The Mazda 3 thread

MAZDA People United - it continues here

FullStop

Re: The Mazda 3 thread

Postby FullStop » July 6th, 2012, 9:06 am

yeah Groovemaster. The reason I went with the super pros is because they will more than likely outlast a new control arm.

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » July 6th, 2012, 4:21 pm

Who installed them for you?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 6th, 2012, 9:47 pm

my mechanic in chase village, David.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » July 12th, 2012, 10:34 am

anyone know where i can get a front right side wing mirror for an 2007 m3

parked up in the heliport and someone cleared mine away...

and had the audacity to pick it up and run

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 12th, 2012, 2:16 pm

You sure they didnt steal it for the glass? Anyways, on the southbound lane of the highway i think its after cheif on the left, you'll see a teal coloured mazda 3 rear half on a rack. They have plenty mazda 3 parts. You can try there.

Postby cinco » July 12th, 2012, 3:14 pm

ghostbusters wrote:You sure they didnt steal it for the glass? Anyways, on the southbound lane of the highway i think its after cheif on the left, you'll see a teal coloured mazda 3 rear half on a rack. They have plenty mazda 3 parts. You can try there.

ive tried to get in contact with them there is a number on the gate u can try to call but they dont seem to care to sell anything

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 12th, 2012, 5:22 pm

thats the right place, there's a youth man at at the back, the two adjacent yards belong to them, so the kid takes a while to make it outside sometimes...i was only there a couple times though so I cant be sure ...

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » July 13th, 2012, 6:04 pm

based on advice given I've checked the ATF dip stick in my car and its low

I've bought the RedLine from Car boutique, my plan is to do a drain and refill.
Can't find the manual so I guessed and bought 4 quarts. Is this enough ?

Earlier posts mentioned changing the ATF filter, at what mileage should this be changed?

Thanks

Postby Rainman » July 13th, 2012, 10:49 pm

I change the ATF at every other oil change, takes 3 quarts to do a drain and refill. I change the ATF filter every 40k kms.

Postby cinco » July 13th, 2012, 11:43 pm

Rainman wrote:I change the ATF at every other oil change, takes 3 quarts to do a drain and refill. I change the ATF filter every 40k kms.

:shock: :shock: :shock:
sell me yuh car nah

homeboy

Postby homeboy » July 14th, 2012, 12:02 am

Gave the 3 a nice run today on the highway..........nice!!!!

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 14th, 2012, 7:01 pm

right now I'm checkin economy, the radio display says i can get 621 kms on a tank, i have my doubts though...

Postby Rainman » July 14th, 2012, 8:02 pm

cinco wrote:
Rainman wrote:I change the ATF at every other oil change, takes 3 quarts to do a drain and refill. I change the ATF filter every 40k kms.

:shock: :shock: :shock:
sell me yuh car nah

lol, you should hear my other maintenance routines. It will be going up for sale in September if you're still interested, no problem.

konartis

Postby konartis » July 24th, 2012, 9:46 pm

recently bought a mazda3 2005 model from someone and needs to do some fluid changed, ive been a nissan person for some years and bought this mazda...need to change the engine oil & filter/tranny oil....any advice on which to use? the previous owner doesnt knw what the service person used..thanks the car is doing 130K, looking to change the oil and filter first... one thing...when the gear is changing from 1-2 the car dips a little...is that normal? cant explain it...but u feel the change

xNeXuSx

Postby xNeXuSx » July 24th, 2012, 11:17 pm

Amsoil, Redline or Mobile1 10w/30 engine oil (4.5 quarts). Get a good filter and avoid Fram if possible, OEM is good. Redline D4 ATF transmission oil. If you don't know what ATF fluid is being used now, you should probably get a flush and refill (7 quarts).

Not sure about the "dip". Loss of power? Lag? See what happens after the change.

These fellas have alot of useful information in this thread, you should go through the whole thing. Welcome to the club.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 25th, 2012, 12:13 am

konartis wrote:one thing...when the gear is changing from 1-2 the car dips a little...is that normal? cant explain it...but u feel the change

not normal, wrong ATF is being used, you should get it flushed and fill up with redline d4-atf. I noticed the same thing when i was running mobil 1 synthetic after after some miles. Like said above, make sure you use nothing but 10w30 in the car, get the right ATF and you should be good. Also consider changing the powersteering fluid, an often overlooked change that can save you some money in the long run.

konartis

Postby konartis » July 25th, 2012, 6:38 pm

thanks guys...doing all these stuff this weekend...was thinking about changing the power steering fluid also...feels stiff...any advice who does a proper transmission flush and refill in south area? also its just a little lag...and its actually from gears 2-3 when i pull off, i dont mash out...normal driving

Amit

Postby Amit » July 25th, 2012, 6:46 pm

stablizer bar bushing what 's the price?

konartis

Postby konartis » July 25th, 2012, 7:12 pm

http://www.ebay.com/itm/K-N-Oil-Filter- ... 2541wt_905

is this the filter thats is used with the 2005 1.6 mazda3?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 25th, 2012, 7:52 pm

i use the royal purple 10-2808 oil filter, best oil filter on the market.

xNeXuSx

Postby xNeXuSx » July 25th, 2012, 8:24 pm

Recently Rainman said he uses the K&N HP-1004, so yea, works for him.

@ ghostbusters - Do you purchase the RP filters locally pal?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 25th, 2012, 11:09 pm

yeah, purchase them from AWD motorsports in montrose, cost is $105. I used the K&N before these were available.

xNeXuSx

Postby xNeXuSx » July 26th, 2012, 12:22 pm

Thanks. I know the place.

marlon333

Postby marlon333 » July 26th, 2012, 8:55 pm

I need to get Redline D4 ATF, where do you guys get them. I heard people say that they change their power steering fluid regularly. The manual says just to inspect the level. Should I change it? My M3 is doing about 29K.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 27th, 2012, 3:37 pm

no need to change powersteering fluid at 29k, I get the redline d4 atf at car boutique in st. james. tuner imports in charlieville and couple other places, depends on where i am.

marlon333

Postby marlon333 » July 27th, 2012, 6:08 pm

ghostbusters wrote:no need to change powersteering fluid at 29k, I get the redline d4 atf at car boutique in st. james. tuner imports in charlieville and couple other places, depends on where i am.

Where in Charlieville is tuner imports if I'm driving from the Charlieville flyover.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 29th, 2012, 1:12 am

heading south of monroe road flyover tuner imports is on the right oppositte Nicks bread and channa shop. Cant really be more specific, cant remember any landmarks, there's a sign though

marlon333

Postby marlon333 » July 29th, 2012, 7:15 am

ghostbusters wrote:heading south of monroe road flyover tuner imports is on the right oppositte Nicks bread and channa shop. Cant really be more specific, cant remember any landmarks, there's a sign though

Thanks man.

Postby Stephon. » July 29th, 2012, 7:31 am

Guys, I wanna get wing mirrors with the indicators for my Mazda 3, anyone knows where I can get them locally and if they can install it, and if it would void any warranty? 2011 model

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 29th, 2012, 12:40 pm

most likely it will void the warranty unless its an original plug and play setup. It would be best to call the salesman through whom you made your purchase and verify.

Return to “MAZDA”