The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

nissan4life

Re: The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Postby nissan4life » February 1st, 2016, 11:08 am

Jade bad/failing O2 sensor causes bad mileage as well. I too have experienced the "dead spot" when driving at times, especially if i try to accelerate quickly or overtake....not a nice feeling.
When was last time you changed plugs? after i serviced my car and replaced o2 this issue has stopped.

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » February 1st, 2016, 11:38 am

O2 or air/fuel sensors are not like spark plugs. They should be changed when they are unresponsive, or just plain damaged. They don't really affect performance but are used by the "brain" to monitor the burn. In fact they might be even able to show you the "dead spot" on a scope or scan tool, once functioning.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » February 1st, 2016, 12:03 pm

Engine leaking oil, mechanic recommending me to change it would you all give the same recommendation or should I fix

Thanks in advance

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » February 1st, 2016, 12:17 pm

Leaking from where?

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » February 1st, 2016, 1:18 pm

trini iceman wrote:Leaking from where?

not sure exactly but it seems to be at the front where a seal is

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » February 1st, 2016, 5:30 pm

Front? As in timing side? If the engine never overheat badly I say take a chance. If it has then you should consider seal kit.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » February 1st, 2016, 6:23 pm

trini iceman wrote:Front? As in timing side? If the engine never overheat badly I say take a chance. If it has then you should consider seal kit.

Please see attached
1454365274051.jpg

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » February 1st, 2016, 7:18 pm

Rocker cover gasket? Just where the black part ends? Those leak all the time. The mechanics said change the engine for that?

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » February 2nd, 2016, 8:58 am

nissan4life wrote:Jade bad/failing O2 sensor causes bad mileage as well. I too have experienced the "dead spot" when driving at times, especially if i try to accelerate quickly or overtake....not a nice feeling.
When was last time you changed plugs? after i serviced my car and replaced o2 this issue has stopped.

Ohh.. o2 sensor cud be cleaned or something?
I changed plugs a few weeks ago and usually every 2 weeks, I take them out and clean it. My engine oil disappears with no trace on how its burning. No smoke no traces of oil on the electrode ..etc but I I still like to check up on those stuff cuz I'm on the road late at nights.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » February 2nd, 2016, 10:06 am

rofl @ change engine for bad rocker cover gasket lol.....that mechanic does not know anything about the GDI engine.

Oil burning can be through the valve seals or piston rings.....what engine we talking about here? And if the plugs come out with black soot on them then the oil is burning in the combustion chamber.

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » February 2nd, 2016, 10:37 am

ZeroOne wrote:rofl @ change engine for bad rocker cover gasket lol.....that mechanic does not know anything about the GDI engine.

Oil burning can be through the valve seals or piston rings.....what engine we talking about here? And if the plugs come out with black soot on them then the oil is burning in the combustion chamber.

Most times, the plugs comes out white, jus d threads of d plugs does have oil. 4g18 engine. No leaks nun, it jus disappearing

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » February 2nd, 2016, 10:57 am

If the plug thread has oil there is a leak from the plug seal.

Time to change plug seal/gasket.

What grade oil you use?

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » February 2nd, 2016, 11:05 am

Forgive me not sure if all the comments above was directed towards me
So I should change the rocket cover gasket to see if it solve the problem?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » February 2nd, 2016, 11:48 am

Yes there are 2 rocker cover gaskets you have to change.

What mileage that engine doing?

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » February 2nd, 2016, 12:14 pm

Jade_Inc. wrote:
nissan4life wrote:Jade bad/failing O2 sensor causes bad mileage as well. I too have experienced the "dead spot" when driving at times, especially if i try to accelerate quickly or overtake....not a nice feeling.

Ohh.. o2 sensor cud be cleaned or something?
I changed plugs a few weeks ago and usually every 2 weeks, I take them out and clean it. My engine oil disappears with no trace on how its burning. No smoke no traces of oil on the electrode ..etc but I I still like to check up on those stuff cuz I'm on the road late at nights.

No as triniman said o2 sensors are usually changed, once they going thats it.
It does play part with mixing of gas, as the o2 readings is calculated by the ecu for regulation of gas ratio. the engine can run lean on in your case might be rich and produce too much gas which leads to bad gas mileage and lose of power.
With the lost of oil you ll need to check your oil viscosity. What grade oil you using?

fred1286 zeroone answered you, yes the gasket cover is what needs changing to resolve your issue

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » February 2nd, 2016, 12:14 pm

ZeroOne wrote:If the plug thread has oil there is a leak from the plug seal.

Time to change plug seal/gasket.

What grade oil you use?

I changed plug seals already but still no difference. Tarpit gasket wudnt cause that, right?
Valvoline 20w50 red bottle. Tried shell and Castrol.. same thing.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » February 2nd, 2016, 8:02 pm

ZeroOne wrote:Yes there are 2 rocker cover gaskets you have to change.

Mileage is 171,524

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » February 3rd, 2016, 12:36 pm

fred1266 wrote:

Mileage is 171,524

At that mileage you coming close to the time to rebuild on that GDI.

Make more sense to wait and rebuild than to change the gaskets alone.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » February 3rd, 2016, 1:09 pm

What's all this talk about it being bad to run your gas tank way past quarter or even when the gas light comes on. Doesn't the pump pull fuel from the lowest part of the tank?

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » February 3rd, 2016, 3:11 pm

ZeroOne wrote:
fred1266 wrote:

Mileage is 171,524

At that mileage you coming close to the time to rebuild on that GDI.

Make more sense to wait and rebuild than to change the gaskets alone.

What you mean by rebuild

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » February 3rd, 2016, 3:55 pm

zeroone is taking about rebuilding/replacing the critical parts in the engine that are damaged from wear and tear.
Piston rings,crank shaft,cam shaft,oil pump,water pump, gasket ,seals ,timing belt....

I personally think is lot of work, best you just drop in another engine.
Turbobeast whats the average of dropping in the gdi turbo in meh cs2?

Thinking this is the next step 4g93 vs 4g92 (mivec). Who knows how easy is the setup and availability of parts including harness and brainbox?

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » February 3rd, 2016, 4:11 pm

OK

PapaC

Postby PapaC » February 3rd, 2016, 4:41 pm

So the engine running, the doors locked, a/c on, and my wife outside. Spare key at home, and house keys in the car.
Any suggestions? Is the fuel line accessible from the bottom? I know if the engine cut off the doors will open.

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » February 3rd, 2016, 5:16 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:What's all this talk about it being bad to run your gas tank way past quarter or even when the gas light comes on. Doesn't the pump pull fuel from the lowest part of the tank?

I guts out a cefiro tank and the hose that was pulling the gas was very low down. I think it suppose to be the same for all vehicles...I'm not sure.
My engine is doing 3015xxkm. Never did any major repairs :/

ghostprotocol

Postby ghostprotocol » February 10th, 2016, 2:48 pm

need some advice:

my cs lancer 1.5 ctv tranny...

this morning started idled really low and when i put it in drive it cut off.. i started it again and it cut off. so i got the spark plugs changed as it was rusty looking. its starting and idling really good btr than before however when i put it on drive its pulls off lazy and not getting no kick down and like i feel like i not getting any gas. if i put it on neutral it revs real normal..

what can be the issue here?

ghostprotocol

Postby ghostprotocol » February 10th, 2016, 3:43 pm

[quote="ghostprotocol"]need some advice:

my cs lancer 1.5 ctv tranny...

this morning started idled really low and when i put it in drive it cut off.. i started it again and it cut off. so i got the spark plugs changed as it was rusty looking. its starting and idling really good btr than before however when i put it on drive its pulls off lazy and not getting no kick down and like i feel like i not getting any gas. if i put it on neutral it revs real normal..

what can be the issue here?[/quote

ok forgot to mention that sensors were removed to test.. did some intense research and i removed battery pole to reset the brain i guess.. car wukking good now...

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » February 10th, 2016, 5:10 pm

Most likely when you removed the sensors the vibrations helped the situation. Most likely symptoms will return under the right conditions.

ghostprotocol

Postby ghostprotocol » February 10th, 2016, 5:19 pm

trini iceman wrote:Most likely when you removed the sensors the vibrations helped the situation. Most likely symptoms will return under the right conditions.

well when the sensors were removed the check engine light came on.. but a battery reset were required to allow the brain to let the car function as usual before.. just the plugs was the issue and the mechanic didnt know he had to reset the battery.. hopefully is nothing again

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » February 14th, 2016, 10:10 am

Hey fellas on running fuel tank low. I know I preached about debris entering the system if you do this and it was pointed out that pumps pull from the base anyhow etc. Well I took that into consideration and I'm now correcting (after coming across this in my diagnostics studies) my statement.
You should not run your pump low, not because of debris but to prevent overheating of the pump. Sorry for the misinformation.
Ghostpatrol glad to know the problem was solved and cheaply also. If only all car problems were like that.

ghostprotocol

Postby ghostprotocol » February 14th, 2016, 10:51 pm

trini iceman wrote:Hey fellas on running fuel tank low. I know I preached about debris entering the system if you do this and it was pointed out that pumps pull from the base anyhow etc. Well I took that into consideration and I'm now correcting (after coming across this in my diagnostics studies) my statement.
You should not run your pump low, not because of debris but to prevent overheating of the pump. Sorry for the misinformation.
Ghostpatrol glad to know the problem was solved and cheaply also. If only all car problems were like that.

yea iceman thanx.. sensors were removed before spark plugs were changed(point to note ppl)

i always run my car low on fuel.. btr stop that then

Return to “MITSUBISHI”