K&N air filter for SX4

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

GerardJason

K&N air filter for SX4

Postby GerardJason » March 15th, 2012, 12:44 pm

Which part can i get a K&N air filter for my SX4? and whats the price?

whizpig

Re: K&N air filter for SX4

Postby whizpig » March 15th, 2012, 2:44 pm

QuickBits in curepe, eastern side of the southern mainroad, next to Sita's bar

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 18th, 2012, 12:32 am

whats the average price?

do u guys notice a difference with these filters?

whizpig

Postby whizpig » March 18th, 2012, 7:04 am

Hey skids, i don't have an sx4 so don't know the price for that specific filter, but the swift sport was $300 i think, and as for noticing a difference, i doh know, i never installed the replacement filter on my car, i installed the cone filter, and yes there is a difference, you hear it, you feel it you like it. $900+something for the full cone filter kit, comes with MAF sensor adapter (i believe a guy was trying to sell one on the forum for $500), the cone filter, hose clamps, a bracket, tie straps, and a 2.5 inch diameter hose to duct cold air to the filter

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 18th, 2012, 11:41 pm

sounds good whizpig.....ill check it out..

aidan

Postby aidan » March 20th, 2012, 10:49 pm

^^I didn't feel a difference in my 05 M13A jimny, but I did notice better fuel mileage! Gonna drop one in the SX4 soon.

whizpig, did you install a CAI in a SS? I think the setup will be the same in the SX4. Would like some more info pleeze :D

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 20th, 2012, 10:52 pm

If you put anything other that the drop in filter you shall void your warranty. No cones.

For the drop in filter contact W2J on the forum.

whizpig

Postby whizpig » March 21st, 2012, 6:38 am

NorStar2K, thanks for clearing up everyone's thoughts on the effect of cone filter on warranty, my warranty was up anyway.

Aiden, not sure what more info you want, the K&N induction kit is more of a short ram than a CAI, and i installed it according to the directions that came with the kit. It should be known that short ram pulls in hot air from the engine bay with the exception of the hose the kit provides to to bring cold air up to the filter from under the front bumper (which is where the instructions say to attach it). So cold air only gets up to the filter when the car is moving and hence forcing air up the hose.
There are things to note about this:
    1. water, dust, mud, insects, etc. anything the hose encounters will end up on the filter
    2. i don't know if this will happen with everyone, but it is possible to force more air into the engine than it car handle using this kit (i talked about this in my "You should know thread") the cure for that is management or positioning of the hose and or filter, once you follow the instructions, that won't happen, if you go messing with it like i did, you can run into problems

Return to “SUZUKI”