Can an 2006 Impreza TS run on super (92) without issue?

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Gaffy

Can an 2006 Impreza TS run on super (92) without issue?

Postby Gaffy » September 26th, 2009, 12:33 pm

As subject says.

Postby A172 » September 26th, 2009, 3:34 pm

:| :| :|

Dutty_S

Postby Dutty_S » September 26th, 2009, 5:19 pm

what did your manual say ?

is it Local or RORO ?

De Bench

Postby De Bench » September 27th, 2009, 11:14 am

you can run a TS on anything, it's a low compression engine when compared to other engines.

There is no benefit to using premium in your TS.

ps. our family had a ts for 2 years, so I'm talking from experience

Gaffy

Postby Gaffy » September 28th, 2009, 10:47 am

ok good to know.......
I use premium the firm N&M said to use it ... so did the mechanic, he asked why I used super when I did try it.........so was wondering

brakefluid

Postby brakefluid » September 29th, 2009, 1:11 pm

gf has a hawkeye ts and we use super throughout no problems

Postby tr1ad » September 30th, 2009, 5:15 am

we have 92 oct here? :lol:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 30th, 2009, 6:39 am

tr1ad wrote:we have 92 oct here? :lol:

Actually, yes we do.

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » February 4th, 2010, 2:58 pm

the octane fluctuates in TnT, I say use the super and save yourself some money, use an octane booster every now and again n u good to go man!

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » February 5th, 2010, 2:48 am

super will be np
now and then you can dump in a treatment

Phil_Franc

Re: Can an 2006 Impreza TS run on super (92) without issue?

Postby Phil_Franc » February 16th, 2011, 11:37 pm

on my peanut eye i put super with octane boost or premium . personally i find the car uses the super more efficiently . i burn premium almost twice as fast as super and with the octane boost i get no lag at all

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 21st, 2011, 8:35 am

Phil_Franc wrote:on my peanut eye i put super with octane boost or premium . personally i find the car uses the super more efficiently . i burn premium almost twice as fast as super and with the octane boost i get no lag at all

Lag on a TS?
I thought it was in lag mode all the time?

Regarding the highlighted part, I hear about these claims all the time and was never able to replicate it. I'd like to hear about how testing was done.

drinker41

Postby drinker41 » March 1st, 2011, 11:26 pm

with that model ts you should get a tiny bit more power and the car feels a little bit more responsive on the super but....... if you listen to your engine at times when the car is idling you might hear a slight knock. The super burns faster than the premium ( well this is in mine ) i get better mileage on the premium only use the super when im low on funds

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 2nd, 2011, 2:36 pm

Phil_Franc wrote:i burn premium almost twice as fast as super

drinker41 wrote:The super burns faster than the premium ( well this is in mine )

drinker41

Postby drinker41 » March 3rd, 2011, 5:09 pm

yeh i get 400kms to the tank on premium super is 3sum

Postby tr1ad » March 7th, 2011, 10:14 am

it would be the premium that would burn out faster in a TS than the super

Rickstar#1

Postby Rickstar#1 » March 8th, 2011, 9:22 am

Switching to Super would be cheeper but vehicle would have a slower pull off and acceleration .... In super the Octane Level is 92 and in premium it's 95 ........Suggestion if u change to super , place a few moth balls in your tank every 2 fills....Moth balls would raise the octane level in super .

Postby A172 » March 8th, 2011, 9:29 am

it gonna have slow pull off and acceleration regardless of fuel used.....don't let placebo effect pwn yuh :arrow:

drinker41

Postby drinker41 » March 24th, 2011, 11:14 pm

okkkk so i did some research into this aka i poor these days so i put super and driving slow to not burn gas.......

So this is the difference i got with my 2006 automatic 1.6 ts

With premium i get about more or less 400 kms to the tank with varying driving
drive it hard and you would see less obviously.

with the super on the other hand varying driving gets you 450-500 this with varying driving
but in the case of super if you floor it or actually try to get a ts to move fast it burns the gas much quicker seeing around 300kms max to the tank.

so all in all if u wanna move some what fast as is a ts we talking about.. use the premium and u will get more

if you just gonna cruise and keep it slow not do any sheit go for the super.

and i retract my previous statement about gettiing less with the super cus i probably had my foot permanently planted to the floor so that doesnt count

hope this helps and keep in mind that clean fluids(fresh oil) goes a long way in subarus

Return to “SUBARU”