WTK: Info about Subaru Foresters

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 9th, 2006, 4:06 am

Rx wrote:CRV ..... 16 mpg :shock:

Forester .....21 mpg :)

CR-V with a 5.0L V8 swap or wha? :?

Rx

Postby Rx » July 9th, 2006, 10:44 am

nope :evil:

RD4 ....... non ivtec ......older models :?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 9th, 2006, 12:10 pm

^^^^ as meh maths lecturer put it: honda is japaneese trash. :mrgreen:

aye so how much for ah 2005/6 sti forester? around 200g's? or more? and wah is the differences, other than the brembo's, when compared to other turbo models of the same year?

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » July 9th, 2006, 5:17 pm

6 speed manual, 18" rims, brembos, 2.5l turbo rated 260bhp, lower stiffer suspension. different interior, bodykit etc.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 9th, 2006, 8:11 pm

^^^^ price man, i have to know what company to work with for meh first year. that could make the difference between buying ah xt or sti. :mrgreen:

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » July 9th, 2006, 9:56 pm

I dont think there are any in trinidad yet, dont ask me about pricing im not a car salesman.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 10th, 2006, 12:26 am

Rx wrote:nope :evil:

LOL thats funny because I have one of those, as well as the Forester and I can personally vouch that the CR-V is much more fuel efficient. When it comes to fuel economy you really can't beat a Honda/Toyota 8-)
When it comes to pure unadulterated blistering fun IN A SUV/WAGON/WHATEVER A FORESTER IS in Trinidad, you just can't beat the Forester. 8-)

Rx

Postby Rx » July 10th, 2006, 6:48 am

InDeForest wrote:I dont think there are any in trinidad yet, dont ask me about pricing im not a car salesman.

lol............ :lol: :lol:

JIMBO .......... I always heard that the CRV was very high on gas consumption :?

FORESTER rules :twisted:

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 10th, 2006, 8:42 am

lol well hearsay will be hearsay but a Honda is still a Honda :)
Nice rainy day for all the AWD men, have fun :D

Z Tourer vtec

Postby Z Tourer vtec » July 10th, 2006, 10:34 am

Rx wrote:nope :evil:

Thats going to be "RD2" older model, non vtec. Those do guzzle gas, but not as much as a Forester!

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 10th, 2006, 6:57 pm

^^^ u have a forester and crv to know?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 12th, 2006, 9:28 am

^^he wukkin RORO dealership so he drives everyting possible :lol:

So Subie men, what turbo am I working with :?:

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » July 12th, 2006, 9:41 am

MHI TD04L usually

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 12th, 2006, 9:46 am

Ah ok cool, I thought it was a Mitsu turbo 8)
Would you recommend a Mechanical Boost gauge or a Electronic one?
I'm guessing electronic since there must already be a signal for it :?:

Z Tourer vtec

Postby Z Tourer vtec » July 12th, 2006, 10:37 am

cacasplat3 wrote:^^^ u have a forester and crv to know?

AND X-trail AND Rav 4 :lol:

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » July 12th, 2006, 10:43 am

MHI = mitsubishi heavy industries, so yes, mitsu turbo
mechanical boost gauge would be fine,
do you have a roro or the N&M?, The roro run about 10psi, and im still not sure what the UK market locals run, but it is less. Actually, steups, i just remembered the UK market models run a smaller turbo, a TF035 with lower boost, thats the models with 177bhp, the JDM with the TD04L and 10psi do 220bhp.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 12th, 2006, 10:57 am

JDM so yeah I figured it should be 10 psi, hopefully the boost gauge install won't be too much of a hassle.
And yeah I figured as much wrt MHI,
Can't really pick up if it was passive tense or assertive on an internet forum I guess :lol:

Oh and for those who bought a gauge used and didn't get the instructiosn with it, check this out:

http://www.egauges.com/AM_Instr.asp

Rx

Postby Rx » July 12th, 2006, 8:42 pm

useful link :)

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 12th, 2006, 9:11 pm

aye ppl i see ah pbp sti2 forester on the papers for sale. 17" bbs rims and some other things, owner wants $125,000
i was like :shock: soo cheap :!:
anyhow i eh have the money to buy it, so i was hoping one ah alluh could buy it and i would ah get ah lil ride :mrgreen:

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 13th, 2006, 3:30 pm

So, have a Autometer Full sweep electrical boost gauge for free...
First question, what does "Full sweep electrical" mean? :?
The install doesn't look too hard, I don't have the T-fitting for the vacuum source though, any idea where I could pick up another?
Oh yeah and whats the best vacuum source to use :?:

nissan-man

Postby nissan-man » March 28th, 2007, 8:40 am

Hey guys....i'm new to this scene...my dad just got a 2003 Subaru Forester 2.0XT....its runs pretty well stock, but it does eat alot of gas thats the only down side. I think i get the same thing as InDeForest.....and i wont mind knowing about this Subaru Club

nissan-man

Postby nissan-man » March 28th, 2007, 8:41 am

that alien real phal the scene dread.....that was supposed to be 2.0 XT

Postby tr1ad » March 28th, 2007, 11:47 am

u joined www.scoobytnt.com as yet?

SNIPER 3000

Re: WTK: Info about Subaru Foresters

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 29th, 2011, 7:29 pm

Ok so i just got a forester cross sport turbo sti.Think 2004 SF5?
Looking to do a full service on it tranny,engine,diffs. plugs anything i missed let me know.Also would like to know the types of oilS to used.

Rx

Postby Rx » May 1st, 2011, 9:45 pm

^^ send me a PM ...

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 2nd, 2011, 9:13 am

Sent the PM.

Return to “SUBARU”