LF: Subaru Suspension Specialist, if there are any!

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

RR1507

LF: Subaru Suspension Specialist, if there are any!

Postby RR1507 » February 23rd, 2011, 4:43 pm

Getting some really bad noise when I go over small hump or hit depressions on the road! My mechanic is saying everything looks good to him. Hmmmmm, I eh even want to call de man name here, I'm driving a Legacy GT!!!! Any info, I wanna do a complete suspension check but by a reputable garage/mechanic!

Ragnarok

Re: LF: Subaru Suspension Specialist, if there are any!

Postby Ragnarok » February 23rd, 2011, 5:21 pm

That is dem cheap coilovers you put on....

RR1507

Postby RR1507 » February 24th, 2011, 3:23 am

Ragnarok wrote:That is dem cheap coilovers you put on....

I was getting that problem before I put on the coilovers! Remember is point I living we dont have roads like Palmiste padner!

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » February 24th, 2011, 7:01 am

lol...ok ok ah have a padna who pretty good at this thing,so call me.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 24th, 2011, 8:48 am

knocking?
which coilovers you installed?

RR1507

Postby RR1507 » February 24th, 2011, 8:58 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:knocking?
which coilovers you installed?

Boi all kinda noise yes, I had some D2s on it but I took them off abt 3 months now, I was getting the noise before I had the coilovers. I was told to check Mileage Mack and let dem do a suspension check.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 24th, 2011, 10:56 am

linkage?

i had similiar problems and only when i put new linkage it stopped

RR1507

Postby RR1507 » February 24th, 2011, 11:02 am

copper_shot wrote:linkage?

i had similiar problems and only when i put new linkage it stopped

it's more a grinding noise when i hit a depression and over small bumps is a knocking noise! Bird told me that one of my front shocks going but i was getting it even when i had the coilovers on.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 24th, 2011, 11:55 am

if u getting pressure check mileage mack

they will do a proper check

Nebulous_14

Postby Nebulous_14 » February 28th, 2011, 5:43 pm

Check Ron's Marketing in south Duncan village

HYPERFORMANCE

Postby HYPERFORMANCE » March 1st, 2011, 9:16 am

RR, check the linkage from the engine to the firewall, bushing detaches from the rubber and sounds like the shock is bad- especially if you go over humps and little rough road. it resembles a "dog bone"

BZ

Postby BZ » March 11th, 2011, 9:58 am

RR, did you get this sorted? Interested to know, as I have similiar symptoms from what sounds like the left front side.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » March 11th, 2011, 10:13 am

common problems are:

-linkage

-cradle bushing (if its damaged really bad, they always tear a little but it wont cause any noticeable problems)

-drop springs/shocks (if the top bolts are not tightened properly, if its lower springs like Tein S techs, you may need to use a washer to get the top bolt tightened properly because with the shorter springs the shocks cannot be tighted properly, the springs always shift and make noise, a washer fixes this problem

BZ

Postby BZ » March 11th, 2011, 11:01 am

coppers......how do you know if the linkage is the problem? Any visual indications? or do you have to take em off, and even then...what next?

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » March 11th, 2011, 11:26 am

make sure its tightened properly

remove it and if it moves freely then its bad

if you never changed them i suggest you do, its fairly cheap about $200-300 for the pair

from the problem you're having it sounds like its the linkage to me

BZ

Postby BZ » March 11th, 2011, 12:23 pm

I will check it........but i changed these just over a year ago or so......

Thanks.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » March 11th, 2011, 1:31 pm

u have to do a thorough check

-check linkage for tightness
-check cradle bushings and bolts
-a bad shock would give you a knock, heard it with the bilsteins many times
- if the shock bolts on top are not tightened you would get a knocking while driving through rough as well

theres nothing else besides the above that would give you that thump when driving

BZ

Postby BZ » March 11th, 2011, 1:44 pm

ok cool, thanks........i have a bad feeling its the shock gone/going bad though....

TREX

Postby TREX » March 16th, 2011, 9:00 pm

RR1507 wrote:Getting some really bad noise when I go over small hump or hit depressions on the road! My mechanic is saying everything looks good to him. Hmmmmm, I eh even want to call de man name here, I'm driving a Legacy GT!!!! Any info, I wanna do a complete suspension check but by a reputable garage/mechanic!

Had a similar problem with the rear shocks. Was getting ready to change them and then had Silver-star take a look. It seems that the Sube Shocks have a habit of compressing the internal grease and then start to "knock"

They were taken off and relubricated. Now cars rides perfect no problems and no leakege. TBH am not sure what was done so you should check Chris / Derek for a better explanation.
Cost - Very reasonable, much less than new shocks.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » March 16th, 2011, 9:23 pm

whos silver-star?

i've been looking for someone that does the servicing of the bilsteins, i have extra set to service

Return to “SUBARU”