W.T.K. MAZDA 323 BJ

MAZDA People United - it continues here

StileHD

W.T.K. MAZDA 323 BJ

Postby StileHD » March 15th, 2012, 7:30 pm

I have to change:

1. Rear engine mount - The hard one where you need an extension for an extension
2. Velocity Joints - Getting that annoying clicking sound when turning
3. Wheel Bearings - That next annoying whistling sound when driving

I need a reasonably priced mechanic to do this is a timely manner and neatly.

Also, can anyone provide the average cost of the joints and bearings?

What causes joints and bearings to go bad, just incase there might be any preventative maintenance I could do when I change them.

Also I want some suspension advice on the BJ. Currently running 205/45/17 but it touching when I put load in the back, and goes down into a depressing. The back also has a bass box with 2 12" and a backdash with 4 8" contributing to the weight. Some say is shocks, some say my tyre profile too big.
Last edited by StileHD on March 15th, 2012, 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: W.T.K. MAZDA 323 BJ

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 15th, 2012, 8:49 pm

Rear Engine Mount - approx $325 RBI
CV Joints - Have not changed these
Wheel Bearings - Front $400 for both some time back NTN

Call this guy Reputable Auto, he's knowledgeable and will give you up to date pricing 6360849

If you want OE Mazda then be prepared to pay out the nostrils at SS.

As far as i am aware, these things go bad through normal wear. There's no preventative maintenance to stop a bearing going bad. Make sure the CV boots are on properly and there's the correct grease in there.

As for the touching do you know what offset rims you running? 205/45/17 should be quite comfortable with the proper offset rims.

StileHD

Postby StileHD » March 15th, 2012, 9:34 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Rear Engine Mount - approx $325 RBI
CV Joints - Have not changed these
Wheel Bearings - Front $400 for both some time back NTN

Call this guy Reputable Auto, he's knowledgeable and will give you up to date pricing 6360849

If you want OE Mazda then be prepared to pay out the nostrils at SS.

As far as i am aware, these things go bad through normal wear. There's no preventative maintenance to stop a bearing going bad. Make sure the CV boots are on properly and there's the correct grease in there.

As for the touching do you know what offset rims you running? 205/45/17 should be quite comfortable with the proper offset rims.

Have no clue, rims were painted black, id have to take them off and check behind ent? What is the proper offset rims for a BJ?

Postby cinco » March 16th, 2012, 9:26 am

heavy wheels and bad alignment cause bearing failure
the touching in the rear is inevitable if you have all that extra weight and on 17s more than likely it is rubbing on the inner part of the rear fender
the cv joints can be had about any parts place have heard good things about GLO brand and 555

StileHD

Postby StileHD » March 16th, 2012, 9:55 am

cinco wrote:heavy wheels and bad alignment cause bearing failure
the touching in the rear is inevitable if you have all that extra weight and on 17s more than likely it is rubbing on the inner part of the rear fender
the cv joints can be had about any parts place have heard good things about GLO brand and 555

What rim and tyre profile you running?

Postby cinco » March 17th, 2012, 11:14 pm

205 40 17s
40 offset

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » March 22nd, 2012, 9:13 pm

You need +45 offset rims to properly run 205/45..I am running 215/40 no issues even with weight. I had +40 offset rims at one time and with weight in the car it would touch with 205/45.

Return to “MAZDA”