WTK STi Exhaust

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

EVO III Monster

WTK STi Exhaust

Postby EVO III Monster » December 10th, 2011, 11:21 am

how come the 05 STi dont rumble like the older model onez?

Re: WTK STi Exhaust

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 10th, 2011, 12:34 pm

Has to do with the exhaust manifold design for efficiency.
Older sti's and recent WRX's came with a single scroll setup with an unequal length manifold.
Your STI has equal length manifold and a twinscroll turbo. It does not rumble like the older scoobys, but it sounds awesome with a proper exhaust.

EVO III Monster

Postby EVO III Monster » December 10th, 2011, 4:29 pm

ok thanks
so if i get the unequal length headers i would get the rumble then.

i installed a full 3.5 inch stainless steel exhaust already but i wha the rumble..lol

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 10th, 2011, 4:43 pm

It wont work properly and you will lose a lot of performance!
Talk to barry, he can give you some options, but I thought you wanna leave this one stock

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » December 13th, 2011, 10:03 am

RICE lol!

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » December 13th, 2011, 10:17 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Has to do with the exhaust manifold design for efficiency.
Older sti's and recent WRX's came with a single scroll setup with an unequal length manifold.
Your STI has equal length manifold and a twinscroll turbo. It does not rumble like the older scoobys, but it sounds awesome with a proper exhaust.

Correct! I recall seeing a legacy switching to a single scroll setup from a twinscroll but I very much doubt you want to do that with your STi just to rumble...

Return to “SUBARU”