Saturday, May 18th, 2013

- It is currently Sat May 18, 2013 7:23 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

EVO III Monster
 Post subject: WTK STi Exhaust
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2011 11:21 am 

how come the 05 STi dont rumble like the older model onez?

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

 Post subject: Re: WTK STi Exhaust
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2011 12:34 pm 

Has to do with the exhaust manifold design for efficiency.
Older sti's and recent WRX's came with a single scroll setup with an unequal length manifold.
Your STI has equal length manifold and a twinscroll turbo. It does not rumble like the older scoobys, but it sounds awesome with a proper exhaust.

EVO III Monster
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2011 4:29 pm 

ok thanks
so if i get the unequal length headers i would get the rumble then.

i installed a full 3.5 inch stainless steel exhaust already but i wha the rumble..lol

PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2011 4:43 pm 

It wont work properly and you will lose a lot of performance!
Talk to barry, he can give you some options, but I thought you wanna leave this one stock

Jimbo
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:03 am 

RICE lol!

Romany
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:17 am 

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Has to do with the exhaust manifold design for efficiency.
Older sti's and recent WRX's came with a single scroll setup with an unequal length manifold.
Your STI has equal length manifold and a twinscroll turbo. It does not rumble like the older scoobys, but it sounds awesome with a proper exhaust.

Correct! I recall seeing a legacy switching to a single scroll setup from a twinscroll but I very much doubt you want to do that with your STi just to rumble...