WMI vs Toluene

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

WMI vs Toluene

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 2nd, 2011, 2:34 pm

Opinions aside, let's discuss the pro's and con's of both.

I'm considering one or the other...

Toluene

Cons
Slightly more expensive per gallon
Availability?

Pros
Don't need WOT to feel benefits of improved octane
Can revert easily, no hardware changes
Dont need a monitoring system, 1 gallon everytime I fill tank

nareshseep

Re: WMI vs Toluene

Postby nareshseep » October 2nd, 2011, 2:43 pm

cons: harmful to health

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » October 2nd, 2011, 3:09 pm

^^^So is methanol,with the WMI kit you will be able to increase the octane no. as well as cool the charge,so timing and boost could be increased significantly,but more hardware so more possible failures.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 2nd, 2011, 4:20 pm

nareshseep wrote:cons: harmful to health

Nar, yuh ever read the MSDS on regular car prducts?
TB Cleaner, gumsolve, hell even bomb spray.
You'll want to put on a forensic suit around the stuff...
I assume the same with the toluene/meth and appropriate caution/safety procedures must be followed.
I doh play that yunno!

Postby 16 cycles » October 3rd, 2011, 2:54 pm

check if either needs alterations to AFRs if tuning for it...

Glitch

Postby Glitch » October 5th, 2011, 2:17 pm

With water/meth you would need a retune as your afr will get alot richer.

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » October 5th, 2011, 7:34 pm

hmmmm..i have both..

AEM water/meth kit..NO REGRETS!!

honestly it makes a HUGE difference once tuned properly..

meth also is half the price and lasts more than twice as long as a gallon of toluene..

meth also keeps EGTs low and prevents detonation which is very common with subarus..

i also run Toluene now and then whenever i feel like enjoying the car..and this also makes a bigggg difference too..but i think its bad if yuh leave toluene in yuh tank for too long..

Glitch

Postby Glitch » October 6th, 2011, 9:38 am

Have u run both together? if yes how did the car respond?

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » October 6th, 2011, 7:11 pm

Glitch wrote:With water/meth you would need a retune as your afr will get alot richer.

What are the negatives if you dont tune?

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » October 6th, 2011, 8:00 pm

well i run both and the car runs really good..

with the meth alone car runs nice..but once i add toluene its a totally different story, its alot more aggresive...

But i guess it all according to the tune..my AFR at max boost reads at about 11.0 - 11.3.

with the toluene the car runs a bit richer and AFR at max boost goes down to high 10s

Glitch

Postby Glitch » October 10th, 2011, 8:36 am

hmmm Interesting.....I hadda try that...lol

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 10th, 2011, 11:42 am

Willing to try the Toluene first on this tune.
Where to get a reliable supply? Looking for it in gallons.

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » October 10th, 2011, 6:56 pm

toluene..check Sidken Racing in Deigo..

retails for around $65/gallon..however i spoke to him before and he said its not wise to have it sitting around home for too long..
also i don't think you should run the Toluene all the time in your car..

Return to “SUBARU”