Help! Burning real gas. And blowing Smoke.

MAZDA People United - it continues here

DrGarv.

Help! Burning real gas. And blowing Smoke.

Postby DrGarv. » March 30th, 2008, 2:30 pm

As i said in the subject line, My car burning real gas and blowing white smoke , real ragged vibration and very little power. When I checked under the car I realise that some gas actually leaking from the exhaust.

So i'm thinking that it may be a bad coil pack or spark plug. Any ideas, advice? My engine is a 1.5 Zl-de

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » March 30th, 2008, 5:41 pm

Maybe it's a blown head gasket. Did you check the coolant bottle to see if there's oil in it?

DrGarv.

Postby DrGarv. » March 30th, 2008, 10:35 pm

No oil in the coolant bottle...
How much to replace the gasket if that's the problem.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 30th, 2008, 11:18 pm

go check your mechanic might be your rings

DrGarv.

Postby DrGarv. » March 30th, 2008, 11:21 pm

This kinda thing bound to happen on a holiday weekend eh.

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » April 4th, 2008, 10:26 am

any word on the prob DrGarv?

whats white smoke mean?

Bluish = Oil
Blackish = Gas
White = Transmission fluid???

DrGarv.

Postby DrGarv. » April 4th, 2008, 5:18 pm

Just came from the mechanic, he said one of the injectors is just dumping gas into the cylinder and it seems to be a problem eminating from the brain box...

Checked the coil pack they are good...
Checked the injectors they seem to be good...
Cylinder head, questionable, but appears good...

So I need a brain Box for a ZL engine...

quick.... running on 3 cylinders is no fun neither is seeing my car parked like if it has no purpose...

mafia generation

Postby mafia generation » April 5th, 2008, 9:21 am

dawg i know how dat does feel....

mine parked up about a month now!!!

anybody know whe i could get a brain box for f8 1.8 dohc 16v???

DrGarv.

Postby DrGarv. » April 5th, 2008, 9:50 am

like it's a disease. Some kind of Mazda Malaria... It bound to have a cure for it.

anyone know about a location for the brain box.

DrGarv.

Postby DrGarv. » April 5th, 2008, 2:10 pm

ok i got the brain box at Rama's in the bamboo... yeah... more work to do still have to pass by and electrician.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 5th, 2008, 3:54 pm

zl-ve box by ramas??????

DrGarv.

Postby DrGarv. » April 5th, 2008, 10:52 pm

ghostbusters wrote:zl-ve box by ramas??????

Nah boss, brain for the ZL-DE.... check red_bwoy or maztune for that link.

mafia generation

Postby mafia generation » April 5th, 2008, 11:02 pm

hmmm.... wonder if ramas could help me out!!!

DrGarv.

Postby DrGarv. » June 3rd, 2008, 4:21 pm

Altec55 wrote:any word on the prob DrGarv?

whats white smoke mean?

Bluish = Oil
Blackish = Gas
White = Transmission fluid???

The white smoke was gas evaporating with the heat through the exhaust. One of the injectors was dumping fuel into the cylinder constantly, and not in pulses as it should be.
As such the problem was not the following:

Head gasket,
injector,
Cam or Crank Sensor,
brain box,
throttle position sensor,
Coil pack or
bad spark plug.

The problem was caused by a short in the harness. It was positioned badly between the intake manifold and the firewall so rubbing and heat in the back the caused some exposed wiring and eventually the short. Harness is now raised and well shielded.

So i'm ready for the next mazda lime, now it's to just fix the aircon, and the speedo and the hold button, get wider tires, some good rims, cradle arm bushings balance and align...

I got my shots for the Mazda Malaria... hopefully this is it for the while, but I have to find some where to do some hi speed stability testing

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 3rd, 2008, 8:44 pm

glad it all sorted out

Return to “MAZDA”