TriniTuner.com  |  Latest Event:  

Forums

Subaru Parts/Maintenance $?

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Moderator: 3ne2nr Mods

gboson
Street 2NR

Subaru Parts/Maintenance $?

Postby gboson » November 22nd, 2013, 11:09 pm

Hey tuners, looking at purchasing my first subby and the general consensus seems to indicate that parts for these vehicles are quite costly. Moreover I'm hearing mixed reviews regarding the actual reliability of some ranging from 'rel strain boi, doh buy ah scooby at all' to 'parts expensive, doh get yourself in Dat'. How true are these accusations? (I'm fairly new to the car arena) Two possible purchase options are a wrx conversion and a stock sti atm.

spirited721
Trinituner Peong

Re: Subaru Parts/Maintenance $?

Postby spirited721 » November 22nd, 2013, 11:31 pm

If you new to d scene break out with ah Nissan. You could do all sorts of things with a Nissan...

Grudge
Sweet on this forum

Postby Grudge » November 23rd, 2013, 7:15 am

I always believe if yuh buying a turbo car, buy it how it came stock from factory, stay away from the conversion thing, especially with the Subarus.

turbonator
Chronic TriniTuner

Postby turbonator » November 23rd, 2013, 9:56 pm

I recently bought a spec B legacy and so far I can say that smaller suspension parts such as front cradle bushings, ball joints, inner and outer tie rod ends are fairly reasonable, and this is oem subaru FYI. I had a P11 before and the equivalent oem suspension components would cost about 4 to 5 times as much. I believe that the price for 'parts' for routine maintenance is not too bad but the bigger ticket items eg. foreign used engines, transmissions, gearboxes, diffs will be a different story. Probably someone with some more experience and chime in...

gboson
Street 2NR

Postby gboson » November 24th, 2013, 12:27 am