SUBARU EJ25 N/A How much/?

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

trinibuggy

SUBARU EJ25 N/A How much/?

Postby trinibuggy » March 20th, 2011, 1:59 pm

good day tuners I have a vw beetle thats been in the family for a while,it was my grandfathers(R.I.P grandad) he gave it to my sister but she had bought an peugot 206 at the time,so she just fixed it up and left it here..She bought a new floor,running boards,fiberglass fenders,bumpers,lights and a front disc brake kit. It was painted about 10 or more years ago and has been covered down ever since.I love this car and hopefully in a couple of years i would like to have it on the road..I watch alot of vw swap vids and builds and i learned alot.My goal is to build a everyday car that could beat the sheit out of the "ah have a turbo/fast engine "crowd.. the old engine ceased up some years now so it will need a new heart,I know subaru flat fours and vw falt fours are identical so a EJ25,22 or 20 swap will be easyish..lol..I prefer the EJ 25 because of its displacement and torque.From what i've read the EJ25 N/A puts out around 160-175hp enough to put me in the 12's(if it had a drag track :D)..I'm currently pricing things such as axles,trannies,camber away kits,and mini lite wheels(want 7inches in front 8 in the rear). I'm a student so i doh have d money needed just want to get an idea on how much money will be needed to accomplish my goal so i can work towards it. So can anyone give me the price range on a EJ25 N/A from a 94-99 legacy?(Engine alone from what i've read vw owners don't use the ECU, and tranny not needed)I'll post a pic of her.
P8242671 (2).JPG
bumpers need re chroming but she good otherwise

trinibuggy

Re: SUBARU EJ25 N/A How much/?

Postby trinibuggy » March 20th, 2011, 2:04 pm

i hadda price an aftermarket ECU too.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » March 25th, 2011, 12:20 pm

dose engine u tlkin bout are us engine i blv we dont have much of those here. if u wunna go flat 4 just throw gc8 engine. they cheap enough and readily available.

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » March 27th, 2011, 1:54 am

saw a few on torontojdm.com for $800 US dollars is that reasonable?

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » March 27th, 2011, 9:07 am

unless u in toronto it not cost effective. that gonna cost u at least a $8000 to get it over here..

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 27th, 2011, 10:13 am

My advice, get a older gc wrx engine.
Ej20 turbo, will cost less than an ej25na,

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » March 27th, 2011, 1:26 pm

I like d Ej20t and it easy to fit I just afraid of all that power in such a light car.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » March 27th, 2011, 7:33 pm

ha well atleast u man enough to admit it. power is nothing without control..personally i would love a conversion like that but i kno how to safely handle a high hp vehicle. still i think after fitting the 2.5na u would still wunna go turbo. there alot of faster machines on the road. just take ur time with the learning curve.

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » March 28th, 2011, 11:01 pm

200+hp in a 800 or so kg car is a lil too much for me..lol

Postby A172 » March 31st, 2011, 5:15 pm

trinibuggy wrote:200+hp in a 800 or so kg car is a lil too much for me..lol

:| :| :|

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » March 31st, 2011, 6:50 pm

I would say go ej20 turbo over ej25....men have parts for those gc8wrx like black on corbeaux!!

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » April 2nd, 2011, 1:05 am

thanks for the info guys.

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » July 15th, 2011, 12:16 pm

or even consider the ej20 n/a, in 2.0R imprezas its dohc out there output is like 160bhp, and in legacy n/a is like 150 and im sure legacy na engines shudnt be overly hard to find

WRXHED

Postby WRXHED » July 15th, 2011, 7:19 pm

Yeah I'd really urge you to go with the EJ20T for a cheap solution.

As someone who's just flogged his entire engine, complete with turbo, ECU, and exhaust for $900, I can verify that they are a steal of a deal. Mine had a spun bearing on CYL#4 but still ran fine and the repairs wouldn't have been expensive or hard with some workspace and tools.

In my case I wanted my car under 5 seconds in the 0-60 so when the engine had to be pulled I told them to leave it out and I got a Japanese spec EJ207, complete with turbo/IC/ECU. The difference is night and day, the AVCS is sweet, and I'm right around 400HP at the crank now. :P

Return to “SUBARU”