No PANG, but fupfupfupfup.;

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Tile Expression Ltd.

Re: No PANG, but fupfupfupfup.;

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » November 12th, 2011, 1:22 pm

lardssss coppers and jada..allyuh take it down nah..lol

Postby Monk BANzai » November 14th, 2011, 1:36 pm

another question....what is the normal oil pressure for the Legacy? is 10psi too low at idle?.... I know.the rule of thumb was 10psi for every 1000 rpm.

Thus, is 10 psi at idle was acceptible, along with 60 psi at redline?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » November 14th, 2011, 2:12 pm

Wouldn't oil pressure also depend on the viscosity of oil being used?

Postby Monk BANzai » November 14th, 2011, 2:54 pm

i know...been reading all kinds of stuff...i currently use AMSoil 10w30.....

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » November 14th, 2011, 3:09 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:i know...been reading all kinds of stuff...i currently use AMSoil 10w30.....

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 14th, 2011, 3:11 pm

@Banzai
Oil pressure:
Standard:
98 kPa (1.0 kgf/cm2, 14 psi) or more (At 600
rpm)
588 kPa (6.0 kgf/cm2, 85 psi) or more (At
6,000 rpm)
CAUTION:
• If the oil pressure is out of specification,
check oil pump, oil filter and lubrication line.
<Ref. to LU(H4DOTC)-18, INSPECTION, Engine
Lubrication System Trouble in General.>
• If the oil pressure warning light is turned to
ON and oil pressure is within specification, replace
the oil pressure switch. <Ref. to
LU(H4DOTC)-18, INSPECTION, Engine Lubrication
System Trouble in General.>
NOTE:
The specified value is based on an engine oil temperature
of 80°C (176°F).

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 14th, 2011, 3:15 pm

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » November 14th, 2011, 3:26 pm

^^But I am going to take a gander that you did NOT use 30W oil.

Why?

Postby Monk BANzai » November 14th, 2011, 8:00 pm

so 10psi is too low then?....but i been running at 10psi at idle since the rebuild with no issues....

Glitch

Postby Glitch » November 15th, 2011, 7:31 am

hmmm on my STi I am at 20 psi on idle and i use 20w50 AMSoil

My mechanic (bird) said below 20 psi is bad...not sure if he means that just for STi's...I will find out for what he says for the legacy

Postby 16 cycles » November 15th, 2011, 8:27 am

...interesting....

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » November 15th, 2011, 11:36 am

Banzai...10W 30 u say dude..why tempt fate man

Postby Monk BANzai » November 17th, 2011, 11:26 am

Glitch wrote:hmmm on my STi I am at 20 psi on idle and i use 20w50 AMSoil

My mechanic (bird) said below 20 psi is bad...not sure if he means that just for STi's...I will find out for what he says for the legacy

Yeah Glitch..confirm..imma about to do some addons on it and I dont want oil pressure being an issue....

Postby 16 cycles » December 15th, 2011, 6:16 pm

was rummaging through some of the archives on camera phone...below are some pics of parts i used in a re-build of a 02 sti ra bottom end....hope the part numbers help...

crank

part number

rods

oil pump

wami kit

model number on pump

not sure the progress in the re-build but good luck...

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 15th, 2011, 6:41 pm

Thanks bud.
Looking at refreshing a EJ207 block with some STI parts as I'm not seeking >350WHP/TQ
gearbox will be installed one time as car is down.

Will take some pics of the original damage as the swami operates.
-n

Lance

Postby Lance » December 16th, 2011, 10:12 am

Vexx Dog,

Any investigation as to the actual cause of the failure?

I'm curious to know given the circumstances

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 16th, 2011, 11:21 am

We'll investigate it when the old motor is opened up.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 17th, 2011, 4:13 pm

Engine out.
Found the problem, lol.

Conrod shattered and fscked the block royally. hole on one side, the other have a nice shatter spot.
got pieces of a rod in the sump. Pieces no biger than a 1/4 inch or so

Plan:
EJ207 semi closed block, reusing crank and rods from the sti donor (maybe oil pump too)

new forged pistons and rings
new bearings
new timing belt, even though I changed that last year, pulleys still good, reusing that.

dumping old prosport toose gauges, need accuracy and reliability on a decent budget so I'm going with some AEM analogs, provided TunerImports has em.

will update as progress is made

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » December 19th, 2011, 10:44 pm

Cool stuff Vexx!

Postby 16 cycles » December 20th, 2011, 7:50 pm

kudos to OP for sharing the exp.....

good luck on rebuild

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » December 23rd, 2011, 12:25 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Engine out.
Found the problem, lol.

Conrod shattered and fscked the block royally. hole on one side, the other have a nice shatter spot.
got pieces of a rod in the sump. Pieces no biger than a 1/4 inch or so

what caused the rod to break though?
How does the rod bearing look? Are they still in good shape?
The only other thing I could think of right now that could cause rod failure is a bad tune... someone mentioned you were rocking a VF39? Was the tune aggressive?
I think you should figure out what caused the rod to break before building something else so you dont repeat the same problem again...

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:another question....what is the normal oil pressure for the Legacy? is 10psi too low at idle?.... I know.the rule of thumb was 10psi for every 1000 rpm.

Thus, is 10 psi at idle was acceptible, along with 60 psi at redline?

I think 10psi is very low...

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 23rd, 2011, 7:06 am

I have a vf37, but this tune is very conservative and a lot of fail safes are programmed into the viper ecu.
I doubt it was tune, base tune was done on dyno and a lot of street tuning and logging was done using wide and and a very competent tuner.

I haven't been down to the garage in a few days but based on my discussions with my mechanic, we identified when the mechanical failure happened. 2-3 km before the engine blew, i got a harsh shudder, which I initially thought was a spot of bad gas...I didn't hear any knock, so I proceeded normally. It may have been oil pump failure or bearing failure or something so. When I check him we'll chat some more.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 23rd, 2011, 7:07 am

firetruck iPad autocorrect

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 4th, 2012, 5:49 pm

Spoke with the mech over the phone today
pistons showed no signs of detonation, two valves on #4 are bent badly.

Other than that, the heads appear to be fine.

I'm heading to the garage later this week, will take some pics if everything isnt shoved into the rubbish pile by then.

Samiir_Tuner

Postby Samiir_Tuner » January 10th, 2012, 2:44 am

@banzai, sometimes oil pressure can differ by where your sender is and also your oil filter.
vexx acl bearings and arp studs are a must so im glad u already planned for that

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 12th, 2012, 8:02 am

Alright.
A clean 207 block is impossible to locate, and I'm not risking building a wrx or fozz block.
The ones that I do manage to find, the owners wanna sell me heads and block, some of them damaged for 15K.

firetrucking madness.
gonna order the 2.5 STI block. brand new.
I'll update again in soon.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » January 13th, 2012, 2:52 pm

Dont give up the search... I would keep looking for a 207 block...

Postby Monk BANzai » January 13th, 2012, 9:00 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Alright.
A clean 207 block is impossible to locate, and I'm not risking building a wrx or fozz block.
The ones that I do manage to find, the owners wanna sell me heads and block, some of them damaged for 15K.

firetrucking madness.
gonna order the 2.5 STI block. brand new.
I'll update again in soon.

my block still available eh.....lemme know....and fast cuz i looking to rebuild the second engine in a bit...

Samir..i think your response making most sense so far..its like the temperature sending unint for the water temp....

will investiquire some more....

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 13th, 2012, 9:03 pm

thanks rover, but the deed is done.
EJ257 order pon the inside.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 14th, 2012, 3:55 am

Check PM....

Return to “SUBARU”