Monday, May 20th, 2013

- It is currently Sun May 19, 2013 8:55 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 10:53 pm 

i know plenty ppl does wonder what's the difference or differences between these two models..... so here are the differences:

The improvements by Subaru Tecnica International are directed towards the racing enthusiast crowd. The improved features over the standard WRX are:

~ Manual transmission only
~ Modified body aerodynamics (Including a significantly larger rear spoiler)
~ Larger Hood Scoop
~ Intercooler spray
~ 2.5L Engine (Compared to 2.0L)
~ 300HP (vs. 227)
~ Driver Controlled Center Differential
~ Larger disc brakes
~ High Intensity Discharge headlights
~ Interior improvements (steering wheel, racing seats)

The STI is the only new Impreza not being produced with a San Remo Red body paint option.

The STI is the only Subaru with a handbrake that disconnects the center differential for reduced driveline stress, a feature used often in Rally racing.

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subaru_Impreza_WRX_STi

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

mrlantra
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 11:40 pm 

Also add removal of Stereo and AC ( they are options not standard ) new forged pistons and rods to.

BTW you can get the STI in 2.0 or 2.5 depending on country, the 2.5 is American spec.

pyromaniax
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 12:39 am 

kool kool

Silvermike
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:18 am 

the WRX interior is the same... seats, shifter, pedals etc?

InDeForest
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 3:53 am 

That is yankee specs eh, but yeah.
An STI comes with AC and stereo, only on the Spec C/Type RA, it those are left out

God Bless the Black Top*
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 4:12 am 

what about the suspension? is it the same on both models? i thought the STi came with subaru technica developed suspension and the WRX is just standard?

R. Mutt
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 6:14 am 

Yea this list seems a bit vague...where InDeForest? I think they run the same turbo...which would real tief my head why one makes so much more than the other. (I'm referring to the JDM models not the US)

Last edited by R. Mutt on Fri Nov 04, 2005 6:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

R. Mutt
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 6:15 am 

I was just reading up on scoobies and learn't that the early models used Mitsubishi's TDO5H turbos :lol:

daNdAdDa
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 6:58 am 

^^u want a price do0o0d :? :? :? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 7:19 am 

i have ah magazine bout all the differences ill try an scan some pages an put dem up...it a really good read...shows the difference wit the engines etc..
comparing the sti rs an wrx

Aaron Achan Photography ©
www.aaronachan.com

Mini
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 7:39 am 

http://english.auto.vl.ru/catalog/subaru/impreza_wrx/2002_11/

too much for me to post now

but that site lists all the options and standard specifications of the JDM versions i.e. what we would get here RORO

InDeForest
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:51 am 

WRX up to 1996 = MHI TD05 turbo, not the same evo one it spins the opposite way
All WRX wagons ever = MHI TD04
WRX since 1997 = MHI TD04

STI WRX'ss have used many different IHI ball bearing turbos over the years, VF22, 23, 24, 28, 30, 34, 39, singe scrolls , twin scrolls etc, depending on year, market, and specific model type.

STI suspension is stiffer with higher damping than a WRX sedan, generally sits about an inch lower i think.
A WRX wagon has suspension about a half inch taller all around than a WRX sedan, and stiffer springs in the back, for the wagon weight.
to complicate matters further, there were STI wagons also.. but..i dunno their suspension details.

InDeForest
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:59 am 

Mini your link above, the three STI models mentioned would be

standard road going STI WRX sedan, full options and comforts, mostly what you see down here
Type RA, lightweight version with thinner glass, no AC and stereo, power windows etc (or at best optional)
Type RA, same thing but with smaller brakes all around, and 16" rims, in anticipation of stripping for rallying, think of an Evo RS equivalent, rare item

Stixer7
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 12:31 pm 

not to mention price

Alpha_2nr
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 8:37 am 

Quote:
2.5L Engine (Compared to 2.0L)
~ 300HP (vs. 227)

Thats just for the USDM cars only. The JDM WRX and WRX STi both carry 2.0L engines. However, the STi version makes around 280 bhp.

God Bless the Black Top*
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 11:33 am 

is the spec C the type RA as well? or is there just a Spec C Type RA as well? subaru thanks for confusing my sheit up.

Val
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 11:53 am 

Both WRX and STi come with Brembos?

What's the price range for both like?

casper
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 5:55 pm 

hmmmm....i didnt really know d difference between the both yuh know...except dat one was faster dan d other...thanks for the info ripp...seems like u really want dat wrx

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:42 pm 

casper wrote:
...thanks for the info ripp...seems like u really want dat wrx

nah i good... thanks

bleedingfreak
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 8:02 pm 

What about gear ratios? Wouldn't the WRX and RA have different grs?

And no Ididn't read the link :!:

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:

InDeForest
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 11:36 pm 

There are alot of differences, to be honest, but the format and feature level is the same, the STI only has upgraded components over a WRX, the only thing a STI has that a WRX does not have at all is intercooler waterspray, oh and DCCD center diff control.
A modern STI version will generally have

ball bearing vs sleeve bearing turbo
higher boost
6 speed box with DCCD center diff
front LSD (all awd subies have rear LSD)
larger rear diff
more agressive cams
hotter ECU tuning
larger intercooler
larger injectors
aluminum vs steel control arms
lower stiffer springs
stiffer shocks
racier fitted seats
intercooler waterspray
brembo brakes with larger rotors

thats about it

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:37 am 

Quote:

in the USDM the wrx comes with some large subaru brakes painted red..not sure about the JDM

Alpha_2nr
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:07 pm 

^^The current USDM WRX ('05/'06) comes with the Subaru 4pot/2pot Rally brakes. These are not normally found in JDM cars...they tend to use the regualr sliding caliper brakes. However, the Subaru 4 pot / 2 pot brakes were first used on the GC8 STi (prior to brembos), and were available as an upgrade to the UK/SDM/JDM WRX. They came in either a red finish, or bluish/black, with the word "Subaru" painted on them.

Quote:
aluminum vs steel control arms

Acutally I beg to differ. The WRX (from '02 onwards) came with Aluminium control arms (I've checked this myself).

InDeForest
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 3:04 pm 

Actually yeah youre right, even foresters have them now, but its been a difference from the first STI models until recently.
But youre wrong about the brakes.
The JDM WRX have been getting 4/2pot setups since 01, yes there are a few rolling around with the 2/1 sliding setup but those are freaks or have been modified, prior to that they had a 4/1 pot setups since 98, STI's had the 4/2.
US models had sliding calipers till 05, when they got red 4/2 setups.
I could write the whole evolution of every market brake setup but, its confusing, and no one is going to remember anything i write, since i have been repeating myself on every topic for years.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:58 pm 

Quote:
since i have been repeating myself on every topic for years.

lol you do..had this topic in the car park forum a while back

Zh@ne
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 8:36 pm 

Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time
Maserati wrote:
Quote:

in the USDM the wrx comes with some large subaru brakes painted red..not sure about the JDM

doesn't the JDM brembos come in a goldish colour???

InDeForest
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 8:48 pm 

the Brembos are gold, the subaru calipers are black, and recently, red. Those calipers are similar to the nissan 300zx ones, must be done by the same manufacturer (same pad too)

turbonator
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 9:14 pm 

Is nissan and subaru connected in any way?

InDeForest
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 9:47 pm 

Not that I know of, but of course they often have parts made by common japanese factories and suppliers, so sometimes youll see some parts crossing over or having a similarity, for example, subaru and nissan probably hired the same company to supply opposing piston calipers for them, so one has a Nissan cast into the body, one has Subaru and they look a bit different, but they may have the same internals and use the same brake pad. Another example, Mitsubishi heavy industries makes the turbochargers subaru uses, some engine belts too, many sensors are made by bosch. Nissan, mitsu, subaru all buy brakes from Brembo (italian company) and have OEM seats from recaro (italian company, often the seats do not bear the recaro logo anywhere).
The bottom line is that any car manufacturer does NOT make all the parts for the cars, and they end up sharing many sources of those outsourced parts.

cacasplat3
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:35 am 

not sure but, dosent all 2006 model STI's come 2.5l now? USDM and JDM :?:

usually the way i recognize a new (2002 or so) WRX from a flair up TS is looking at the brakes. calipers in the back that arent brembo (whether 2 pot or single) means WRX, drums: TS
:wink:

i've read that the STI seats are recaro's, but who makes the WRX seats?