Thursday, June 20th, 2013

- It is currently Thu Jun 20, 2013 7:59 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 290 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10  Next
GaviTrak
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 11:12 am 

Founded in NC USA in 2007, GaviTrak GPS Alarms are now available in Trinidad and Tobago!

GaviTrak GPS Alarms offers the customer
-24hr armed security response
-state of the art technologies at an affordable price
-the ability to know exactly where their car is located
-remote control of vehicles from anywhere in the world (via web or mobile phone)
-monitor conversations in and around the car
-call back feature allows system to call your cell phone or the police
-speed alerts and geo-fencing for teens
-in-car and remote panic button
-central lock automation
-alerts sent directly to mobile phone

Sample map:

With the purchase of any of our GaviTrak products customers also have
-access to our 24 hour vehicle recovery at a discounted rate
-access to our call support
-free software for their mobile phones
-the ability to view their location on google maps
-one year warranty on systems
-access to on-site technicians for installations

All our prices have been reduced!

GaviTrak GPS Vehicle Alarms for consumers now TT$2999
GaviTrak Personal Tracker now TT$2599

Questions/ Comments?
web: http://www.gavitrak.com
phone: 299-4GPS (4477)

Last edited by GaviTrak on Mon Apr 06, 2009 10:02 am, edited 4 times in total.

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

MadCrix
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 5:39 pm 

technically, it will allow u to recover your car.. i like it.. sounds interesting....

Torque: How far you take the wall with you.

V2NR 3.0
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:52 pm 

How is this different from other vehicle recovery systems

0awg
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 11:35 pm 

booge, this one uses gsm (cell phone) wavelengths to transmit info while the other system on the market uses radio freq.

I called the # toady & they said they will come home & do the install for you if you please (sunday to sunday). the firm lazes with a local (undisclosed to me ) security agency that deals with vehicle recovery.

& as to which mobile phones are compatible: well the higher model ones you can use to get maps & see exactly where your car is etc but it is also compatible with the lower model cellphones where you will be sent info via text (if your alarm goes off, listen to convo in the car etc)

nice offer I must say.

mods: if any info was disclosed in this post that GaviTrak does not want to be disclosed publicly plz edit accordingly.

V2NR 3.0
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 8:39 am 

Interesting. So basically you can shut your car down via a cell phone. However, if someone dials your number by mistake to the phone which is wired into the vehicle, would it shut it down in error? - What safeguard is against this. What about areas where there are no cell reception?

N_A_K
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 8:41 am 
this sounds pretty good......

4 Eyes
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 9:46 am 

booge wrote:
Interesting. So basically you can shut your car down via a cell phone. However, if someone dials your number by mistake to the phone which is wired into the vehicle, would it shut it down in error? - What safeguard is against this. What about areas where there are no cell reception?

The system can be programed to accept calls from 2-3 cell plones. To shut down you have to send the command via text message which is password coded. It will accept text messages form any phone once you input the password with each command BUT will only accept calls from the phone # it is programed to accept.

MadCrix
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:06 am 

its vvery similar to the alarm system i have home.. its gsm based as well

Torque: How far you take the wall with you.

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 4:26 pm 

MadCrix wrote:
its vvery similar to the alarm system i have home.. its gsm based as well
yeh crix, deens shoulda call me to do that one for allyuh though.. wuda get it much cheaper :)

0awg
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 11:29 pm 

booge, this guy Ron17 wil be able to answer your questions.

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2009 2:09 am 

^^ yup, so far all questions have been answered here, but feel free to post other questions in this forum or call the office 299-4GPS

AbuStar
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:29 pm 

will check it out

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 7:24 pm 

GPRS systems relay your position over the internet to a remote server that puts your position on a map, dunno bout GSM or if its te same as devices that report over SMS

NorStar2K
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 7:28 pm 

This all sounds excellent, but I'm curious about recovery rates.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 7:38 pm 

^^ or who wud do response in an emergeny, is it a 3rd party?

GaviTrak
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:16 am 

A 3rd party specialising in security and rapid response is responsible for vehicle recovery. Being one of our partner companies, they have agreed to offer from 20% - 50% discounts on recovery. All rates are situation dependent. Please note we have decided to go this route as this is only paid for when/ if needed. Hence, no subscriptions fees.

Customers thus have the option to rely on the police (which is free) or their preferred recovery company, to retrieve stolen vehicles as the customer is aware of the precise location of the vehicle.

Captainzaak
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 11:50 am 

GaviTrak GPS Alarms for consumers now TT$3000
GaviTrak Personal Tracker now TT$2600

Does the personal tracker come with the GPS alarm or do i have to purchase both things separately?

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:22 pm 

Captainzaak - it depends on what type of security your looking at. GPS Alarms are for vehicles while the personal trackers are what you keep on your person.

The personal tracker has all the GPS functions of the GPS Alarm minus the car alarm of course. :)

warrenc_alexis
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 1:32 pm 

Question: If the vehicle already has an alarm (like a viper) do i still have to purchase the gps alarm for $3K or is there a gps tracker that can be used with the existing alarm..

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 7:53 am 

warrenc_alexis wrote:
Question: If the vehicle already has an alarm (like a viper) do i still have to purchase the gps alarm for $3K or is there a gps tracker that can be used with the existing alarm..
You will still have to purchase the GPS alarm for the TTD$3000.

RB~Man
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:44 am 

so should sumone leave car search and make the switch.???

bird want a ride
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:09 pm 

is this register with insurance companies?

banzai
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 4:48 pm 

What other costs are there, eg wouldn't I have to pay for a sim to be used in the car and te data charge? Is itreliant on the quaity of the cell network?
Thanks

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:29 pm 

banzai wrote:
What other costs are there, eg wouldn't I have to pay for a sim to be used in the car and te data charge? Is itreliant on the quaity of the cell network?
Thanks

This is a GPS not GSM

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 1:24 am 

RB~Man
You have the same features as car search at real time (as you are alerted immediately when your car is tampered with) plus a few additional features at a lower cost (no sub fees). So its up to you to decide, but I switched :)

bird want a ride
You get discounts from all insurance companies once you have additional safety/ anti-theft devices in your vehicle. We are working with a few of the larger companies to offer an even further discount for our brand (this is still in negotiations). If your insurance company doesn't offer discounts for GPS (in the year 2009) switch insurance companies :)

banzai
There is no charges applied for GPS however, for the GSM side of things there is a charge for SMS, and voice (not a data charge) which averages around $10 every 3 months (this is basically to keep the SIM active). GSM is also reliant on the cell network in Trinidad and Tobago and we do have a preferred network. This has shown us a 98% coverage rate as opposed to a 93% coverage rate for the other network. (I don't know if legally I can say which is which here but you can figure it out). We are not locked in to any mobile provider, so the customer has the choice of carrier.

hopes this answers your questions.

chanders
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 5:10 am 

is there any advantage with this compared to the services provided by EBSLTT Executive Bogyguard services.....?

biggy82
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:52 am 

Ron17, with the cellular signal blocking technology that exists, if a thief were to place such a blocking device in the vehicle, will you not be able to track it? or be able to remotely shut the vehicle down?

0awg
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:57 am 

biggy82 wrote:
Ron17, with the cellular signal blocking technology that exists, if a thief were to place such a blocking device in the vehicle, will you not be able to track it? or be able to remotely shut the vehicle down?

This is something that has been bothering me awhile now.

seanviper
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 9:09 am 

this system seems very promising
will continue monitoring this forum to make mydecision :lol:

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 5:33 pm 

chanders
There are several differences,
1. GaviTrak has more features and is much cheaper than EBSL (EBSL monthly fee = $105, GaviTrak monthly fee = $0);
2. GaviTrak alerts the customer (on their mobile) in real-time if there is an issue with their vehicle (EBSL does not);
3. Our system is an alarm as well;
4. You have the option to shut down your car as soon as you are alerted.

biggy82
yes if they have a good GSM blocker they can stop you from sending the shut down to your vehicle. (Similar to both car search and EBSL). However, a good blocker is expensive for the average car thief to walk around with (not all of them work) and they have to know you have this device in your vehicle to walk prepared.

The advantage of GaviTrak over EBSL and car search here however is that once they begin to tamper with your car you have the few precious seconds to shut off your car (as you are alerted immediately) with the other companies you wont know a blocker is in place until its too late.

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 290 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10  Next