MAZTUNE's 1983 BD 323/ laser hatch 4WD GTX build

MAZDA People United - it continues here

MAZTUNE

MAZTUNE's 1983 BD 323/ laser hatch 4WD GTX build

Postby MAZTUNE » August 23rd, 2009, 8:42 pm

this laser is special to our heart, its our first car, my mom bought it from the firm in 1983, it carried us to school and back everyday. It had 13 E5 engines and one transmission. After my mom got another car my dad took it, and anything he gets he runs to the ground. It get fender benders, rusted though in a real mess was in 3 different colours although the colour supposed to be gold. He started transporting feed bags and then one day we heard crack and the whole rear shock tower broke.

thats my dad running the car to the ground LOL :D

well remember Shiva from the laser sedan build?? Well shiva has also a part to play in this story. Now Shiva was a rally navigator for another car, a BF 323 GTX which the driver was Dave. Somehow the car ended by shiva and was for sale. Shiva called us to come check it out, but as usual was was brokes.... but was was thinking would not it be great to take this car and convert our rotton down laser hatch 4wd turbo?? hmm

Well a few months passed and on the day of d trini hurricane, the same car came by us with a different driver!!! another friend came to show us d car d price drop now though.... like this car only following us!! so we borrowed some funds from d family and bought the car. i am sorry i dont have pics of the whole car... this was the time i did not have a cam.

So we had a 4WD BF GTX, we had a laser but had NO IDEA what d hell to do to convert it!
Last edited by MAZTUNE on August 26th, 2009, 9:50 am, edited 3 times in total.

demented

Postby demented » August 23rd, 2009, 9:48 pm

:popcorn: ...... all this laser/323 projects making me regret I ever sold my 1985 323 sedan and my 1986 laser hatch and my 92 BF 323 and my 91 BF 323.....I WILL RETURN TO MAZDA SOON! :twisted:

Go on inspire us with the build!

Postby 7143 » August 25th, 2009, 8:07 pm

demented,lol...i watching my rotten down laser and this giving real inspiration.....but the car not straight boi......i real vex.....

Postby 7143 » August 25th, 2009, 8:07 pm

MAZTUNE,ah yes yuh start the real story....

Postby cinco » August 25th, 2009, 8:36 pm

MOAR

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 26th, 2009, 9:57 am

We started looking for body shops to take on the job, everybody literally run, said this CANNOT be done. One actually said it could BUT the laser will have to become a 2 door. That was not the concept we was going after it supposed to look like a normal 4 door laser sedan. So we got word of a man named Cokesin(doh ask) that gave us some advice on what to do and we endup doing it ourselves.

so we endup cutting the 323 GTX ( i am so sorry i dont have any pics of the actual car!!!) into a floor up to the firewall with the rear axle intact.

Then we removed the flooring of the old laser. You can see in the pics how rusted the metal in the laser was.

see man ent even getting time to get haircut and shave LOL :D frustration!!!

Now the whole point of all this is to get a 4WD flooring into the laser, so no driveshaft issues, rear 4wd axle, handbrake, cable shifter and the 4wd gastank goes back up as original also GTX seats and every flooring shape for 4wd remains the same. :) :)
Last edited by MAZTUNE on August 26th, 2009, 9:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Greypatch » August 26th, 2009, 8:35 pm

go brave

demented

Postby demented » August 26th, 2009, 9:05 pm

So the 2 door flooring line up how exact on the 4 door body? Alot of fabricating or not?

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 26th, 2009, 9:20 pm

So the two pieces are now prepped to come together so a BF GTX hatch and laser hatch basically has the same dimensions so its just to sandwich the two peices and firstly screw it in with self thread roofing screws (we was trying a thing).

So the car is now as one with all mehcanical in. we actually drove it holding with screws just to make sure it was working properly. make a block around the neighbour hood LOL :D :D

notice the space at the base of the firewall. This needed to be welded in place.

Accordiing the time line, this took a year i think the whole of 2006. We started Dec 2005.
Last edited by MAZTUNE on August 26th, 2009, 9:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 26th, 2009, 9:22 pm

demented wrote:So the 2 door flooring line up how exact on the 4 door body? Alot of fabricating or not?

yes basically the long 2 door and the 4 door is the same.

Postby 7143 » August 27th, 2009, 8:52 am

MAZTUNE,ah give it to allyuh, allyuh is some facking madmen :lol: ....i cyah believe what i just see......but the car take all the power and torque without twisting?? and how did it stand upp after all that welding and fabrication??allyuh is some real boss....no body shop woulda take that work......

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 27th, 2009, 9:14 am

7143 wrote:MAZTUNE,ah give it to allyuh, allyuh is some facking madmen :lol: ....i cyah believe what i just see......but the car take all the power and torque without twisting?? and how did it stand upp after all that welding and fabrication??allyuh is some real boss....no body shop woulda take that work......

well actually u are right no bodyshop did, coming to that part in a bit, but yes when we were done the two chassis was re-enforced and joined so laser and 323 became one. The hatch has a stronger chassis than the sedan

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 27th, 2009, 3:58 pm

no you all mustbe wondering about the engine and its 4wd gearbox how it fit in the engine bay. We used all the GTX mountings to the laser body and using the GTX crossmember. The transfercase was slightly touching the left apron so we just cut a little about 1/2 inch.

Its now the end of 2006. The car is driving on screws and ready to go to "a" body shop.

notice the back doors cannot close due to the wider GTX inner fenders.

So we carried it by Cokesin to work on it. It stayed there a year with no work done. He had no idea where to start. We actually forgot we had a laserhatch!!! :shock: :shock: so at the beginning of 2007 we carried by another body shop where the guy stole our brand new door rubbers and still did not know what to do with the car!!! DRAMAS!!!

In March 2007, we got word of a guy named Perry( the lineup king) did this sort of work actually doing the joining of cars, 4wd work. He is also a serious evo fan LOL.We got good foreign used doors, 2 rear quarter panels and other various body parts. he did all the welding, lining up making sure we did not look like those bendup chassis trucks and 120Y on d highway. :D

Last edited by MAZTUNE on September 10th, 2009, 8:56 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Postby 7143 » August 27th, 2009, 4:10 pm

Safeq

Postby Safeq » August 28th, 2009, 8:03 am

Hey Khaleel, I think you made a slight error in the timeline.

*Its now the end of 2007. The car is driving on screws and ready to go to "a" body shop. *
Should be end of 2006

*So we carried it by Cokesin to work on it. It stayed there a year with no work done. He had no idea where to start. We actually forgot we had a laserhatch!!! so at the beginning of 2007 we carried by another body shop where the guy stole our brand new door rubbers and still did not know what to do with the car!!! DRAMAS!!!*

This should be beginning of 2008

Either that or you didn't tell us about the Mazda time machine you have downstairs :)

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 28th, 2009, 8:21 am

yes you are right its really the end of 2006. because oct 2007 the car was ready to race at camden! thanks! i will edit. i needed to put the timeline to show how long it took which is basically 2005-2007

gallantpan

Postby gallantpan » August 28th, 2009, 11:43 am

MAZTUNE,ites checkin up on u ....lol

Postby 7143 » August 28th, 2009, 2:47 pm

MAZTUNE,do you have a no for the guy perry who did the work and lined it up??wa he also the guy who reinforced the chassis??if so plz pm his no....thanks man....build lookin real nice.....

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 28th, 2009, 5:19 pm

yea PM sent. he real good. wanna do a copy or what?? you need an entire GTX, loads of time and willing to pull your hair out LOL.

Postby 7143 » August 28th, 2009, 6:12 pm

MAZTUNE,nah boi i we do some work on our car and i wouldnt mind getting the chassis reinforced and the car lined up back a lil bit.....

Postby 7143 » August 28th, 2009, 6:12 pm

MAZTUNE,thanks for the no :lol:

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » August 28th, 2009, 9:43 pm

this hadda go in a magazine

demented

Postby demented » August 28th, 2009, 10:03 pm

Zorce should do a MAZTUNE edition with that laser sedan, laser hatch, FC RX7, FD RX7 and the RX2! :mrgreen:

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 29th, 2009, 1:19 am

B20VTEK wrote:this hadda go in a magazine

haha stop playing nah allyuh know it in sixthspeed already LOL

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 29th, 2009, 1:21 am

demented wrote:Zorce should do a MAZTUNE edition with that laser sedan, laser hatch, FC RX7, FD RX7 and the RX2! :mrgreen:

FD rx-7 ?? nahhh i wish i coudda afford the one i want (Series 8 99-02) :cry: :cry:

demented

Postby demented » August 29th, 2009, 1:59 am

^^^ shux....one day to come then.

Postby 7143 » August 29th, 2009, 11:15 am

MAZTUNE wrote:
B20VTEK wrote:this hadda go in a magazine

haha stop playing nah allyuh know it in sixthspeed already LOL

:shock: ...nah i didnt kno.....dam they to lookin real sweet....

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 29th, 2009, 2:49 pm

ok well i have kept allyuh in suspense for too long so on with the story! So mr. Perry finished up his welding in about April BUT perry does not paint, so in comes talls to finish up the car. Talls specialise in older cars and did the painting by us. Well after the fiasco with the 2 previous bodymen we did not really want to go by a bodyshop anymore. Same situation with mechanics but thats a another story all together.

Here is some pics of the car being painted, the car went down to shining metal and then straightened, primed and painted in Chaste White.

Notice the doors lineup now...

so basically at the end of Aug 2007 the car was finished ready to drive. We starting the car, making sure everything wa working properly, realising a few problems. One was the 4wd 10.2 brakes had a different streering angle to the FWD so the car was unstable on the road. Also the rear left caliper was gone! smoking like crazy!! so for the while until we found some FWD big brakes we got some 9.6" to drive tha car. These actually causes a little more problems than we expected.

So one early sat morn a pardner wanted to see how the car running (bad move) so took the car around the block got to about 90km/h at the end of the hill mash for brakes we gets NOTHING!!!! so to avoid hitting a wall, hit a colvert and into sum bush. :( :( Looks like the front brakes was still rusty shoudda skim the rotors, and the rear left stop working so only the rear right doing a lil thing. the damage was not so bad actually just bent bumper, the left frame rail get it but the door could still close.

so bend back the bumper and fix him back, still did not get around to fix the frame rail.

Well next step was to run the exhaust, so we did a 2 1/2 exhuast by Specialist Muffler 2001 nice job too i will take a pic when i get time with a cheap barrel at the back.
Last edited by MAZTUNE on September 3rd, 2009, 8:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

gallantpan

Postby gallantpan » August 30th, 2009, 1:10 pm

Lesson learnt... showin off for paddna leads too fancy driving over a drain... lol..., Tell us bout your reaction after this.. :shocked!: :evil: :evil: :agrue: :puppydogeyes: :headbang: :crying:

xtech

Postby xtech » August 30th, 2009, 5:38 pm

he bad lucky with new body work cars...............same story with the sedan....

did he christen the RX the same way????
Last edited by xtech on August 30th, 2009, 7:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “MAZDA”