bumper called? See a lot of those lancers missing it, I'm guessing it comes off easily. Is that part easy to find and replace. Thanks.

María

Postby María » September 7th, 2012, 10:58 pm

[quote="turbo_beast369"]María brand and price please

its the ck/cb links

part no. MB-518780

paid $120 for the pair

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 8th, 2012, 6:06 am

Point_blank. I not too sure of that parts purpose but it's STOLEN often. Plus I guess it comes off easily if you hook your bumper on anything.

I thank God my bumper different and i dont have that stress yes.

Nice job Maria...next stop I told you is the H brace. Can't make dex this Sunday but I'm sure I'll hear how it performed. Good luck!

Return to “MITSUBISHI”