Page 1 of 2

Gauges?

Posted: December 2nd, 2011, 9:48 pm
by VexXx Dogg
Looking for some gauges.
Anyone care to share their experience with brands/accuracy?

Prosport=TOOSE. I have a set on my car and they never worked properly.

Looking for something electric, preferably close to the OE colours of the LGT. (black bg, white digits, red dial)

willing to sacrifice theme for accuracy, and midrange price.

Re: Gauges?

Posted: December 4th, 2011, 8:25 pm
by Samiir_Tuner
in terms of accuracy and quality it seems as though AEM is holding up pretty well..i have prosport oil press and temp in my car and the oil press doesnt work after a year. but everyone i know with AEM is still going strong..i recently got my boost and afr aem so i cant vouch just yet

Posted: December 4th, 2011, 8:35 pm
by VexXx Dogg
Was looking at these too.
The digital series right?

Thanks Samir.

Posted: December 4th, 2011, 9:41 pm
by Samiir_Tuner
yea the digital series..i got spoiled with the digital numbers..much easier to look at. here is a pic of mine
i dont know why the cam cut out the numbers lol..i guess the glare
and i still had the plastic on in that pic. but u can see how nice it blends in..not too fancy

Posted: December 4th, 2011, 9:53 pm
by Monk BANzai
Autobahn 88's

got them from Shift Performance in Arima. Have them since June and ZERO issues... in fact the water temperature is more accurate than the in car-temp guage.

Guages come with an option of color combinations. I chose the white back lit with red needle to suit the LGT's other gauges...and it does the same intro sweep as the LGT.....suits it perfectly...

Paid (at the time) $2,200 for Oil Pressure, Boost and Water Temp Gauge set. Comes with the "Defi style" mounting pods and stands for varying space applications.

Im thinking of getting an Exhaust Temp and Fuel Pressure Guage as well....

Posted: December 4th, 2011, 9:56 pm
by SR
cost of a oil pressure and a boost just like yours???? :)

Posted: December 4th, 2011, 10:33 pm
by Monk BANzai
Call Dwain @ 689.9702. Give him my name as the reference.

Posted: December 4th, 2011, 10:43 pm
by VexXx Dogg
Thanks guys, I'll have to read up on these.

Posted: December 5th, 2011, 1:28 am
by Lance
I'm also looking for gauges.

my wrx came with 3 prosport gauges (oil pressure, boost, narrowband a/f and volt). NONE work properly. Oil pressure always reading 100%, the boost is malfunctioning (even tricked me once in thinking I was underboosting), the voltmeter digits are also scrambled.

Shift Quoted me $800 for a one of the Autobhan88's (oil pressure, water temp and Boost).

Actually he showed me the ones in your vehicle Banzai. They look sleek, I like them a lot.

Posted: December 5th, 2011, 9:30 am
by Monk BANzai
then theres the defi gauges. This is from Pornie's Evo 8..

they are Defi though,so pluck that money tree in the back yard....

Posted: December 5th, 2011, 11:13 am
by DSM_05
VexXx Dogg wrote:Thanks guys, I'll have to read up on these.

I've been told that both the Autobahn88's and the Prosports are made by the same company.

So if the OP doesn't want Prosport....well......its up to him.

Posted: December 5th, 2011, 1:09 pm
by Monk BANzai
^^^.... heard the same. I have a colleague that bought Prosport around the same time i got mine and he wanna pelt them through the window nao.....

you may want to try this as well OP.

http://www.striracing-usa.com/pro_d_e.htm

Posted: December 5th, 2011, 1:11 pm
by DSM_05
^Wham......men doh use Sunpro dong here orrrr?

http://www.sunpro.com/product_detail.php?pid=16432

Posted: December 5th, 2011, 5:31 pm
by Lance
I've been looking at Glowshift as well.

Any one has any experience with them?

Posted: December 5th, 2011, 6:10 pm
by Monk BANzai
never heard of Sunpro b4....

Posted: December 6th, 2011, 6:50 am
by DSM_05
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:never heard of Sunpro b4....

Pfft. At this rate you'll say you never heard of Autometer?

Sunpro has been on the scene for AGES...mainly for the muscle car group. Solid gauges.

Posted: December 6th, 2011, 9:37 am
by wagonrunner
Lance wrote:I've been looking at Glowshift as well.
Any one has any experience with them?

they work.

i have the tach w/ shiftlight. happy with it.
know some other folk who has water temp / oil pressure and it's the same what is seen via the diagnostic port.

one point to note. connect according to their instructions. a jackass of an electrician said "nah that can't be right", and blew some of the colors in a multicolor gauge.

Posted: December 6th, 2011, 9:39 am
by Monk BANzai
DSM_05 wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:never heard of Sunpro b4....

Pfft. At this rate you'll say you never heard of Autometer?

Sunpro has been on the scene for AGES...mainly for the muscle car group. Solid gauges.

zeenments!!

*man buff meh yes...

Posted: December 6th, 2011, 12:16 pm
by Samiir_Tuner
lol the ajp shop car has a sunpro oil press gauge since day one in 07 and it still going strong lol

Posted: December 6th, 2011, 3:52 pm
by VexXx Dogg
who is the local AEM dealer?

Posted: December 6th, 2011, 6:57 pm
by Lance
Did you check out the autometer Z series?

It seems to be a cheap option.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/AUTOMETER-Z-SER ... 3c9a754385

http://www.ebay.com/itm/AUTOMETER-Z-SER ... 483281da08

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Autometer-5701- ... 3a5d0baa8c

The boost gauge in this line is mechanical though...The others electrical

Posted: December 6th, 2011, 7:55 pm
by copper_shot
D&D in bamboo has a used set of DEFIs

-accurate
-can record runs
-peak and warning alarms

i guessing probably around 4500. for the set, about 4 or 5 guages

Posted: December 17th, 2011, 1:45 am
by Monk BANzai
what was ur final decision OP?

Posted: December 17th, 2011, 8:18 am
by VexXx Dogg

Posted: December 18th, 2011, 8:34 am
by Lance
Nice, Those look sweet

I'm going to try the Autometer Z series. I just got a paypal invoice from the seller, $169.00 shipped in the US for the 3 gauges (Water temp, Oil Pressure, Boost).

I'll also let you guys know how those work.

Posted: December 22nd, 2011, 6:58 pm
by VexXx Dogg
Got these from tuner Imports.

very satisfied with price and build quality of the gauge units as well as the sensors.
I also love the fact that it was shipped with both black and a white backing, as well as a silver+black bezel.

Got the autometer 2204 cups to mount em on the dash

will post a pic or review after I install - during the engine rebuild.

Posted: December 22nd, 2011, 11:57 pm
by belalegosi
My 2c:
Stay away from glow shift gauges, they're just cheap junk. I have a friend who had a glowshift wideband and oil pressure. He warrantied the wideband twice and each time glowshift kept sending him new units. All were defective.
The oil pressure seemed to work. Had no way of really testing the actual oil pressure though.
Sunpro isnt any better. Sunpro is junk you would find in the local parts store for the high school kids who wanna "sports up" their car.

I really liked my aem wideband gauge. Only reason I sold it is because the Innovate LC1 was better suited for tuning/datalogging. The innovate also has more features.

For the non critical gauges I rock autometer. Never had a problem with them. They're nothing fancy and not too rough on the wallet.
Defis are awesome.

Posted: December 23rd, 2011, 12:03 am
by stikid09
defi bf series are really good
the colors match the subaru dash too

Posted: December 28th, 2011, 8:25 pm
by fafrumlosin
i initially wanted to get the aem in a full line as i run boost, water and oil temp and oil press to monitor but couldnt get at the time. i ended up with autometer sport comp and used while leds to illuminate them...they dont match the sti gauges but it looks cool i am looking for an electric fuel pressure if anyone knows where have available. they really arent the flashiest but the sure do work well.

Posted: December 31st, 2011, 2:19 pm
by Samiir_Tuner
cant go wrong with aem. good choice