power steering fluid options

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

power steering fluid options

Postby SR » September 9th, 2011, 8:25 am

whats recomended for the legacy

Re: power steering fluid options

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 9th, 2011, 9:34 am

SR, because of the notorious PS pump issues with the legas, I dont trust anything else but OEM.

Postby SR » September 9th, 2011, 1:36 pm

mines started making noise and it was recomended by 2 different experts to try doing a flush first so i wanted to know what to use

its a slim chance as based on what i have heard and read i will eventually have to replace the pump but its still cheaper to try the flush

Postby Monk BANzai » September 9th, 2011, 2:11 pm

i learnt the hard way..and it cost me 1800 to replace my pump...buddie..stick with OEM or usethe AMSOIL ATF fluid.....

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 9th, 2011, 2:20 pm

SR, did you check the hoses?
I replaced one hose and a seal on my PS and my noise stopped.
I used the Subaru 4ATF to flush (not our 5eat)

Postby Monk BANzai » September 9th, 2011, 2:37 pm

i have a spare pump if you need to compare and contrast...

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » September 10th, 2011, 7:03 am

The legacy has a high pressure p/s pump...as such regular p/s fluid will be too viscous for it and will ultimately damage the seals...it is recommended to use the subaru 4EAT atf fluid or even regular castrol dextron III can be used.

Over time the hoses get hard and porous...changing these hoses can significantly improve p/s response

Postby SR » September 12th, 2011, 12:32 pm

any idea on cost for replacment hoses and available?

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » September 12th, 2011, 11:06 pm

i changed the hoses to the padded high pressure hoses that Eswil sells...it cheap...like $12-15/ft

u need some lengths in 3/8's and 5/8's...cyah remember off hand..that was 2yrs ago...jus ask them and they wud tell u

u can use the original hoses...but u'd have to order it in..beware tho..the american pump is oriented differently..so the hoses mighten line up as u'd expect
Last edited by jadakiss on October 16th, 2011, 1:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » September 13th, 2011, 4:39 pm

i got the noise problem before

did a quick flush, didnt solve the noise

did another flush, noticed there was a gum/residue buildup as the bottom of the bottle, that was restricting the flow, cleaned that out and everything worked fine after, no noise

Postby tr1ad » September 13th, 2011, 5:02 pm

not legacy specific but as jadakiss said

i did the same and the humming noise from the pump stopped

it cost about 120 for the hoses

Postby SR » September 14th, 2011, 10:16 am

what oil was used for the flush??

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » September 14th, 2011, 10:28 am

use the castrol dex 3...it's the cheapest and is suitable for use in the legacy

or if u can put the extra $...the subaru 4EAT fluid...NOT the 5EAT or subaru ATF-HP eh!

awdmotorsports is the last person i saw who had the 4EAT fluid

Postby SR » September 14th, 2011, 10:55 am

so the castrol for the flush and then oem

i heard massy recomends the subaru atf

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » September 15th, 2011, 9:11 pm

no hoss..u doe hada use the 4eat oem fluid..i'm jus saying if u don't mind spending the extra use it...but jus the castrol is fine ...for the flush and fill up...if u not sure...check full traction auto...they have done my both legacy's and they done quite a few as well so they pretty experienced

Postby tr1ad » September 17th, 2011, 8:28 am

i wouldn't recommend FTA so much

SR we'll talk

Bacon

Postby Bacon » September 18th, 2011, 12:00 am

SR your car did that b4.....I took off the cover and drove for a couple days to bleed the system....Problem solved....

Well until now I guess....

Postby SR » September 18th, 2011, 8:55 pm

fluid needs to be replaced has a slight burnt smell to it no issues with power steering otherwise no leaks

its the only fluid that has not been changed since buying the car

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » September 20th, 2011, 12:12 pm

for some reason the fluid there gets burnt fast...i guess it's jus the atf losing it's body

anyways i hear wat Tr1ad saying but i've had positive experiences with FTA on the legacy's

if u have no leaks thats gr8..but the noise could jus be the hoses becoming more porous..so it wud require a change along with the pump..but jus let them flush it for the mean time ...

that should help..and as bacon said...drive with the cover off after that to bleed watever air still left inside

If it still has air ..jack up the front with the tyres off the ground and lock frm left to right w/ cap off n let the air bubble out

Return to “SUBARU”