Power Steering Frankenstein Conversion

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

brakefluid

Power Steering Frankenstein Conversion

Postby brakefluid » February 25th, 2009, 5:15 pm

Conversion was for the 2002 Bug Eye WRX. May be applicable to other model Subarus as well

Well the obvious problem I had was that my pump was not working how it was supposed to work.
So I go around looking for a power steering pump and I cannot get the exact match to mines. When I do, the sellers of the part want to dig out yuh eye with high prices.
So I start to think about a Frankenstein conversion. I had to choose a widely available, cheap and high performance brand. Low and behold it was NISSAN. B14 to be precise.

So I bought a B14 pump for $150.00 VAT Inclusive .
Took it to my mechanic and told him what I wanted done. The pump more or less lined up in the Subaru bracket. Changes that had to be made are as follows:

1. B14 pulley had to be reversed to get the correct offset. B13 would have worked perfectly as well. $150

2. Pulley belt had to be changed from the original 4-groove to 3-groove $42

3. Power steering lines had to be 'adjusted' for line-up. Fluid bolt hole also has to be widened

4. Original 'suction' flange to pump in B14 was swapped and the Subaru one installed perfectly.

5. Pulley Belt shield was drilled for new line-up as a result of the offset change from the new pump.

Drove the car around a few blocks just now, now noise, no
stiffening when slowing down, constant idle maintained when turning and very soft steering turn. NISSAN rules.

Total cost to me was dog cheap inclusive of labor and materials and VAT .

I don't want to count my eggs before they hatch so to speak but when you compare $400 all inclusive to a pump costing $1500-$3800, you cannot go wrong.

I must say hats off to my mechanic for going along with my belief and his expertise. Here are some pics:

B13 pump on a b13 engine

Pulley Belt cost $42.00

B14 Pump on engine bolted up on the Subaru Flange

Before it was bolted up on the engine. The other pumps that are seen are the other Subaru pumps that I have tried and failed.

Other Subaru pumps that I had tried and failed with.

My mechanic: Daren
Tel: 785-4506

wickedweasel

Re: Power Steering Frankenstein Conversion

Postby wickedweasel » March 6th, 2014, 5:19 pm

Sweet!!!

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » March 6th, 2014, 6:18 pm

Wonder how it worked out in the long term?

brakefluid

Postby brakefluid » March 7th, 2014, 9:39 pm

still holding out. I eventually got back an original pump but did not put it on. B14 one works great

Postby black start » March 8th, 2014, 12:23 am

Padna bought a pump someday for 1500. Of he sees this now he might faint. B14 pumps still going for the same price too....

wickedweasel

Postby wickedweasel » March 8th, 2014, 7:52 am

I also bought a used pump in the Bamboo and it only last 2 months.. steups..

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » March 12th, 2014, 7:52 pm

How long it took for the install? Seriously considering this...

Return to “SUBARU”