MAZTUNE's 1985 BD 323/ Ford Laser GT Sedan Build

MAZDA People United - it continues here

MAZTUNE

MAZTUNE's 1985 BD 323/ Ford Laser GT Sedan Build

Postby MAZTUNE » August 14th, 2009, 8:39 am

The story all started when my grandad died in 1998, leaving a laser sedan with a roof rack, 13" steel wheels with hub caps and some kinda wierd front seats, we still trying to figure out what they were.... it was left under a pomerac tree for 1 year to rot, so we took the car to use. It had a 1500 E5 carbby engine with auto tranny.

first to go was the auto tranny, we had some 14" BSA wheels and a Blitz exhaust installed. we was d sickest thing out LOL. Chop spring riding like a truck.

Did a paintover in chaste white (3rd gen RX-7 white) and flaired the fenders to fit 16" BSA wheels running 195/45R16 tires. 1 day after the bodyshop the car got rearended :( :( goodbye brand new back lights, so back to the old ones....

So running the car hard with little knowledge about anything about cars, we ran the piston rings to the ground and had to do a rebuild so it was done by darren auto garage in the next street. So going inside there we decided to go .030 over pistons and rings, with some double valve springs and double timing chain. Still stock cabby, but then then got a deal on a set of Honda CBR SU 400cc cabbies. (way too small)

To work the carbs we had to make a manifold done by Specialist muffler. and we THOUGHT we was on, but 2 issues, one was no vacuum source for the brake booster/ PCV valve and the leaning of the 1500cc engine. We made a whole series of steel lines to get one little vacuum source. looking like nitrous in d pic :twisted: So tried our best, by jetting up the carbs but the bowls were to small for the laser mechanical fuel pump. We had to lower the pressure to 4psi instead of 6psi using a Holley fuel pressure regulator.

If you notice we had a front strut tower, its an orginal BD 323 strut tower also got a rear too i will have to take a pic of dat. We got it at Maska parts shop when they used to bring in all kinda madness. This drastically helped with body roll could not believe the difference in handling, minimized understeer and also planting the rear of the car to the road. Looking to upgrade to a Corksport thicker version now.

In the end, leanout and buss a hole in the head, time to get a new engine, hmmm something special :D
Last edited by MAZTUNE on August 20th, 2009, 5:19 pm, edited 3 times in total.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 19th, 2009, 10:55 am

we did some research and found that the performance BF 323's and TX3 lasers came with a little 1600cc DOHC engine called the B6T. So we went looking for it, thinking that it was readily available like an SR20DE. LOL geezz ppl we ent know!! haha Plus there was a laser ripping up the streets in south with the same engine. Bigup to Sat, Trevor and Devin on this one!! found out that this little green hatch also had a B6T so we wanted one more!!

Postby 7143 » August 19th, 2009, 1:49 pm

MAZTUNE,i cyah believe i read all ah this and the story ent have ah end....wtf..... :?

Postby 7143 » August 19th, 2009, 1:49 pm

laser look real wicked in the 3rd pic doh..... :lol:

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 19th, 2009, 3:59 pm

no i doing it in parts the story has now begun :D there is much much more!

Postby 7143 » August 19th, 2009, 6:48 pm

MAZTUNE wrote:no i doing it in parts the story has now begun :D there is much much more!

lard yuh was just teasing meh den??lol...but it sounding like it was a good project......somehow i feel this end with a 14 second lase with ah e5t.... :lol:

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 19th, 2009, 11:09 pm

haha keep your pants on lol. no well as the story continues, we looked all over for a B6T could not find one anywhere, we even sank to the lowest of our mazda career and was about to buy a Toyota Starlet engine in the laser but we just could NOT do it.

The year is now 2000, so then good ole trinituner FS:- Mazda B6T engine package complete. came up BUT we was kinda brokes so we had to build up some funds. A few months passed, got the money but lost the printed post so scrambled to find it so we found it under the table and called the guy. His name was Shiva and the laser was a rally car. He said he had it so we checked him and took a test drive. It was the FASTEST thing we have ever felt!!! BUY ONE TIME :D :D :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rm2-Ep8ac4Y

here is a Trinituner vid of Shiva Rallying...

Shiva did the direct conversion from laser to laser but only to realise our outer axles was bigger dan the average B6T for some reason. So we had to go with the 10.2 323 GT front brake hubs also. Never regretted that...

Also a mean front lower sway bar in a ugly yellow real ugly yellow LOL :D

So conversion done but problems the car would not want to rev out smoothly. for 2 weeks we was fighting up to figure out what it was interchanging parts like crazy. Then iding the car we actually saw a spark jump from the plug wire to the head! got some Miata plug wires maska had and problem solved engine wokking!!!

I dont have much pictures of the car at this time, did not have a cam LOL.

AND THEN UNTHINKABLE DISASTER STRUCK :cry: :cry: ..... (suspense hehe)
Last edited by MAZTUNE on August 20th, 2009, 5:29 pm, edited 8 times in total.

demented

Postby demented » August 19th, 2009, 11:22 pm

FINALLY.....the build I was waiting to hear about.... the fisrt time I saw PAS 6210 on the streets a few years ago.... I wanted to find out about it's origins. *grabs popcorn to hear the story unfold* :oops:

Postby 7143 » August 20th, 2009, 7:39 am

demented, here pal...... :popcorn: ......

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 20th, 2009, 8:09 am

hoss just write the story in word and paste it wen u finish
this writing piece and moving on just killing it. it making our story boring,
it not creating any suspense if that was what u trying to acheive

Postby Greypatch » August 20th, 2009, 9:46 am

good story so far man keep it comming...

liking the lil kicks in between..

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 20th, 2009, 1:07 pm

its not a suspense thing its when i getting time. so i have to do it like this. did not realise this would have generated so much interest...

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 20th, 2009, 1:27 pm

nice maztune.. enjoying the read

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 20th, 2009, 2:13 pm

the year is now 2003, we are enjoying our B6T laser, bone stock with a puny side mounted intercooler nothing really to talk about, now put on rare(rear) disc brakes and a ACT copper clutch kit. Took a lil run on sunday wallers drags win some, lose some... but on a paticular sunday we decided to go grandbazaar to have some drinks in beer garden, something we dont normally do. So we left the car parked between two DC2 Integra Type Rs we was liming with.

Came back NO CAR , STOLEN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GONE. DC2 - NADA - DC2 BIG CAR SPACE!!
:cry: :cry: :cry: :evil:

So the next few days was d worse, no B6T laser sad like dat, then got a call from the popo saying they got back the car. Seems like with the copper clutch, no hand brakes (we did not get time to hook up the cables yet) and an extremely loud exhaust the thieves was ketching their nenen to drive d car in the maracas hills where they were going to scrap the car. Somebody hear d car and call d popo. I dont care what nobody says ALL our cars have the loudest exhaust it can have for this same reason. esp the rotories :D

The 16" BSA wheels was gone steering wheel gone and other small stuff but the car was intact. We was rolling on sum 14" steelies and then got some DC2 Integra Type R wheels from our same Honda buddies (and ppl dog honda ppls shucks... :lol: ) Here is some pics of the car with the honda wheels. Also got some mean 323 GTX front seats that bolted right in no more grandpa seats :D

as you see i get a cam :D

Anyhows good thing we had no guages in the car yet so we istalled a Autometer Sport Comp Air/Fuel gauge tapping off the single wire oxygen sensor, a Autometer Sport Comp Boost 20psi guage with the source coming off the common section of the B6T intake manifold. Autometer Sport Comp 3903 tach with built in shift lite. All these items were used and abused but money tight.

We later on added a SportComp mechanical Oil Pressure Guage.

Last edited by MAZTUNE on August 23rd, 2009, 10:09 am, edited 3 times in total.

Postby 7143 » August 20th, 2009, 3:59 pm

car looks nice in pics....bring more story....

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 20th, 2009, 5:01 pm

:OK well got over the thief started concentrating on building and modifying we was not much on looks anymore. So first thing to do was upgrade that stock intercooler. We opped for a Supra 2J-GZE stock intercooler it was barrel type but it was cheap and we was not rolling in d mula. It looks something like this:

It reduced charge air somewhat so we could make more than 3 drag passes without heatingup the engine.

so front mounted with new piping and we painted it red :D :

Also brought in that K&N filter, one time our left indicator light fell out. INSTANT cold air intake LOL :D :lol:

Around this time, we broke our first B6T gearbox, by using the wrong oil, Castrol LSD gearoil, it was thick like mud. broke 3rd gear and powdered the crown gears in the diff. So this is where the creation of the Mazda Club has a part to play. So we went by Chaguanas Auto Supplies to fix the gearbox which was $1500.00 just to open it just to tell us the 3rd gear break and the crown gears bad. so we was in a mess, could not find a gearbox anywhere. Then we started looking at other mazda gearboxes, mainly 626 because of the same spline clutch and axle. We got a gearbox from devrat on tuner, and found the box was identical just the belhousing had to change and we on. Later on we found out that the final ratio on the 626 was 3.9 and B6T 4.1 . So we got this old dude called zoot in la romain to switch the bellhousings. worked perfectly!.

We were slowly realising that mazda parts are very very interchangable!!!! so we started the Mazda Club in 2003.

Now, here is the thing, the B660(86'-87' B6T) gearbox is a little weaker than that B677(88'-89' B6T) with the newer model G-Type(turbo boxes, 626 boxes etc.) 5th gear. otherwise its the same box. So this means if u have to build a B660 box u need the older model 2.0 626(LX/GLX) box to match it, same goes for B677, u need the box from the 2.2 NA MX 626. Hope this not confusing you'all.... :wink:

We now use Redline 75W90NS. NS is for better shiftability, good for FWD transaxles.

Also about this time we changed complete redline products using Redline 20W50 Motor oil.

Later on we became distributors for this amazing product. Get yours now while stocks last LOL :D :D

I have an article where Mazda and Redline are meant for each other. Will look for it.
Last edited by MAZTUNE on September 1st, 2009, 11:33 am, edited 6 times in total.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 20th, 2009, 5:36 pm

MAZTUNE wrote: Seems like with the copper clutch, no hand brakes (we did not get time to hook up the cables yet) and an extremely loud exhaust the thieves was ketching their nenen to drive d car in the maracas hills where they were going to scrap the car.

lol ..

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 20th, 2009, 6:20 pm

remember the 323 bonnet opened that way
first 323 we had but i was to young to get licence then
only driving was in the cane roads
before the m1 m2 was paved

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 20th, 2009, 6:33 pm

MEMORIES!!!!
i remember ridin shotty with the original honda card'd mazda engine.
and when the B6T went it, WOWWWW! :twisted:

Postby 7143 » August 20th, 2009, 7:04 pm

MAZTUNE wrote::OK well got over the thief started concentrating on building and modifying we was not much on looks anymore. So first thing to do was upgrade that stock intercooler. We opped for a Supra 2J-GZE stock intercooler it was barrel type but it was cheap and we was not rolling in d mula. It looks something like this:

so front mounted with new piping and we painted it red :D :

the build now takin shape.....so this has to be the main plot of the story.....let meh go and get meh :popcorn:

Postby cinco » August 20th, 2009, 9:35 pm

nice
im subscribed!

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 20th, 2009, 10:50 pm

lots more to go ppl we now reach 2005 :D :D

sometime in 2005, we installed a MSD Blaster SS coil thinking a coil alone does something. WRONG!!.

it actually put gave the distributor ignition module too much work eventually blowing it. Its like taking a small man and trying to push a big rock up a hill. Putting an MSD 6A is like giving the man a tractor to carry the big rock up the hill.

So we replaced the module and installed a MSD 6A ignition but the problem with mazda EGI ignition systems we needed something to step down voltage a MSD tach 8910 adaptor to get the ignition "pickup"

Now some people feel that this mod does not do much to a performance engine. MSD means Multiple Spark Discharge so where one spark used to carry power though the RPM range, dropping off at the top of the rev there is now many sparks for the same time of one.With the MSD system the power was carried THOUGHOUT the entire rev range. So in other words power straight up to the rev limit at 7000RPM.
Last edited by MAZTUNE on August 21st, 2009, 11:38 am, edited 3 times in total.

demented

Postby demented » August 20th, 2009, 11:11 pm

ooooo......aftermarket goodies coming in to play....... :twisted:

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 20th, 2009, 11:28 pm

The left brake rotor started go beyond minimum thickness so we brought in some KVR slotter rotors for the front with GOLD cad plating. Now braking is one of the marvels of this laser because, all the brake upgrades we proceeded to do was meant for a BF 323 which is slightly heavier than the laser so its stopping a lighter car.

now the question arises why slotted why not crossdrilled?? now slotted actually cuts to pad to create more braking and does get hotter dan a stock rotor. crossdrilled achieves more braking though keeping the brake rotor cool. the ideal situation is the crossdrilled and slotted rotors but for the laser only slotted was available at the time. if we could get the best of both worlds dat would be d real scene.

later on that year we ordered in KVR performance pads for the front and rear. The thing about the BF 323 18V brake caliper is its the same as the 9.6 small rotor(LX/GLX) but it uses a wider pad to compensate for the 10.2" GT/GTX front disc. still did not put on the rear pads its still in a box somwhere....

We also changed the booster to the 7/8" BF booster from the wagon or GT/GTX. this is a nice upgrade just need to slightly tap the firewall lip for the booster to fit. Also changed the proportional valve (junction box) first to a wagon that has bigger drums (70% front, 30% rear) and then to a GTX type (60% front/ 40%) rear. Ever notice when you put rear disc brakes on a car meant for drums you dont see it shiny?? thats why :D :D u need to get this valve, you prob will get less brakes than you had before without it.

Last edited by MAZTUNE on August 21st, 2009, 7:09 pm, edited 3 times in total.

southside crew

Postby southside crew » August 21st, 2009, 8:05 am

NICE MAN!!!!

Postby 7143 » August 21st, 2009, 12:44 pm

ah yes..first ignition and then brakes...thing lookin real good now....ah hada watch meh laser in ah different way now yes....

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 21st, 2009, 1:11 pm

ok so we now in 2006 we started doing a lil racing in wallers :

the best time we did in wallers was 14.8 but started losing compression in the old faithful B6T. We also realised chop spring and tokico "taiwanese" oil shocks was not cutting it. So we invested in some Intrax performance lowering springs and Tokico HP struts. These are FWD 86-89 BF 323 specs which is also BD 323/laser. The car actually was the same height as our cut springs but much much better handling and less body roll.

We also changed the entire rear axle of the laser to a 323 GT model with a thicker rear sway bar.

The other guy(323 BF wagon) in the pic is the famous Computerman running his recently installed E5T enjoying himself. Please note his helmet is larger dan is seems LOL

Last edited by MAZTUNE on August 23rd, 2009, 10:08 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby 7143 » August 21st, 2009, 1:55 pm

suspension upgrades for a laser...lard first time i hear about that......and padna that time 14.8...daz damn good....

Postby 7143 » August 21st, 2009, 1:56 pm

*patientli wait for the rest of MAZTUNE,'s story*

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 21st, 2009, 3:05 pm

wow, i just learned alot about brakes there yes, proportining valves and such, makes plenty sense, nice read, very informative

Return to “MAZDA”