Details - Both plugs share the following characteristics:

Wrench size:16,0 mm
Thread diameter:14,0 mm
Thread Length:19,0 mm
Spark gap:1,10 mm
Middle electrode material:Iridium
Number of electrodes:1
Resistance:5k ohm

However, inspection of the images below show that the difference is in the shape of the ground electrode.
Personally, I prefer the shape of the smaller electrode in the BRK6EIX-11, as it blocks the centre electrode less.
Might use these in my next service. And they super cheap too.

IFR6J11 vs BRK6EIX-11
ImagevsImage

Alpha_2nr

Re: SSS Spark Plugs - IFR6J11 vs BRK6EIX-11

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 26th, 2011, 10:34 am

I prefer the shape of the smaller electrode in the BRK6EIX-11, as it blocks the centre electrode less.

Eh? You make it sound as if the Iridium IX's are superior.

They aren't.

THey're cheaper because they use a slightly lower grade of electrode construction than the laser iridium/platinum (IFR and PFR) plugs.

The IFR and PFR's use a platinum top electrode/pad on the ground electrode. The EIX's use a lower grade (Steel???) electrode, with no platinum. The exotic metal (iridium) is only in the tip, and that's it.

The shape of the ground electrode on the EIX's isn't due to a superior design AFAIK, but supposedly due to the metal being used (which isn't platinum).

Either way, it doesn't make a big difference......technically IMHO the Laser Iridiums/Laser Platinums are the better constructed plug, and NGK contends that the IFR's and PFR's will outlast the Iridium IX's (email them if you don't believe me)....and that the IFR/PFR is their best design/best plug.

But again, not really a big deal, given the lower price!

It's a common plug....I think Denso's IK20 is also equivalent to this.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » January 26th, 2011, 11:25 am

Maybe I think its superior, despite the Laser Iridium having a platinum disc on the ground electrode.
Just my opinion... not forcing anyone to agree with me...
And given that I am intending on changing plugs at 30k km, the extra lifetime of the platinum disc becomes irrelevant.
In my experience, platinum and iridium plugs do not come anywhere close to their claimed lifetimes.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 26th, 2011, 11:46 am

mihself wrote:Either way, it doesn't make a big difference......technically IMHO the Laser Iridiums/Laser Platinums are the better constructed plug, and NGK contends that the IFR's and PFR's will outlast the Iridium IX's (email them if you don't believe me)....and that the IFR/PFR is their best design/best plug.

But again, not really a big deal, given the lower price!

Big Z wrote:And given that I am intending on changing plugs at 30k km, the extra lifetime of the platinum disc becomes irrelevant.

Yes.

I established that the IX's will work just as fine, at lower cost :roll:

Big Z

Postby Big Z » January 26th, 2011, 11:54 am

lol :D

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » January 26th, 2011, 6:15 pm

also the laser ones are harder to find i believe....i get the IX's easily so i always bought those. I don't run my plugs 30k tho even tho they say it will last that long....the plugs not that expensive so i prefer changing them every year and a half or so

Postby pete » January 27th, 2011, 9:24 am

Where ah cud get the BRK6EIX-11 in central and how much for 4?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 27th, 2011, 10:41 am

^^Check Tuner Imports on this forum.

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » January 30th, 2011, 3:53 pm

been calling around outside the company for the IFR6J11's and cant seem to locate them.anyone knows any parts place that have these in stock for under $100 each?

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » January 30th, 2011, 6:00 pm

^^they pretty hard to get....just buy the iridium IX ones....just as good

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » January 31st, 2011, 7:24 pm

would the BRK7EIX-11 work on the sport?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » January 31st, 2011, 8:43 pm

I would stick to the BKR6 and not use the 7....
Too cold a plug and you may have fouling of the plug. I would stick to the 6 heat range plug.
Chris seems to have good results with it so far.. well, he not complaining :D

EDIT: Just double checked the manual... a heat range 6 plug is used in all of the Swifts.
Try your luck with the heat range 7 if ya want, but monitor how it burns (pull plug regularly and check the color and condition)
Last edited by Big Z on January 31st, 2011, 9:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » January 31st, 2011, 8:50 pm

isnt the heat range on the suzuki sport plugs 7?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » January 31st, 2011, 8:55 pm

Nope.. heat range six
IFR6J11

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » January 31st, 2011, 9:54 pm

I using them IX plugs for more than a year now....and car pulling just as good as when i put them in. Only use the heat range 7 plug if u have mods on the engine....for instance...rado may want to start using a heat range 7 plug. For our stock cars, stick to the 6

Postby pete » January 31st, 2011, 10:32 pm

LM put 5s in my car. I found the car drove like crap and put back in the original 6s.

jdmignis

Postby jdmignis » February 1st, 2011, 8:12 am

hi guys i cant find the ifr6j11 so im using ifr6e11 the car feels great also i jus switch to royal purple 10-40 syn.. but wha r the differences between the ifr6j11 and ifr6e11?? btw im from barbados

Big Z

Postby Big Z » February 1st, 2011, 9:27 am

IFR6E11

Looks like the difference is in the ground electrode. Cant say much else.

jdmignis

Postby jdmignis » February 2nd, 2011, 9:36 am

ok thanks

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » February 2nd, 2011, 9:57 am

Z, on the suzuki sport site the heat range for the upgraded plugs are 7. Ignorant Ignis could confirm if this is correct

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 2nd, 2011, 10:23 am

^^Yep that's correct, the Suzuki Sport "race" plugs are heat range 7.

Remember, Suzuki Sport parts are NOT the OEM parts on the Swift Sport.

You generally want to use colder plugs once you start to move up in the hp range....such as with forced induction.

IIRC, there was a rule of thumb, one step colder for every 50 hp you gain or something like that.

Remember, too cold plugs will foul faster (as was said above).

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » February 2nd, 2011, 11:33 am

All in all...we should all be using 6 with the exception only of maybe rado

avr101

Postby avr101 » February 21st, 2011, 12:32 pm

where did you guys source your spark plugs? (except the dealer)

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 21st, 2011, 1:00 pm

mihself wrote:^^Check Tuner Imports on this forum.

dynamic1

Postby dynamic1 » February 24th, 2011, 10:14 pm

What type of plugs should I use on an 06 Grand Vitara? It's due for change and I was thinking of the IX NGK or the IK Denso but I'm not sure which heat range to use. The manual says for Europe the 2.0 should use the NGK IFR5J11 and non Europe the NGK BKR6E11 however the ones that are presently in the engine (Installed by the firm) are the BKR5E11. I also noticed that Alpha_2nr said that the IFR's are superior to the IX's, but could I use the IFR on my Vitara?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » February 24th, 2011, 10:29 pm

Check your owner's manual... Most likely an NGK 5 heat range is recommended.
The IFR will last longer than the BKR, so its just a matter of economics and personal preference.

I purchased a set of Denso IK16 for the Corolla and I prefer this to the NGK BKR5EIX-11, due to the presence of the U groove on the ground electrode and the 0.4mm iridium centre electrode.
Again... the Denso is more expensive, so it's a matter of economics and personal preference.

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » February 25th, 2011, 9:59 am

use the IFR from lifestyle. installed them on wifey 2009 vitara and made a hell of a difference with take off and acceleration. it's worth the $100.00 a plug

avr101

Postby avr101 » February 25th, 2011, 1:11 pm

Lifestyle don't have anymore of the IRF6J11, nor does tuner imports... anyone knows where I can source them? thanks

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 25th, 2011, 2:48 pm

^^Tuner Imports would have had the BKR6EIX-11.

If not, try ADAH303 on the forums, or any other vendor.

That BKR plug is very popular, with a wide range of uses.

spanglish1 wrote:use the IFR from lifestyle. installed them on wifey 2009 vitara and made a hell of a difference with take off and acceleration

uh huh.....ok :|

Big Z

Postby Big Z » February 25th, 2011, 3:42 pm

Return to “SUZUKI”