I got my legacy in dash screen to play dvds

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

copper_shot

I got my legacy in dash screen to play dvds

Postby copper_shot » February 26th, 2009, 7:05 pm

If your legacy came with this TV/NAV then you're in luck
send the drivers seat all the way forward, then from the back seat look below the drivers seat, theres a velcro cover, pull it out to reveal your NAV\DVD\SD Player

Insert a DVD, and watch dvds from your in dash screen

now this is most likely a repost or someone may have already figured this out.

but i found out this for myself today, i'm sure it would help someone else too, i've looked under my seats before and never saw this player as it had the velcro cover on it.

enjoy!
-----------------------------------------------------

how to get the TV/DVD/NAV to play sound through your stereo, instead of the little speaker that comes with it

while a dvd is playing press the MENU button, which is the middle button on the right, the one above the blue button

then click on the bottom right arrow to change the page

then click on AV

there are 2 options there, the first is to enable the FM, the other is to disable

make sure its enabled, you would know its enabled when you see FM

if you click on it again you can then set a station, i set mine to 76.0, then press the blue button on screen to set it to that station, turn on your radio to 76.0 and it works

sound through your car stereo :)
Last edited by copper_shot on February 28th, 2009, 8:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.

15devils

Postby 15devils » February 26th, 2009, 7:47 pm

sweet..nice find!

Flex030

Postby Flex030 » February 26th, 2009, 7:56 pm

cool!!!

chanders

Postby chanders » February 27th, 2009, 1:41 pm

Copper shot, what a coincidence, i figured this out this weekend, my question is, does your audio come through the car audio system or does it play through a shitty speaker that is just for the Nav?.....cause mines play through the shitty speaker.

bbudhooram

Postby bbudhooram » February 27th, 2009, 2:58 pm

on my system, it plays through the car audio system on channel 76.0

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 27th, 2009, 3:22 pm

Oh yeah I thought this was known? My old man's legacy has the same thing. Once a DVD is loaded in the "drive" under the driver's seat, there's a "mode" button somewhere to the left of the screen......pressing it cycles through TV modes, DVD etc etc.

I've managed to pick up some sort of TV channed in his car, but it's too fuzzy to make out anything.

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » February 27th, 2009, 4:05 pm

i gonna sell my rex for a legacy :shock: lol

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 27th, 2009, 10:46 pm

^^That'll just make things easier for me!!!! :twisted:

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » February 28th, 2009, 3:13 am

Knight1, lol

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 28th, 2009, 9:26 am

chanders wrote:Copper shot, what a coincidence, i figured this out this weekend, my question is, does your audio come through the car audio system or does it play through a shitty speaker that is just for the Nav?.....cause mines play through the shitty speaker.

mine played through the shitty speaker

bbudhooram wrote:on my system, it plays through the car audio system on channel 76.0

budhooram yuh is ah bosssss....

i got mine to play through the deck as well, heres how to do it

while a dvd is playing press the MENU button, which is the middle button on the right, the one above the blue button

then click on AV

there are 2 options there, the first is to enable the FM, the other is to disable

make sure its enabled, you would know its enabled when you see FM

if you click on it again you can then set a station, i set mine to 76.0, then press the blue button on screen to set it to that station, turn on your radio to 76.0 and it works

sound through your car stereo :)

chanders

Postby chanders » February 28th, 2009, 9:37 am

i believe i tried that but it didn't work, have you guys have your fm band converted to play local radio stations? cause my was and i believe that this is probably why mine in not transmitting on the 76 frequency. just a thought

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 28th, 2009, 9:58 am

mine is not converted to play local...

if yours was converted, then the 76 frequency would not be 76

just like to tune into "boom 94.1 fm" you would have to put it on another station to pick it up

so the easiest thing to do is set the dvd deck on the highest frequency, which is 80something, then scan your stations on your radio and you would find it, put a dvd to play and scan your stations for the audio

it should be one of the lowest stations on your radio

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » February 28th, 2009, 1:27 pm

i wonder if i can install one of those in my subaru? will it be the same bolt up hmm

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 28th, 2009, 7:53 pm

^^No it won't breds. The fascia/deck portion for that is rather different to the WRX's interior.

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » February 28th, 2009, 8:07 pm

anybody made the PIONEER CARROZERRIA work yet? :(

deck also under seat...but no cover on it

it says "please insert appropriate disc"

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » March 1st, 2009, 3:53 pm

Thanks for the heads up copper_shot.

Rx

Postby Rx » March 2nd, 2009, 7:58 am

thanx , coppershot !!!!!

I'll be "borrowing " this thread for the guys on TSOC .. with your kind permission , of course :wink:

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » March 2nd, 2009, 8:48 am

i'm on tsoc as well copper_shot

i've been meaning to post it... but go right ahead...i'm kinda lazy

Rx

Postby Rx » March 2nd, 2009, 9:17 am

^^^ lol ..

posted it this morning ..LEGACY forums

Thanx again :wink:

scooby

Postby scooby » March 2nd, 2009, 11:48 am

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAh

i not seeing mine

maybe the 03 model dont have it

i goin to look agin yes

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » March 2nd, 2009, 6:19 pm

^ this one applies to this model tv/nav/dvd screen as shown in the pic

panasonic strada DV155

there are PDF manuals for it online, but in japanese.. can anyone find a program that converts the Japanese PDF to English?

wrxdevil

Postby wrxdevil » March 2nd, 2009, 7:37 pm

mines came in the glove compartment

scooby

Postby scooby » March 2nd, 2009, 8:19 pm

yes i have that same screen

i also have a drive in the glove compartment which reads subaru navigation system

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » March 2nd, 2009, 8:30 pm

try a dvd in it?

scooby

Postby scooby » March 3rd, 2009, 1:01 pm

tried it

its saying wrong disc application

i will take a pic and post it

chanders

Postby chanders » March 4th, 2009, 12:39 am

copper_shot wrote:^ this one applies to this model tv/nav/dvd screen as shown in the pic

panasonic strada DV155

there are PDF manuals for it online, but in japanese.. can anyone find a program that converts the Japanese PDF to English?

Copper_shot do u have a link for the manual? If so post link up please.

I confirmed that the bandx on my fm is out of range for the audio from the DVD. Now I feeling to undo it jus to get the audio through the speakers.. :lol:

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » March 4th, 2009, 12:33 pm

i had found the manual online but can't find it anymore

do a search for "panasonic strada dv155 manual"

but it would be in japanese

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » March 4th, 2009, 1:54 pm

so after toggling through the japanese menu and making some random changes on the dvd screen i managed to get a rear camera display...

so whenever i put the gear in reverse the screen comes on or switches to rear camera display, the only problem is that i have no camera installed, there is an RCA input for the camera though, so i'm going to install one soon...

DarkiSt

Postby DarkiSt » April 1st, 2009, 9:11 am

Anyone know if the 04+ JDM Legacies play DVDs as well?
As someone else mentioned, the unit is located in the passenger side glove compartment and is just marked "Subaru Navigation System".

I tried a DVD but just got some Japanese writing on the screen...no idea what it's telling me.

Also, does anyone know if this model can at least change the language in the menus to english, and how?

Lastly, if I buy the USDM navigation DVD, will it work to at least give me some English menus/speech? I guess expecting Caribbean maps is too much...

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » June 21st, 2009, 11:19 am

bump
for the new legacy owners who may not be aware of this

Return to “SUBARU”