legacy owners there is hope for aftermarket stereo

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

legacy owners there is hope for aftermarket stereo

Postby SR » May 18th, 2010, 8:24 am

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.p ... p;t=113589

http://www.avojdm.com/index.php?cPath=2 ... e6aef3e486

gonna look into it seriously but u can order at your own risk

i still await the dash kit from japan to convert the upper pocket to house a single din
once that arrives i will look at sourcing the correct kit for the double din application for the legacy with the ac controls

suspect its gonna cost around 3k TT

link courtesy civic 2nr

Re: legacy owners there is hope for aftermarket stereo

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 18th, 2010, 10:12 am

both links imcomplete / not working

Postby SR » May 18th, 2010, 10:52 am

try www.avojdm.com

link to installation on legacygt forum is there as well

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 18th, 2010, 12:11 pm

I thought the upper pocket was removable *sigh*
i need a dash kit for that too?

wanted to do a single DIN / single pocket conversion....

Postby SR » May 18th, 2010, 12:29 pm

upper pocket is removable but u need a finisher kit to neatly install a single din unit

it can be done however with a locally made finisher

but i choose the aftermarket piece instead as it looks better

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » May 18th, 2010, 12:51 pm

I could source any of these parts for 3/4 the price you would pay for it.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 18th, 2010, 1:18 pm

Ragnarok, I wanna convert my upper pocket into:
1. A Single din HU
2. A single din lower pocket

What do i need?
How much TT will it cost?

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » May 18th, 2010, 5:19 pm

Sorry unless this is custom made it wont be an original part.The single din finisher fits in the middle of the pocket space so will have roughly 1/2 din above and below it.Sending you some pics and prices of what i can get for you later.

Postby SR » May 19th, 2010, 8:22 am

interesetd in pricing and delivery time as well

Postby SR » May 29th, 2010, 10:26 pm

received my upper pocket kit today
unfortunalty only 2 kits so only one will be up for sale as i will keep the other

however fortunalty it came from subaru direct so i ahve the original part number for it

asking $1500 for the other pocket kit

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 1st, 2010, 8:51 am

plan change, i scrap the aftermarket stereo idea.

I am looking for the OEM amp that goes under the passenger seat - for LGT's that came with the Macintosh branded system.
Where on god's green earth can I find this? The OEM one is shot, suffered from liquid damage whilst in operation.

Anyone willing to part with theirs?

ole whore

Postby ole whore » July 1st, 2010, 9:55 am

i have the whole macintosh system for sale...
deck,speakers,amp, sub and whatever else...
no part out.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 1st, 2010, 9:59 am

i have everyhting else.
thanks anyway.

nonetheless, i'll bite, PM me the cost yuh want for everything...

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » July 2nd, 2010, 8:14 am

ole whore wrote:i have the whole macintosh system for sale...
no part out.

Send me a price also,have someone who might be interested.

ole whore

Postby ole whore » July 2nd, 2010, 8:38 am

ole whore wrote:i have the whole macintosh system for sale...
no part out.

$4000.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 2nd, 2010, 9:48 am

ouch.

willing to offer up to 2k for the amp alone - once it is the correct one for my application

Postby SR » July 2nd, 2010, 6:34 pm

as far as i know there is only one model for the mcintosh system

Postby Monk BANzai » September 26th, 2010, 12:41 am

i have a different issue....my mcintosh unit...the CD palyer keeps jumping and giving me an "ERROR" reading..plus it takes phenomenally long to read a CD...are there cleaner kits for them?? or do i have to change out the unit all together?

nismoid

Postby nismoid » September 27th, 2010, 8:06 pm

none of the double din kits from avo works because the a/c controls are dual zone and the jdm controls are single zone.
i got one from avo and only to realise that it cannot work.
the one from japan parts would work, but i never followed thru on it

nismoid

Postby nismoid » September 27th, 2010, 8:08 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:i have a different issue....my mcintosh unit...the CD palyer keeps jumping and giving me an "ERROR" reading..plus it takes phenomenally long to read a CD...are there cleaner kits for them?? or do i have to change out the unit all together?

dont think its a cleaning issue you have however any cd lens cleaner would work

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » September 28th, 2010, 5:08 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:i have a different issue....my mcintosh unit...the CD palyer keeps jumping and giving me an "ERROR" reading..plus it takes phenomenally long to read a CD...are there cleaner kits for them?? or do i have to change out the unit all together?

No mp3 and wmv only wave

Postby SR » January 7th, 2011, 9:52 am

system installed

deck backgorund color matched to the factory dash

have one more single din kit to sell

if you have the mc system it can be removed and a custom panel can be made to replace with either single or double din

Flex030

Postby Flex030 » January 14th, 2011, 10:55 am

Hey SR, any pics? I would love to see the finish product.... :wink:

Postby SR » January 14th, 2011, 12:21 pm

no pics but at night it looks oem with the lights on
and even during the day due to the laid back look of the head unit ti doesnt seem out of place

solidust

Postby solidust » April 10th, 2015, 7:56 am

Quick question, can an amplifier be installed with the stock head unit (AC controls, 6 disc cd changer)?

Searched through posts, however to no avail.

Lance

Postby Lance » April 10th, 2015, 8:05 am

You can use an aftermarket OEM Integration device. There are a lot of excellent ones on the market.

JL audio Clean Sweep, Rockford 360 etc.

Most amplifiers will also accept Hi-Level Speaker Inputs. They have gotten quite advanced when it comes to OEM integration. I quite like the JBL MS line of amps.

solidust

Postby solidust » April 11th, 2015, 5:55 pm

Thanks man.

solidust

Postby solidust » July 27th, 2015, 10:46 pm

Thinking about using this GROM USB Android car interface adapter on the stock head unit.

http://gromaudio.com/store/android_adap ... rface.html

Postby nervewrecker » July 29th, 2015, 5:29 pm

Lance wrote:You can use an aftermarket OEM Integration device. There are a lot of excellent ones on the market.

JL audio Clean Sweep, Rockford 360 etc.

Most amplifiers will also accept Hi-Level Speaker Inputs. They have gotten quite advanced when it comes to OEM integration. I quite like the JBL MS line of amps.

Saw a bit one pop up for sale on tuner, $2k.

x2 on the JBL ms line, they very affordable on amazon.

Return to “SUBARU”