Re: MAZTUNE's 1988 FC3S RX-7 Build

Postby Safeq » February 14th, 2011, 9:57 am

New gauges cool

when yuh doing the painting?

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » February 19th, 2011, 2:42 pm

well working on the sunroof in march and trying to get in some body parts first.

Safeq

Postby Safeq » February 21st, 2011, 8:44 am

ok cool sounding good

MAZTUNE

Re: FC3S RX-7 build

Postby MAZTUNE » July 6th, 2011, 11:22 am

So things have took a turn for the worse... Apex seal spring in the front rotor seems to be sticking but the worse is a clutch problem or gearbox will keep you all informed:-(

MAZTUNE

Re: FC3S RX-7 build

Postby MAZTUNE » January 18th, 2012, 10:38 pm

Ok thanks to a good friend used amsoil combustion chamber cleaner and unstuck the seal so we are back in business. No rebuild and compression looking good. So we took the car for a neat drive down the San Fernando bypass, when all of a sudden the car started to shudder, we looked under the car and saw nothing wrong.

How as everybody been?? Big plans for 2012.

Found out the rear right tire imploded on itself (this could have been dangerous!) giving the vibration. I endup selling the Enkei wheels to be replaced with some Rays Gram lights 57c 8x8.5 +30 offset from my brothers Familia GT-R.

These wheels fit perfect in the back but need a +30 offset wide fender in the front to work without touching. So got to get these before bodywork, I am currently saving lol.

On another note i finally got my Cusco Strut tower brace for the front!! so the suspension is complete!!!!

Finally got my Cusco Strut Tower Brace for the front after 4 years!!!
IMG_0476[1].JPG
IMG_0474[1].JPG
Last edited by MAZTUNE on January 24th, 2012, 8:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: MAZTUNE's FC3S RX-7 build

Postby Razkal » January 24th, 2012, 12:21 am

sorry to jump in all random and off-point here, but you might be the best person to tell me my available options if i'm looking for a set of FC coilovers, doesn't have to be complete, i can live with the front alone.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 24th, 2012, 7:24 am

No fc suspension in stock. I considering selling the suspension off my car but that's front and rear.

Postby black start » March 9th, 2012, 10:48 pm

nice build thread maztune

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » March 18th, 2012, 3:45 pm

things now start to get interesting stay tuned.....

legoRB

Postby legoRB » March 22nd, 2012, 2:32 pm

Nice thread

Computerman

Postby Computerman » December 24th, 2012, 11:25 am

Dare we update this?

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » December 30th, 2012, 7:30 am

i dunno boy i dunno...

Miatabrah

Postby Miatabrah » January 4th, 2013, 2:16 pm

Hey Maztune, what would a 13B and 5 speed from an FC run me? Turbo or non-turbo
Or a 12A.

I'm thinking of putting rotary power in my Roadster

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 4th, 2013, 3:47 pm

Miatabrah go BPT! :twisted:

Miatabrah

Postby Miatabrah » January 4th, 2013, 4:21 pm

I thought about it or an SR20, don't know how hard it would be to source a BPT. So I considering all options if I can afford it.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 4th, 2013, 9:31 pm

Miatabrah wrote:I thought about it or an SR20, don't know how hard it would be to source a BPT. So I considering all options if I can afford it.
If you seriously considering cross breeding you in the wrong forum! Budget $20K (minimum) for a proper BPT install. What is wrong with your B6?

Miatabrah

Postby Miatabrah » January 4th, 2013, 10:43 pm

I got it with a blown engine, and it's automatic. I like the idea of a carbd 13B in it
Needs quite alot of work, i'm not in Trini btw, another island.

Boosted FC

Postby Boosted FC » January 7th, 2013, 10:18 am

Stay away from the 12A, as parts for those are becoming extinct.

Miatabrah

Postby Miatabrah » January 12th, 2013, 11:02 am

what can i expect to pay for a non-turbo 13B?

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » September 23rd, 2014, 11:15 pm

ok so where were we.... ahh yes 2012 my engine got blown by lending out my car in the middle of the year. I needed the following to get back on the road :

1) 2 rotor housings which i swapped from a FD3S engine. (note one hole has to be drilled into the housing to work in an FC so water can cool the turbo)
2) 2 rotors which I also swapped from this same FD3S engine. it has better oil passages than FC anyhows.
3) 1 oil pump. My oil pump was scorched beyond repair.
4) 3 engine plates. Now my old plates were good but I found a set of limited edition 1992 series 5 plates which comes with FD bigger porting.
5) Gasket seal kit. went for an Atkins Type A kit without apex, side and corner seals.
6) Apex/side and corner seals - got hold of a set of brand new mazda apex side and corner seals from a remanufactured FD engine. The reason why i went for this was simply the side seals were already cut and shaped for the corners hence saving a good few days.

All my old parts seemed ok.

TOTAL COST - $18000.00

All parts cleaned with a fine tooth comb and built using the Atkins Rotary DVD. I had no idea how to build an engine before this. Built a rotary before a piston engine which personally way harder.

This build took place Christmas day 2012.
1381171_549932348394656_1624281159_n.jpg
1383225_549932028394688_2101749843_n.jpg
1044530_549931808394710_924363148_n.jpg

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » September 23rd, 2014, 11:27 pm

Happy new year everybody its not 2013!!! :drinking: :bday:

So early that year I got my suspension sold and went Cusco Fully Adjustable coilovers. It was time to paint so I pulled out the old bussed up Shine Auto body kit I had lying around and sent the car by Xtreme Body Kits to fix and install. Now the pictures you are about to see are not for the faint of hearted and viewer discretion is advised.
970935_642169789144504_1507081543_n.jpg
429973_486409304758351_540444295_n.jpg

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » September 23rd, 2014, 11:38 pm

So the FC went to paint August of that year and 2013 done.... :( NO RX-7 YET

we are now in FEBRUARY 2014 when i get back the car. now let's add..... AUG, SEPT, OCT, NOV, DEC, JAN... 6 months to paint a car...and it come out with all kinda eye... fish eye bug eye etc...

Sigh... but at least it paint. So low and behold the new Rx-7!!!
1947534_787146531313495_2086082724_n.jpg
10178034_787750704586411_1652489869_n.jpg
10152627_787750814586400_878446504_n.jpg
1538781_787750817919733_202046890_n.jpg

Postby Razkal » September 24th, 2014, 12:42 am

looks great man!.. what's next?

streaminhonda

Postby streaminhonda » September 24th, 2014, 9:42 am

MORE MORE WE WANT MORE!!!!
btw mnr richard here...

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 2nd, 2016, 2:49 pm

ok folks so have some spare time on my hands lets see where we left off

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 2nd, 2016, 3:17 pm

so I in 2014 I was happy with the freshly painted Rx-7 . Went on a couple drives with the MNR(midnight runners) crew until i noticed the turbo was beginning to creep which brings us to Feb 2016. So decided to convert my actuated To4E Knight sports turbo to a 40mm Turbosmart external wastegate.

first thing is remove the turbo and manifold...obviously.. then remove the actuator from the turbo and remove the back plate from the turbocharger. Notice oil is on the turbine wheel, so I went ahead and got a To4e turbo repair kit. This kit includes all parts to refresh the center cartridge. Also got my life long dream of a RE Amemiya turbo manifold.
13669391_1237321699634600_17541123986717080_o.jpg
DSC_0154.JPG

streaminhonda

Postby streaminhonda » August 23rd, 2016, 9:06 am

YESSSSS finally...

Return to “MAZDA”