Page 31 of 80

Re: The Mazda 3 thread

Posted: June 6th, 2012, 8:40 pm
by marlon333
Habit7 wrote:The problem with our Mazda 3 is not the 1.6 litre engine but the retarded 4 speed gearbox. Tiptronic doesn't make it feel any more sporty because before you know it, you are in top gear and your engine bawling or in no time you gear down.

I agree. The Mazda 3 in the US have a 5 speed transmission and it is really much more fun to drive.

Posted: June 13th, 2012, 9:20 pm
by marlon333
I need to change the tires on my car. Anyone know who I can check for a best price.

Posted: June 13th, 2012, 9:35 pm
by wagonrunner
Tire prices went up twice in the last four months. Brace for it.

Posted: June 14th, 2012, 5:20 am
by Stephon.
I heard that Toyo tires are the best, those are the ones that came with mine so I guess I'll be going back with them when the time comes, I see that milage mack sells them so check them

Posted: June 15th, 2012, 6:58 pm
by Strugglerzinc
It's all a matter of which Toyo.

There are some that are absolute rubbish while others are stellar, so be sure to research the particular model tire before you buy.

Same holds for most major brands.

Posted: June 15th, 2012, 7:18 pm
by Stephon.
I got a crack in my windshield :shock:

Not really a crack, just basically a dot, probably a stone hit it, I wonder if they would change it for me at the next service. This car is just bad luck yes, the photocell for the auto headlights are too sensitive, I got in an accident, now the windshield. :lol: Gimme a break!

Posted: June 16th, 2012, 12:53 pm
by noshownogo
I keep the auto headlights off for the same reason. All 7am and my lights on on a sunny morning :?

Posted: June 16th, 2012, 12:56 pm
by allon4
Tint covering the sensor?

Posted: June 16th, 2012, 1:01 pm
by noshownogo
Not mine, tint guy was aware of cars with sensors so he worked around it.

Posted: June 16th, 2012, 1:06 pm
by allon4
I'm usually at work before 7 but a few times my auto lights do turn the lights off if it's bright enough. Sometime if I stop for gas or something the lights stay off. I think they're not sensitive enough and SS doesn't know how to adjust them

Posted: June 18th, 2012, 2:37 pm
by Habit7
marlon333 wrote:I need to change the tires on my car. Anyone know who I can check for a best price.

The Toyo's that came mine were suffering from uneven wear in the rear. I had SS look and it and they said that is a result of inadequate tyre rotation.

I got some Dunlop Direzza DZ101 you can get them of just under $700 and they work great.

Stephon. wrote:I got a crack in my windshield :shock:

Not really a crack, just basically a dot, probably a stone hit it, I wonder if they would change it for me at the next service. This car is just bad luck yes, the photocell for the auto headlights are too sensitive, I got in an accident, now the windshield. :lol: Gimme a break!

Your insurance should take care of it without making a claim against your coverage. Mine cracked at 2 weeks old.

Posted: June 26th, 2012, 7:44 pm
by d_ad_man
i need some help i removed my mazda 3 instrument panel while i was cleaning my entire dashboard.Placed it back inn,now trying to restart my car an nothing
I'm getting ignition and everything,just not starting.What can i do???????????

Posted: June 27th, 2012, 1:08 am
by xNeXuSx
Did you check your fuses? Could be the immobilizer too, but that connected to one of the ignition fuses anyway, so check there first.

Posted: June 27th, 2012, 8:02 pm
by d_ad_man
thanks thus far...still not starting

Posted: June 27th, 2012, 9:09 pm
by xNeXuSx
Did you remove the center console also? You should probably get an electrician to check the wiring to your transmission range switch (assuming it is auto). In any case you should utilize a proper electrician, because it could be range of things...solenoid switch, starter motor etc. If it was a simple fuse it would have been nice.

Hopefully somebody else will help you with more info.

Posted: June 27th, 2012, 9:11 pm
by S_2NR
d_ad_man wrote:i need some help i removed my mazda 3 instrument panel while i was cleaning my entire dashboard.Placed it back inn,now trying to restart my car an nothing

:shock: :shock: why would u do all that to clean ur dash..sounds like a bit much.

you coulda avoid all this headache.

Posted: June 30th, 2012, 8:20 pm
by FullStop
d_ad_man wrote:i need some help i removed my mazda 3 instrument panel while i was cleaning my entire dashboard.Placed it back inn,now trying to restart my car an nothing

CAN BUS...reset ur ecu...disconnect battery, let it discharge...in future, dont play mechanic...if that doesnt work you'll need to buy a front half or visit southern sales...the reason ppl are skeptical to assist is cus when the guntas steal the mz 3 they tend to have these types of issues. good luck.

Posted: July 2nd, 2012, 10:52 am
by originalbling
I see a lot of people here using the Redline D4 ATF. Anyone has experience with the Amsoil ATF?

Any issues with the amsoil?

Posted: July 2nd, 2012, 7:13 pm
by FullStop
originalbling wrote:I see a lot of people here using the Redline D4 ATF. Anyone has experience with the Amsoil ATF?

Any issues with the amsoil?

I've used mobil1 synthetic atf with bad results, the transmission shuddered a bit, switched to redline d4-atf and the problem was gone. Amsoil makes decent engine oil , have absolutely no experience with their stuff though , redline tranny/gearbox fluids are legendarily good though.

Posted: July 2nd, 2012, 9:35 pm
by FullStop
oh btw, anyone interested in a JBarone rear upgraded swaybar for the 04-2012 mz3? i have one to sell, bought it for my bro, he installed it for a month or so with awr links, the awr links were making noise so he took off the entire setup and returned it to stock. J.Barone actually recommended to me that I use stock endlinks, but my bro isnt interested, it comes with everything needed for installation. brackets and energy suspension bushings. looking to get $800 for it.

http://www.jamesbaroneracing.com/store/ ... cts_id=119

Posted: July 2nd, 2012, 9:38 pm
by Stephon.
First service at Mazda, free
Second service at Mazda, free labour
Serviced at Mazda today, almost 400 dollars in labour :lol:

I don't mind though but damn :lol:

I like that they put the old parts in the car for me, so I guess it's their way of proving that they did in fact service the car.

Posted: July 2nd, 2012, 9:40 pm
by FullStop
i stopped servicing at mazda, there's nothing they do that I cant do myself.

Posted: July 2nd, 2012, 9:46 pm
by originalbling
I've used mobil1 synthetic atf with bad results, the transmission shuddered a bit, switched to redline d4-atf and the problem was gone. Amsoil makes decent engine oil , have absolutely no experience with their stuff though , redline tranny/gearbox fluids are legendarily good though.

yea, I use the amsoil 10W30. Need to change tranny fluid and coolant. Thinking about the Amsoil coolant as well. Trying to decide between the amsoil or redline ATF though.

Stephon, yuh sure is the old parts from your car? :D

Posted: July 3rd, 2012, 1:58 am
by xNeXuSx
Stephon, yuh sure is the old parts from your car? :D

LOL. No trust boi. Can't say I blame you tho with the kind of things we see out here.

+1 on Redline ATF. Not giving me a reason to change.

Posted: July 4th, 2012, 8:43 pm
by Amit
hearing a noise from the left side front suspension, changed the link, bushing and shocks look ok, what is the cost of stablizer bar rubber

Posted: July 5th, 2012, 9:25 am
by FullStop
not sure man...which bushings did you change? I've never changed my front stabilizer bar rubbers.

Posted: July 5th, 2012, 4:21 pm
by dredman1
Amit wrote:hearing a noise from the left side front suspension, changed the link, bushing and shocks look ok, what is the cost of stablizer bar rubber

From April 2010, page 9 earlier in this thread
trinijanus wrote:dredman1, I bought them from Southern Sales in POS. Cost was roughly $190 VAT inclusive for the pair ($83 + VAT for 1). I know they had one more in stock in POS when I bought my two last week. Hope they got more stock if you're looking for the pair.
Most probably price went up since, but it shouldn't be that much more. There's a very good chance that's the source of the knock if you sure all the other things you listed are in good condition. Make sure you buy OEM Mazda bushings.

I had a knock in my front suspension as well - changed stabilizer bar links and rubber and shocks. That helped, but the noise is still there - just not as loud as before. Had all the bushings checked by several places, and they all said they were good. *shrugs* Might just end up changing them out anyway - just don't wanna do that and still end up with the noise.

Posted: July 5th, 2012, 5:01 pm
by FullStop
dredman1 wrote:
Amit wrote:hearing a noise from the left side front suspension, changed the link, bushing and shocks look ok, what is the cost of stablizer bar rubber

From April 2010, page 9 earlier in this thread
trinijanus wrote:dredman1, I bought them from Southern Sales in POS. Cost was roughly $190 VAT inclusive for the pair ($83 + VAT for 1). I know they had one more in stock in POS when I bought my two last week. Hope they got more stock if you're looking for the pair.
Most probably price went up since, but it shouldn't be that much more. There's a very good chance that's the source of the knock if you sure all the other things you listed are in good condition. Make sure you buy OEM Mazda bushings.

I had a knock in my front suspension as well - changed stabilizer bar links and rubber and shocks. That helped, but the noise is still there - just not as loud as before. Had all the bushings checked by several places, and they all said they were good. *shrugs* Might just end up changing them out anyway - just don't wanna do that and still end up with the noise.

have you ever changed your control arms or control arm bushings? when mine were bad, they knocked. I got super pro bushings from Brian Khan(323-9323), they're cheaper than replacemet control arms and work great.

Posted: July 5th, 2012, 6:45 pm
by dredman1
No ghost - never changed them. Had the entire suspension checked and was advised all the bushings (including the control arm bushings) were good. Normally I would take that with a grain of salt, but had it checked at more than 1 place.

Thanks for the tip on the super pro, but I think if I decide to change the bushings, I might as well change out both control arms with new OEM ones.

Posted: July 5th, 2012, 7:12 pm
by Groovemaster
BK has super pro cradle bushings for the mazda 3?