Subaru ts engine options?

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Subaru ts engine options?

Postby Ted_v2 » April 27th, 2014, 6:14 am

From what I gather the easiest swap into a ts or a imprezza is a gc8 Wrx with 5 speed swap. Easy electrical and basic mechanical

But what about something else?
Like a earlier 2002 - 2004. Bugeye or blob eye swap.
I was reading and it's saying that I'll need to buy the swap with the key fob or something like that.
Is there a way around this?

Like using a gc8 electrical with just the later model mechanicals?

Also would I get the open source software to work on the gc8 swap? With the tatrix cable.

Re: Subaru ts engine options?

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 27th, 2014, 6:16 am

Gc8 require a management. You cannot flash the ecu

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » August 27th, 2014, 7:46 am

if u going that way its best u buy a front cut and u will have everything u need

Postby Ted_v2 » November 1st, 2014, 9:32 pm

Quick question. Besides the power fc. What can tune a gc8?

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 1st, 2014, 9:53 pm

Full management

ramfab2000

Postby ramfab2000 » November 2nd, 2014, 12:59 pm

Check out scoobytnt.com there is thread about conversions and would get all your questions answered :)

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » November 2nd, 2014, 1:05 pm

Halteck

Postby Ted_v2 » November 2nd, 2014, 1:37 pm

Was on scoobytnt but ,I believe people there keep info to themselves and hardly share info and opinions.

I'll try again
Last edited by Ted_v2 on November 3rd, 2014, 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 2nd, 2014, 4:27 pm

tsoc is a waste of time.....cocky mofos who have no technical backups for their claims and beat up when you prove them wrong....

give ryan a call, 6895226, tell him aaron with the black hawke eye gave you the number
he is the tuner behind my car...he would give you the options you have since he tuned multiple gc8s.

air wick

Postby air wick » November 2nd, 2014, 6:36 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:tsoc is a waste of time.....cocky mofos who have no technical backups for their claims and beat up when you prove them wrong....

give ryan a call, 6895226, tell him aaron with the black hawke eye gave you the number
he is the tuner behind my car...he would give you the options you have since he tuned multiple gc8s.

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » November 2nd, 2014, 8:22 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Was on scoobytnt but ,I believe people their keep much info to themselves and hardly share info and opinions.

I'll try again
i taught was only me felt that way

Postby black start » November 2nd, 2014, 8:47 pm

SUPERMAN2 wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:Was on scoobytnt but ,I believe people their keep much info to themselves and hardly share info and opinions.

I'll try again
i taught was only me felt that way

Allyuh naive if allyuh feel tuner much different....

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » November 2nd, 2014, 11:28 pm

Here have real imps too but it have a couple of genuine men who all about cars and does offer good advice

Lance

Postby Lance » November 3rd, 2014, 2:25 pm

Ironic that the same TSOC guys that getting bashed are the same ones that prop up this Subaru Forum with technical content, usually under different usernames.

ramfab2000

Postby ramfab2000 » November 3rd, 2014, 3:53 pm

Lance wrote:Ironic that the same TSOC guys that getting bashed are the same ones that prop up this Subaru Forum with technical content, usually under different usernames.

^^soooooo true :D

Postby tr1ad » November 3rd, 2014, 5:01 pm

Lolololol

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » November 3rd, 2014, 6:08 pm

I find men here alot more forth coming with info
For example men like Lance /Aaron real give me advise on my build it had a few other guys who help me out with some good info and i got that here not on the other forum
I also used igotasti.com

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » November 4th, 2014, 10:23 am

Just completed my 4th WRX conversion on a TS so I can answer pretty much anything you want lol

All conversions were done with "newer" models, Bugeye and Peanut eye (2002-2005) to maintain overall function and value of the car.

Guessing you have a Singapore TS (flared fender, 1.6L) and want to go with 2.0 AWD Turbo setup like everyone else. If that's the case, then I will suggest you get a Singapore WRX conversion. It will make your life less of a hassle and you will get EVERYTHING in your car working like OEM.

If not, you can go with a JDM conversion but it will involve some more work to get it done right, not impossible, but will just take a little more effort.

Personally I have never done the GC8 swap so I cannot vouch for the ease or practicality. If you have ANY questions let me know either on this thread, PM or call.

As most of you know, I do sell Subaru parts but I also give people free advice and will let you know who has what if I don't have or cannot bring it in myself.

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » November 4th, 2014, 10:29 am

To answer a few of your questions, Singapore cars use a chipped key immobiliser system so if you're going with a Singapore WRX setup, you will NEED the ignition with key, ECU, Immobiliser control box and gauge cluster. However, the JDM setup (until late 2005-2006) does not have this so you can keep your existing Key and ignition setup, no need to swap key fobs.

The mechanicals are very similar and will all bolt in pretty straight forward. Even if your car is FWD the Subaru chassis is designed for AWD so the most you will have to do is swap the fuel tank out. So you can run the GC8 engine but use the later models gearbox, diff, suspension etc.

Regards to tuning, the GC8 will need a full management whereas the later models can be flashed and tuned via any reputable local tuner (up to a limit of course)

Postby Ted_v2 » November 4th, 2014, 5:47 pm

Much thanks .I'll pm you tomorrow all the questions I have for you.

ramfab2000

Postby ramfab2000 » November 6th, 2014, 3:57 am

SUPERMAN2 wrote:I find men here alot more forth coming with info
For example men like Lance /Aaron real give me advise on my build it had a few other guys who help me out with some good info and i got that here not on the other forum
I also used igotasti.com

Mmmmmmmm...good examples :lol:

DavetoExtreme

Postby DavetoExtreme » January 10th, 2015, 2:58 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:tsoc is a waste of time.....cocky mofos who have no technical backups for their claims and beat up when you prove them wrong....

:lol: :lol: :drinking:

redrum

Postby redrum » February 22nd, 2016, 4:36 pm

Guys what about the EL 15 engines that come in the 2008-2011 impreza GH2/GH3. This engine is very hard to source source, what is an easy replacement for this? Can the EJ 15 work? What about the EJ20?

Return to “SUBARU”