help! swift alignment......

Posted: January 5th, 2012, 8:06 am
by *KRONIK*
i put on my new wheels and tyres on my 2009 swift

i find the car pulling to the left..

so i took it to the alignment shop closest to me and the said "the alignment good, but the camber off"

so they adjusted it to suit...

i usually dont have problems with the alignment these do but i think they fcuked up my car!

the wheel with the adjusted camber looks bend compared to the others (positive) and all the rest look straight to slight negative, and now it pulling to the left even more and the steering not staying straight....

where can i go to have this problem fixed??

the firm say i go hav to bring it and leave it and i cant really lose a half day work just 4 dat.....

Re: help! swift alignment......

Posted: January 5th, 2012, 8:51 am
by whizpig
i can only suggest another alignment shop, i trust boyie's in tacarigua. they are kinda old fashioned but it works.

Posted: January 5th, 2012, 12:31 pm
by chris1388
opposite andy's wheel shop in arouca, they too are old fashioned but they real good.

Posted: January 6th, 2012, 7:05 am
by *KRONIK*
ill see if i can check dem next week

can u guys post some directions for those places?

Posted: January 6th, 2012, 6:23 pm
by chris1388
Turn off the highway by pricemart and get onto the eastern main road. Turn left on the main road and proceed until you reach the silver bridge. Cross the bridge and continue driving on the main road. Look for TJ's auto supplies on the left. The alignment shop is adjacent to there on the opposite side of the road. So just drive past TJ's slowly and look to your right.....you'll see a ramp like where the cars go up. If you want a computer alignment to specs and stuff I think you would have to go elsewhere, theres a place off chaguanas main road called montezumas you can also check there.

But the guys I am sending you buy will check the car properly in addition to aligning it.

Posted: January 7th, 2012, 7:08 am
by *KRONIK*
cool!,

wats their avg cost?

Posted: January 7th, 2012, 3:24 pm
by chris1388
The place in arouca they charge 60$ to align the car. I think its 40 a side to camber.

Posted: January 8th, 2012, 7:14 am
by *KRONIK*
word....
cuz i heard bout a guy in cleaver woods who duz charge 1200 to align....
i was like WTF....

and i know LSM charges me 138 for alignment....
never had to adjust camber so i just pricing it out before i go somewhere

Posted: January 8th, 2012, 8:16 pm
by Rx
Milage Mack South... guys there real good with alignmnet

Posted: January 9th, 2012, 6:47 am
by *KRONIK*
tooo far....

i from the far east...

Posted: January 9th, 2012, 4:04 pm
by DSM_05
With that problem, and given the swifts t-beam rear suspension, you may have to end up doing more than just an alignment.......the assembly MAY need to be changed.

Hope not though - let us know how it fares.

Posted: January 10th, 2012, 1:23 am
by chris1388
DSM_05 wrote:With that problem, and given the swifts t-beam rear suspension, you may have to end up doing more than just an alignment.......the assembly MAY need to be changed.

He has a 2008 swift i think....that just have a cross member in the back i believe

Posted: January 10th, 2012, 5:55 am
by *KRONIK*
^^^2009

Posted: January 10th, 2012, 8:24 am
by DSM_05
chris1388 wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:With that problem, and given the swifts t-beam rear suspension, you may have to end up doing more than just an alignment.......the assembly MAY need to be changed.

He has a 2008 swift i think....that just have a cross member in the back i believe

QUE?

At any rate, unless the Swift uses independent rear suspension, then chances are the rear suspension is a derivative of the basic torsion beam setup - to which end my comments still apply - you may need a replacement assembly due to manf'r defect. Or at a minimum you may need some shims or some other adjustment to camber and toe back in line. Seen it happen on other cars before (1 swift, 1 tiida).

Look at how fast LM may try to wiggle out of this one.

If the '09 swift uses independent rear suspension....then thank your lucky stars....should be an easy fix.

Posted: January 11th, 2012, 4:43 am
by *KRONIK*
is the front they adjust^^^

how the rear being affected ??

Posted: January 11th, 2012, 6:54 am
by DSM_05
^^Well from your original post, you never specified which wheel...F or R, Left or right. (re read it). So readers would have to assume/guess/use magic etc.

Sometimes, alignment problems with cars using t-beam rear suspension or derivatives of it come from a faulty rear assembly...assuming the front is in good shape and not damaged.

The shop may have dropped down the camber on the front wheel on one side to compensate for that perhaps.

Or maybe the shop was just incompetent.

Keep in mind that wider wheels and tyres may have made a problem that was already there, a little more noticeable to you (i.e. the initial pull you noticed).

Posted: January 11th, 2012, 4:07 pm
by *KRONIK*
DSM_05 wrote:^^Well from your original post, you never specified which wheel...F or R, Left or right. (re read it). So readers would have to assume/guess/use magic etc.

ohhhh...
i thought it was understood these cars dont carry adjustment in the rear..so it would be obvious it was front i was speaking of

DSM_05 wrote:Sometimes, alignment problems with cars using t-beam rear suspension or derivatives of it come from a faulty rear assembly...assuming the front is in good shape and not damaged.

The shop may have dropped down the camber on the front wheel on one side to compensate for that perhaps.

Or maybe the shop was just incompetent.

Keep in mind that wider wheels and tyres may have made a problem that was already there, a little more noticeable to you (i.e. the initial pull you noticed).

car is good...
no accidents or even hit any potholes hard cuz i duz drive rel slow....

i believe that the camber was adjusted to compensate for some flaw in the vehicle's alignment....

also, i agree that there was some sort incompetence because the shop usually has the exact model stated on the HUNTER for all the vehicles i carry/carried there which is a lot, but the exact model swift was on the system but they said the specs they were using were for the same vehicle....

i also did change wheels/tyres
i went from OEM 185/70/15 in a 5 inch wheel to 195/55/15 in a 7inch wheel
so i would assume this accounts for the now very noticeable change in the alignment....

Posted: January 11th, 2012, 5:44 pm
by chris1388
*KRONIK* wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:^^Well from your original post, you never specified which wheel...F or R, Left or right. (re read it). So readers would have to assume/guess/use magic etc.

ohhhh...
i thought it was understood these cars dont carry adjustment in the rear..so it would be obvious it was front i was speaking of

This is what I was confused about too when he started mentioning thing bout torsion beam and thing...i know my car doh have nun you could adjust back there...toe nor camber nothing! Its just the front.

You reach by the ppl in arouca kronik ?

Posted: January 12th, 2012, 4:55 am
by *KRONIK*
chris1388 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

ohhhh...

This is what I was confused about too when he started mentioning thing bout torsion beam and thing...i know my car doh have nun you could adjust back there...toe nor camber nothing! Its just the front.

You reach by the ppl in arouca kronik ?

yeah it duz happen sometimes
LOL

nah boy.... me eh reach yet....
i been really busy this whole week
work, runnin away from work, half day in Liscencing office everyday so far, pressure, wifey using the car in between tooo.....
so i gonna have to plan like clockwork....