Anyone ever balcked out thier headlights?

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Anyone ever balcked out thier headlights?

Postby Monk BANzai » June 6th, 2011, 6:12 pm

if so,,,what you used to open up the headlight?

Re: Anyone ever balcked out thier headlights?

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 6th, 2011, 6:21 pm

hmmm, great idea - but I dont have the gumption to try this one myself in case I FUBAR it.

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » June 6th, 2011, 8:23 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:if so,,,what you used to open up the headlight?

If you f@#k it up,i'll get a replacement pair for you..lol

drinker41

Postby drinker41 » June 6th, 2011, 11:10 pm

if u heat it it should separate on its own

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » June 7th, 2011, 8:39 am

it opens up with a heat gun, heat it up and pry it apart

heat up back the glue and it will stick back together

i had it done with my previous legacy to install the halos

there are lots of threads on legacygt.com with how to do it and pics, i've seen blackout lights done there too

a good way to do it is with an oven too

ole whore

Postby ole whore » June 7th, 2011, 9:21 am

dwyane at perfect shift from arima does dis............

Postby Monk BANzai » June 7th, 2011, 9:38 am

Ragnarok wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:if so,,,what you used to open up the headlight?

If you f@#k it up,i'll get a replacement pair for you..lol

hehehehehe...nah....leh meh get meh "gems" first nah...

Postby wagonrunner » June 7th, 2011, 10:12 am

Dude15

Postby Dude15 » June 7th, 2011, 11:46 am

put them in the oven for about 5 mins at about 300 degrees, they come apart with the use of a flathead screwdriver pretty easily....unmount yuh shinny plastic housing...sand it....bomb spray (heat resistant biz)...carefully screw back housing....apply some force to the both parts of the headlight in an effort to close it back...then place in oven for same 5mins at 300....

btw dont touch bulbs...and clean inside of headlight while yuh in there.

Postby Monk BANzai » June 7th, 2011, 4:53 pm

^^this...i shall try.....

Postby shogun » June 19th, 2011, 10:32 am

You can also use a heat gun, if unsure about putting them in the oven.
http://www.i-club.com/forums/vbarticles ... rticleid=8

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » June 21st, 2011, 8:38 pm

there is a you tube video for everything... but this looks like too much antics plus after u open it u need to seal it back pretty good cuz if theirs condensation in there afterwards its totally not worth it..

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » June 24th, 2011, 10:18 pm

check Shift Performance in Arima..

Return to “SUBARU”