MAZTUNE's FC3S RX-7 build

MAZDA People United - it continues here

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » December 10th, 2009, 10:02 am

yea boy, new rad came in today, will put up install pics soon!!!

Safeq

Postby Safeq » December 10th, 2009, 10:15 am

Coolness...looking out for them

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » December 14th, 2009, 7:38 pm

Ok got in the new Corksport radiator today. It's HUGE!!!

Ok first removed the old busted Series 4 rad.

waw, look at space LOL could fit a lil 3 rotor yes!!!

Installed the new rad, putting back all Series 4 sensors, remember ppl ,this is a BOLT in rad!! Notice the hole in the fan shroud. Because the radiator is so much thicker, the shroud touches the fan, so a small hole has to be made.

Got back all my cold air ducting to go back, with minor adjustments. So there you have it. Looks mean eh??

Safeq

Postby Safeq » December 15th, 2009, 8:30 am

Ah love it...sweet

Roachmaster

Postby Roachmaster » December 15th, 2009, 12:40 pm

Nice...Lookin Tops!!!!

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » December 15th, 2009, 2:26 pm

Roachmaster wrote:Nice...Lookin Tops!!!!

yea boy, tried calling for you today, check the rotary run this sunday. I know the first down but still try to make the turn nah .

Roachmaster

Postby Roachmaster » December 16th, 2009, 1:36 pm

would really love to....so much rotary limes i missin...
i on call this weekend dred!!!!
next year is my year yes!!

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » December 17th, 2009, 9:25 pm

roachmaster u working methanol ?

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » December 18th, 2009, 9:32 am

TCL.

rxforever

Postby rxforever » December 18th, 2009, 2:27 pm

i on....car have a lil hesitation..but will still cum :mrgreen:

rxforever

Postby rxforever » December 18th, 2009, 2:28 pm

u invite sheldon////

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » December 18th, 2009, 11:27 pm

i try to call him but i think he was working at the time, remind him nah

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 5th, 2010, 8:32 pm

ok Got in the Tokico Illuminas and the lowering springs, but a hard choice is upon me. I have a choice of Intrax lowering springs with a 2" drop but the spring rate is feeling kinda soft, or Greddy which is not as low but seems stiffer. I want to do a little drag/ time attack racing, and drifting, I know the damper will be handled by the 5-way adjustable Illuminas but its body roll and confidence at high speeds is what I am worried about.

Safeq

Postby Safeq » January 5th, 2010, 11:23 pm

Dunno drag setups, but I'd think better you go Greddy for drifting

Open to learning more since you're doing a setup for 2 applications

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 6th, 2010, 2:15 pm

well I realised that the Intrax is going to be compressed into the shock and increase the spring rate, so I think I may go with the Intrax.I hate a High RX-7 LOL looking to install weekend. So the Greddy will be up for grabs . looking at $1200.00

Postby Sinister_Audio » January 6th, 2010, 2:21 pm

WOIIII DEY CUZZZZZZZ

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 6th, 2010, 2:25 pm

yea cus now get meh suspension so I gladddd. you shouldda put RIP corolla LOL

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 6th, 2010, 3:05 pm

So back to the story, how has everybody been? good. Happy new year, 2010 is a big year for the FC. Looking to do some nice upgrades, and also in the appearance department.

Ok let's talk suspension. Suspension is never only a shock and spring, it's also about every single moving suspension part including cradles, arms and bushings. It does not make sense you have the WORLD of Tien Coilovers and your cradle bushings worn and roll away on the highway leaving you with a shaky unstable FC.

As you know, I have installed the front Poly Bushings on the cradles, lower sway bars, finishing out all front bushings parts. I was waiting on my shock and springs to complete the rear. I opped for the Tokico Illumina 5-way damper adjustment with the Intrax Performance lowering springs.

It's a 2" drop, I personally like a squat RX-7.

Springs can be measured in Spring Rate, which is how hard the spring is to compress and how long it takes to return to the neutral position. It is measured in how much pounds (lbs) it takes to compress the spring.

The Tokico Illuminas are a good street/ race application, for somebody who wants simple adjustment, but not extreme race adjustment, such as coilovers. Coilovers have the ability to completely give the user FINE adjustments, such as camber, damper, spring rate and height adjustment. Now, damper adjustment is basically how hard the ride is going to be, 1 being the softest, 5 being the hardest.
Last edited by MAZTUNE on January 6th, 2010, 3:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Safeq

Postby Safeq » January 6th, 2010, 3:41 pm

Good stuff, taking notes...

Postby Sinister_Audio » January 8th, 2010, 1:41 pm

LAWRDDDDDDD

dem ting sexy bai :P

ImamurA

Postby ImamurA » January 9th, 2010, 12:19 pm

a low car does look good an everything but also remember dat for circuit and for high speed on highway u will need some suspension travel especially for little uneven patches in d road :wink:

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 9th, 2010, 7:12 pm

ImamurA wrote:a low car does look good an everything but also remember dat for circuit and for high speed on highway u will need some suspension travel especially for little uneven patches in d road :wink:

I know it's not that low lol. actually it will be the same height as the car is now. or maybe an inch higher.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 12th, 2010, 3:38 pm

Ok put up the suspension weekend, wow what a difference. Apparently all my old KYB GAB shocks on the right side of the car was GONE LOL.

Removed the old GAB shock and spring by removing the 2 17mm nuts and bolts on the brake hub, the clip holding the brake line and the 4 14mm nuts on the shock tower/shock head. Please note that the 22mm that holds to shock head to the shock polished rod needs to be slackened when it is STILL on the car. It needs the weight of the car to loosen this or off the car it will spin the polished rod and anybody will get frustrated, very frustrated.

Removed the old shock head and all rubbers. (will have to use back that)

notice the old GAB springs are shorter and thicker, it actually used to bounce around in the shock LOL. It's also a linear spring not a progressive like the Intrax.

Placed the spring in the shock, and if needed, used spring clamps to compress the springs so the shock head can go on. If the spring is short enough, you will not be requiring the spring clamps. In this case we did. Replaced in the same order we took it out. Please note all rubbers must placed back or it will result in a squeaky shock. (bare spring on bare shock)

OK. shock mounted, then return to the car as taken out. Remember again when the car is back on the ground to TIGHTEN that 22mm shock head nut!

Ok now the rear, this is actually the easiest thing EVER to do on a FC3S RX-7. Just remove the shock head plastic upholstery and see the shock head with the 2 14mm nuts holding the shock head to the car. The FC3S shock is held to the rear cradle though 1 17mm bolt run though an eye in the shock. Just loosen that and the 2 14mm top nuts and we are out!.

We did not even need the spring clamps for the back, it just slipped in, tightened back the shock head which I believe is a single 17mm nut on this one. Remember again to tighten when the car is back on the ground.

The dampening adjustment on the Illuminas is so precise, 1 being close to stock and 5 being as stiff as coilovers. The springs settled the car with good height with nice response and tension. Right now it's set on 3 all round, but when I align, will do some further fine tuning.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » January 12th, 2010, 5:02 pm

mih brethren take a pressure waser to under dem fenders nah man show de car a lil more love nah :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
but good work as always keep it comin

Safeq

Postby Safeq » January 12th, 2010, 5:59 pm

Loving the progress

Be back soon will check yuh...

What colour you're going?

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 12th, 2010, 6:26 pm

looking at a deeper blue/white/black. totally JDM. don't worry it will be mad!

Safeq

Postby Safeq » January 12th, 2010, 6:31 pm

I know I know...

eager anticipation :)

Shio

Postby Shio » January 14th, 2010, 3:44 pm

white FC FTW :D

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 14th, 2010, 8:16 pm

LOL. well this car was white, it's a poor paint job, a flash so any scrape on the car and the white underneath shows.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » January 14th, 2010, 8:21 pm

Shio wrote:white FC FTW :D

X2 ah feel they make white paint just for that car yes :lol:

is not white but it go wuk

Return to “MAZDA”