The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

idlemind

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby idlemind » July 30th, 2012, 9:53 pm

Sorry bro, had to work late this evening and wouldve been around.
We could link tomorrow during the day or Thursday evening same time as today.,

icefox

Postby icefox » July 30th, 2012, 9:57 pm

idlemind wrote:Sorry bro, had to work late this evening and wouldve been around.
We could link tomorrow during the day or Thursday evening same time as today.,

thursday evening sounds like d shore plan, during d day, im driving a van an my car parks at home.
by d way do u think i should reset d ecu or wen we link thursday u go handle all dat

icefox

Postby icefox » July 30th, 2012, 10:00 pm

ronsin1 wrote:Ds is drive sport there are a number of posts in this thread about it.

As stated above have the transmission oil changed. You have to get accustomed to the CVT transmission it would seem lazy at first and you need to adjust your driving style. once adjusted you will see the difference.

When I sold my lancer and bought the Sportero I have the issue or readjusting to the hydraulic Transmission to this date every time I am driver my wife's lancer I always forget that it is CVT and need to adjust in order for the to perform.
also your CVT is a learning transmission it will also adjust to your Driving style my suggestion is reset the Transmission ECU.
either take of the negative battery pole and depress the brake pedel then reconnect the battery pole or
with the engine on Shift from P to R to N to D to Ds to L and then L to Ds to D to R to P leaving a couple seconds in each gear.

All this was stated in past threads in this forum

reseting d trany ECU sounds like a solid plan, so it will learn d way i drive while i learn how it operates. i suppose to link with idlemind thursday, he will check out everything, an we will reset d ecu as u suggested

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 30th, 2012, 10:05 pm

no problem

Postby BrotherHood » July 30th, 2012, 11:22 pm

icefox, all the things you've mentioned are quite normal with the CVT transmission. The transmission was designed to be fuel efficient and smooth, driven by a belt as opposed to a chain. Notice you don't feel the transmission change gears unlike other cars, e.g. the B14 your mech. drew the comparison to. The transmission enables the engine to run at it's most efficient rpm for different ranges of engine speed so when going going down a hill you will hear the engine rev high and feel the car being held back.

On the other hand, the transmission can maximize the performance of your car by enabling the car to run at an rpm at which the car produces peak power.
Crusing on the highway at 120kph? Check your rpm's. How low they are will suprise you.
Alternatively,

You just have to get accustomed to the transmission and it will adjust to your driving style. To do so manually, take off the negative battery pole for about 15-30 mins to reset the ECU. After that, the next time you drive, the ECU will be programmed to how you drive and onoy then you will achieve and experience the full potential of your CVT tranny.

Just be easy on it for now. From a standstill, gradually increase the force you apply to the gas pedal or just simply put enough pressure on it for you to move off. Want to overtake? Don't mash right down immediately as if it's a B14 :lol:
Gradually increase the force on the pedal.

I think I covered you there. Any of the other poster can add, correct and comment. If you run into serious problems, there is always Jenton's Transmission Specialists on Aranguez Main Road.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 31st, 2012, 12:22 am

mety57 wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:whose the person that installed a 4g15dohc in their lancer again? i wanna find out something

yes sir how can i help u

what mounts and axels were used?
and how you think the swap turned out, was it worth it?

icefox

Postby icefox » July 31st, 2012, 7:08 am

BrotherHood wrote:icefox, all the things you've mentioned are quite normal with the CVT transmission. The transmission was designed to be fuel efficient and smooth, driven by a belt as opposed to a chain. Notice you don't feel the transmission change gears unlike other cars, e.g. the B14 your mech. drew the comparison to. The transmission enables the engine to run at it's most efficient rpm for different ranges of engine speed so when going going down a hill you will hear the engine rev high and feel the car being held back.

On the other hand, the transmission can maximize the performance of your car by enabling the car to run at an rpm at which the car produces peak power.
Crusing on the highway at 120kph? Check your rpm's. How low they are will suprise you.
Alternatively,

You just have to get accustomed to the transmission and it will adjust to your driving style. To do so manually, take off the negative battery pole for about 15-30 mins to reset the ECU. After that, the next time you drive, the ECU will be programmed to how you drive and onoy then you will achieve and experience the full potential of your CVT tranny.

Just be easy on it for now. From a standstill, gradually increase the force you apply to the gas pedal or just simply put enough pressure on it for you to move off. Want to overtake? Don't mash right down immediately as if it's a B14 :lol:

I think I covered you there. Any of the other poster can add, correct and comment. If you run into serious problems, there is always Jenton's Transmission Specialists on Aranguez Main Road.

ok brotherhood, i always drive easy, an i love d way she pulls of smooth, every one dat drove in my car love d way the drive feels they all want a lancer now. But my main concern was goin up the hilll, it was moving very slow, but wat i realise, is il have to let it build up, cus i was worried bout here d engine rev this much an im not moving as fast but then it entually starts to pick up the paste....buy the way, do u know any one with the manual for this car, so i cud get link up with a copy

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 31st, 2012, 8:07 am

I don't like the take off Ac when going up a hill either but that's just what you have to do to get that extra power.

I change my transmission oil religiously every 20k km so I know the tranny is working properly and that taking off Ac when going up hill does not mean that something is wrong with the car.

That being said I find the slow take off of the CVT from a complete stop is annoying.

elephant intl

Postby elephant intl » July 31st, 2012, 5:45 pm

Biggs3ne wrote:^^^Your fan controller may be defective dude.

Where can I get a fan controller and who can check it?

mety57

Postby mety57 » July 31st, 2012, 7:58 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:
mety57 wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:whose the person that installed a 4g15dohc in their lancer again? i wanna find out something

yes sir how can i help u

what mounts and axels were used?
and how you think the swap turned out, was it worth it?
if u have a gdi in and wanna swap yeah it,s worth it .........u will have to get the axels , tranny mount, make a bracket for the back mount and the shifter ..... but if u wanna check out mine holla

Postby BrotherHood » July 31st, 2012, 9:03 pm

icefox wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:icefox, all the things you've mentioned are quite normal with the CVT transmission. The transmission was designed to be fuel efficient and smooth, driven by a belt as opposed to a chain. Notice you don't feel the transmission change gears unlike other cars, e.g. the B14 your mech. drew the comparison to. The transmission enables the engine to run at it's most efficient rpm for different ranges of engine speed so when going going down a hill you will hear the engine rev high and feel the car being held back.

Alternatively,

ok brotherhood, i always drive easy, an i love d way she pulls of smooth, every one dat drove in my car love d way the drive feels they all want a lancer now. But my main concern was goin up the hilll, it was moving very slow, but wat i realise, is il have to let it build up, cus i was worried bout here d engine rev this much an im not moving as fast but then it entually starts to pick up the paste....buy the way, do u know any one with the manual for this car, so i cud get link up with a copy

I thought RORO's had the manual somewhere in the vehicle.

I have a manual but to copy it would be headache. I'm sure one of the guys in here can direct you to a web link with the manual. You could do a google search yourself and see what you get.

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » July 31st, 2012, 9:52 pm

Guys, help me get a foreign used cs2 tranny for my local 4g18 engine ASAP please!!!!
Price and contact number. Thanks in advance HELLLLP!

QG

Postby QG » July 31st, 2012, 10:59 pm

ZeroOne wrote:I don't like the take off Ac when going up a hill either but that's just what you have to do to get that extra power.

I change my transmission oil religiously every 20k km so I know the tranny is working properly and that taking off Ac when going up hill does not mean that something is wrong with the car.

That being said I find the slow take off of the CVT from a complete stop is annoying.

Frealz!!

Postby BrotherHood » August 1st, 2012, 2:03 pm

tripplediamond wrote:Guys, help me get a foreign used cs2 tranny for my local 4g18 engine ASAP please!!!!
Price and contact number. Thanks in advance HELLLLP!

It's safer to rebuild the transmission. It would basically be a new transmission you have after it has been rebuilt. It's costly. Definitely costs more than buying a foreign used but IMO, it's worth it.

Check the bamboo for a froeign used tranny or call this number, 682-7179.

djruncrowd

Postby djruncrowd » August 2nd, 2012, 12:37 am

Hey guys, i have a CS2A gdi lancer ive recently noticed that only the radiator fan on the left side working stepping up and slowing down when the ac compressor trips on and off, but the drivers side fan is just dead. I tried a direct 12v and it's working . Could this be due to a faulty relay or something ?

Postby ronsin1 » August 2nd, 2012, 5:45 am

fan control unit needs replacing

fras

Postby fras » August 2nd, 2012, 4:53 pm

Driver door actuator... Are roro n local the same?
Looking for a local actuator!

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 2nd, 2012, 5:02 pm

Theyre different.

Call Bella 682 7179
Last edited by ZeroOne on August 2nd, 2012, 5:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby ronsin1 » August 2nd, 2012, 5:03 pm

there us a 5 pin and a 2 pin actuator you need to verify which one.

Had that mix up already the CS2 had the 5 pin and the CS3 had the 2 pin

some CS3 came with the 5 pin as well.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 2nd, 2012, 7:22 pm

Guys I met up with icefox, and his tranny really feeling lil lazy.
I suggested a fluid change and see.

But I wanted to know from the 4G15 fellas if thats how the car feels?
Basically I floored it in D and the car took its time to build, about 2-3 seconds.
Now when I let off gas the car rpms remained high and the car started to slow on its own.

I believe my 4G93 GDI and cvt was a bit more responsive on throttle

Im wondering if he also needs to remove his catalytic converter, I know that a restriction in itself.
Any other suggestions?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 2nd, 2012, 8:01 pm

Thats not unusual if you floored from a complete stop, response is a lot better once it reaches approx 70km/min.

Like I said before the slow take off from a complete stop is annoying.

Remember you had 4g93 not a little 4g15.

BTW we on Page 300 :x 8-) :drinking:

Postby BrotherHood » August 2nd, 2012, 9:38 pm

That sounding normal to me idlemind. The 4G18 I have isn't that responsive on takeoff either. When it does get going it's not bad at all.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » August 2nd, 2012, 10:32 pm

I dunno bout allyuh, but my 4G18 doesn't have a lazy pull off from a complete stop

Postby BrotherHood » August 2nd, 2012, 11:39 pm

Well it depends on what you're comparing it to WRT take off from a zero.

Then again, i'm afraid to really floor the pedal from a dead start because of how the CVT operates.

icefox

Postby icefox » August 3rd, 2012, 12:24 am

Hey idlemind tanks for the time,the meet was informative, i tried doing some numbers on the highway tonite, but it feel like the car wanna go, but something is holding it back, i did d ecu reset tonite an im gonna give her dat mayaro long run and see wat happens,il try changing d oil dis weekend.. an il let u no if its any difference. what i wud like to do, is take a run against a cs2 like mine an see if we get the same kind of response, or even drive one like mine, so il no if thats how these car run....

mety57

Postby mety57 » August 3rd, 2012, 12:27 am

idle well yuh know i still have the 5quarts bottle of cvt fluid sitting here .........not to mention it,s a brand new bottle going at 300

thatguy3832

Postby thatguy3832 » August 3rd, 2012, 3:19 am

icefox where you from again? cause i'm from south if you want to check if there is any difference you could check with mine.

BTW PAGE 300!!!!!!!

fras

Postby fras » August 3rd, 2012, 5:45 am

Thanks ronsin1 & ZeroOne 8-)

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 3rd, 2012, 6:51 am

Icefox, that's a good price mety has the oil for.

Yea I think someone with an equally matched car should meet up with Icefox and see.

Something still telling me to check and see if your cat converter still on though.

icefox

Postby icefox » August 3rd, 2012, 7:03 am

thatguy3832 wrote:icefox where you from again? cause i'm from south if you want to check if there is any difference you could check with mine.

BTW PAGE 300!!!!!!!

im from port of spain, jus tell me where an wen, so we go link up

Return to “MITSUBISHI”