The Mazda 3 thread

MAZDA People United - it continues here

Re: The Mazda 3 thread

Postby Stephon. » April 4th, 2012, 8:17 am

So I dropped off my Mazda to service @5000km and my father came with me to pick it up to check to make sure they did what they said they did and everything was legit. The confusing thing though is the booklet says to service every 5000km but they set my next service at 15000km, is this normal for southern sales?

Postby Stephon. » April 4th, 2012, 8:18 am

I'm actually beginning to be paranoid about this, I'm even wondering if they're trying to void my warranty.

allon4

Postby allon4 » April 10th, 2012, 12:22 pm

Stephon. wrote:I'm actually beginning to be paranoid about this, I'm even wondering if they're trying to void my warranty.

Nah don't worry, that's normal now. They told me that they've upgraded the oil they use so now the servicing only has to be done every 10,000 km. It used to be every 5000 to 6000 km

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » April 11th, 2012, 3:14 pm

An accident outside the Parliament building on Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain, yesterday left a red sports car mounted on the median and the young female driver shaken and crying. The accident occurred at 1.05 pm as the car was headed west along Wrightson Road.

http://guardian.co.tt/news/2012-04-10/w ... parliament

Mazda 3 a sports car? 8-)

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » April 11th, 2012, 3:17 pm

allon4 wrote:
Stephon. wrote:I'm actually beginning to be paranoid about this, I'm even wondering if they're trying to void my warranty.

Nah don't worry, that's normal now. They told me that they've upgraded the oil they use so now the servicing only has to be done every 10,000 km. It used to be every 5000 to 6000 km

Same with mine..they said they used Shell Helix Ultra (full syn) hence the longer interval

Postby Stephon. » April 11th, 2012, 3:18 pm

Ok cool, I get paranoid easily especially after all the hate their servicing gets from the general public :lol:

TechMD

Postby TechMD » April 13th, 2012, 11:52 am

its back to 10,000 because they putting back the oem oil filter. They were using some cheap chinese sheit.

Red Fraction

Postby Red Fraction » May 8th, 2012, 10:59 am

Yow anyone needs brake pads I've got 2 fronts and one rear centric Ceramic posi quiet pads for sale
Asking $500.00 for the one from set "got wet so the package kinda brownish"
& $1000.00 for the next front and rear set
& 1 pair of moog rear endlinks $500.00

Any one interested kindly call michael 759-8266/340-9421

typeя

Postby typeя » May 15th, 2012, 9:07 pm

oem mazda 3 radio anyone??

Postby noshownogo » May 16th, 2012, 8:58 pm

forum member by the name Avi-nash was selling parts from a wrecked Mazda3, he may have the stereo as well.

geodude

Postby geodude » May 20th, 2012, 12:45 pm

ppl i want some info , i know this is the Madza forum and i am in the Mazda 3 thread but give meh ah bligh nah,

so my question is about the NZE corollas, :)

have any of you Mazda 3 dudes owned a NZE corolla or used one for a prolonged period or time?
How does the gas consumption compare between the Mazda 3 and the corolla?
Which has the better gas milage?

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » May 20th, 2012, 10:48 pm

I don't own any but I drove both to know that the mazda revs higher to change gears, Both has VVT. Higher revs is more gas

geodude

Postby geodude » May 21st, 2012, 7:17 am

u know what's sad i had a Mazda 3, 2007 model but i killed it before it got to 1000 km, and of the 1000km i probably put 100 on it, so honestly i cannot say how the gas consumption was, my gf has a NZE 2007 corolla and i use it often and the gas consumption is amazing ( i have a RX8), i also heard the tidia has very good gas consumption (but i no like nissan), i am looking for a grocery getter for everyday errands so i am currently considering a Mazda 3 or a corolla, but i find the corolla very bland inside compared to the Mazda 3, i suppose i might be willing to spend a little more on gas as a compromise for a better interior as this is something that i really appreciate in a vehicle.
This is gonna be a difficult decision, any info for or against one of the vehicles being considered will be appreciated.

Postby cinco » May 21st, 2012, 7:31 am

toyota > mazda in gas consumption
the nze is a crappy car inside and handling wise compared to the 3
but you will be hard to find a car that is comparable on gas consumption

geodude

Postby geodude » May 21st, 2012, 10:08 am

cinco is it a huge consumption difference or a small difference?

Postby S_2NR » May 21st, 2012, 11:41 am

We had a NZE Corolla (2007) and a Mazda 3 (2008) at one pt in time. Corolla is sold now.
Corolla got better gas mileage.

Postby noshownogo » May 21st, 2012, 2:34 pm

I can attest to getting 10km per litre on Super gas, no pinging whatsoever on the 2007 Mazda 3

Postby cinco » May 21st, 2012, 4:05 pm

geodude wrote:cinco is it a huge consumption difference or a small difference?

HUGE
*caveat emptor*
the Mazda 3 is so much more fun to drive that i drove it much more aggressively than the NZE because it feels like it would roll over when i cornered hard.
so that could add to the gap in the gas consumption

Postby Stephon. » May 21st, 2012, 4:09 pm

Recently I've had to fill my tank every 3 days, doing about 70km per day. I used to get 5 days once upon a time though.

Postby S_2NR » May 21st, 2012, 4:16 pm

3 days from full to empty?..wtf

allon4

Postby allon4 » May 21st, 2012, 4:36 pm

Dirty injectors?
I get between 230 to 280 on half a tank depending on how heavy my foot is.

typeя

Postby typeя » May 21st, 2012, 6:18 pm

i access to both cars...nze burns way less thn the mazda 3....the mazda 3 is much more fun though....nze is slow and handles crappy compared to the mazda 3...tiptronic ftw

geodude

Postby geodude » May 22nd, 2012, 8:36 am

i use 3/4 tank of gas to go from penal to uwi and back, 240 to full up :( , can't leave penal with 1/2 tank cause i will not make it back without having to stop at a gas station in north side.

The Mazda 3 thread

Postby S_2NR » May 22nd, 2012, 8:58 am

geodude wrote:i use 3/4 tank of gas to go from penal to uwi and back, 240 to full up :( , can't leave penal with 1/2 tank cause i will not make it back without having to stop at a gas station in north side.

That's in the rx8? :shock:

Postby Stephon. » May 22nd, 2012, 9:04 am

allon4 wrote:Dirty injectors?
I get between 230 to 280 on half a tank depending on how heavy my foot is.

the car is about 5 months old. It just drinks a lot of gas all of a sudden.

Postby Rainman » May 22nd, 2012, 9:26 am

170-175 to fill up premium, mostly highway runs, i get 510-520km. That includes 3 min warmup in the morning and afternoon (yes i know it may not be necessary but i'm ole' skool)

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 22nd, 2012, 9:40 am

the updated nze can get 350kms per half-tank without driving hard and a/c on. Comparing the gen1 mz3 to the nze is a bit unfair since the corolla is 1.5 and the mazda is 1.6. The mazda is a heavier car and revs higher vs the corolla with lower revs, taller gear ratios, lighter car and smaller engine. Toyota and Honda generally make very fuel efficient engines and I don't think mazda has that capability. They're good but not toyota good. The corolla's strength is in a cushier ride and fuel consumption but the mazda's strength is overall design (interior/exterior) which is far superior to the corolla, the mazda's handling alone is much better, surer braking system thanks to much needed larger rotors in front. The mazda overall is a much more sophisticated car than the nze but the corolla also has a bigger back seat and a larger trunk despite having a slightly shorter wheelbase vs the mazda.

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » May 22nd, 2012, 11:39 am

Rainman wrote:170-175 to fill up premium, mostly highway runs, i get 510-520km. That includes 3 min warmup in the morning and afternoon (yes i know it may not be necessary but i'm ole' skool)

$170 gets me around 300km/400km mostly around town. 200/300km with "hard" driving.

Question: how often do you change the transmission fluid ?

My 2008 is doing around 33,000km (I don't drive often or far) I don't think it was ever changed by SS and since the warranty done I don't intend on going back.

Thanks

Postby Rainman » May 22nd, 2012, 12:49 pm

Nasrallah wrote:
Rainman wrote:170-175 to fill up premium, mostly highway runs, i get 510-520km. That includes 3 min warmup in the morning and afternoon (yes i know it may not be necessary but i'm ole' skool)

$170 gets me around 300km/400km mostly around town. 200/300km with "hard" driving.

Question: how often do you change the transmission fluid ?

My 2008 is doing around 33,000km (I don't drive often or far) I don't think it was ever changed by SS and since the warranty done I don't intend on going back.

Thanks

i do a drain and refill every 10-12000 kms

Postby Habit7 » May 22nd, 2012, 2:08 pm

Stephon. wrote:Recently I've had to fill my tank every 3 days, doing about 70km per day. I used to get 5 days once upon a time though.
My wife does 100km a day and gets 4-5 days on a full tank of $170 premium, something wrong with yours.

Return to “MAZDA”