all yuh DIE HARD VW people

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

JETTA1000

all yuh DIE HARD VW people

Postby JETTA1000 » October 14th, 2009, 12:58 am

is real true once yuh drive a VW yuh doh want nothing else
but when u start getting serious engine problems jus so yuh start to panic
cuz yuh freighten de repair bill go cos u yuh ZEN money

de limin money na
AHH doh talk about the NEW JETTA with the 1.4TSI ENGINE AND
7 SPEED DSG TRANSMISSION NO TORQUE CONVERTER IF I IM CORRECT
DAT THING FAST and yuh getting 47 MPG that is UK Mpg i believe
about 44 mpg the US unit TIPTRONIC Too with SPORT MODE

ah feel like buying one 2moro unfortunately my pocket eh dat that deep
so i have to wait and i know all yuh go see meh in ZEN next week

so le wee talk about these cars i do meh lil research and thing

JETTA1000

WHY a VW?

Postby JETTA1000 » October 14th, 2009, 8:26 am

To all the new VW people i don't want to frighten all yuh and make u think
u bought a 3000lb headache on wheels
These cars have their advantages

1 built in immobiliser very tough to steal vehicle unless you are at gunpoint
you WOULD NOT need carsearch and multilock and kill switch and
dem thing
the locks are designed so they go flush into the doors so if you are parked
and sitting in the car with your window down
no one can try to pull the lock open and the pull you out of the car

2 you cant lock your keys in the car
that isnt possible with the factory keyless entry
remote the only way would mean you have to use the spare
remote or key to lock the car and the other master key would be inside
some other car makers have similar system one MASTER remote key
and a VaLET key remote which only opens doors

3 nice acceleration i doh mine a lil turbo power

4 THE ABS SYSTEM ON VW /audi I LIKE NO JERK
FRONT OF THE CAR DOESNT TIP FORWARD
ONLY IF YOU MASH REAL SHARP
soft brake pad material allow brakes to bed faster
better friction ,That is why all dem RIMs on the AUDI does have
dat black residue

5 Tight suspension corners real nice
I could o 120 in meh 2.0 BORA without the car
sppinnin out

6 5 star safety rating seat and curtain airbags
galvanised heavy construction with specially
engineered crumple zones and aluminum alloy cradle arms
designed to dissipate compressive forces

Saving the driver

AND 12 YEAR RUST WARRANTY ah wonder if they would honor it??

7 if you have factory cd player or cd changer u dont have to worry
about someone breaking your window and stealing it like what
happened with boras and golfs in de earlys which didnt come with afactory system

JETTA1000

Postby JETTA1000 » October 14th, 2009, 9:21 am

DISADVANTAGES
WELL i know some people had nightmares with their cars

apart from the obvious bad resale value in more japanese
market and very hard to find a good mechanic to do a little
PJ on your car let we look at some of the problem that you all
had encountered with your VW

lets look on the technical side a little
1999 - 2005 Bora and golf

The car has to much weight in the front end
that to me would explain front tyres always wearing as
if it were underflated or overinflated unlike A BMW weight is evenly distributed
i would say that the Passat or AUDI A4 A6 A8 these engines are longitudinal
and have similar design to BMW even some of the SAME MAF sensors are used
in both VW /AUDI AND BMW

sensors tend to fail may after 100k or less water pump is made with plastic
there is metal replacement

however belts are made tough i havent seen a timing belt stripped on one these
if any one has it would be bcuz of an oil leak or the camshaft seal doesnt leak
only after high mileage 150k or more anyone doing 150 K and above on their
VW let me know what problem u are getting post it here dont be shy

PARTS ARE high priced if you dont shop around a little yuh go geh rob
but there a few sources you could get basic serciceable items air filter pollen filter
oil filter reasonable not to bus yuh pocket

too much cheap polycarbonate plastic parts the engine
coolant flange cracks air breather hose gets brittle
oil fumes from The EGR system is the culprit plastic absorbs
oil fumes and gets brittle over time
these can be fixed inexpensively if you sources your parts from the us
and use a little elbow grease

time running if any body have problrm wtih the VW post it
i might be able to help

rampie4u

Postby rampie4u » November 6th, 2009, 4:37 am

vw bora in TT .. the odometer is in miles of kilos ?

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » November 7th, 2009, 2:47 am

haha, even in canada people still consider VW german garbage.

EuroSpec Auto

Postby EuroSpec Auto » March 10th, 2010, 11:22 pm

They could afford to consider what they want but when have you ever seen a Canadian built automobile - go figure.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » March 10th, 2010, 11:32 pm

EuroSpec Auto wrote:They could afford to consider what they want but when have you ever seen a Canadian built automobile - go figure.

X10000

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » March 11th, 2010, 6:47 pm

Actually, VW is in the top 10 best selling car in Canada.

trinsimon

Postby trinsimon » March 14th, 2010, 12:11 am

had a bora. worst headache ever, tranny was no good, spent a cool $20000 (9000 and 6months later 11000) on tranny repairs and if i didnt get a bligh it woulda been upward of $30000...ha..iid never go back VW, at least not in trini. I know of 3other bora owners who instead of fixing or changing tranny, they did a total swap. Rather pay the audi price and drive one.

bcozier

Postby bcozier » March 25th, 2010, 11:19 pm

Ah think u mistaken bout the bora...I hav one, just spent over 15k on the tranny,
But what I realise is that u have to do preventative maintaince on these vehicle
Get ah good mechanic who knows his way around ah VW
Don't go by just any mechanic, cause ah b14 an ah bora is 2 different thing
I learned the hard way

trinsimon

Postby trinsimon » March 26th, 2010, 9:21 pm

went by patrick in pt.lisas, ah know rel men bad talk that company,but the man is a proper vw man. i service by dole also,but dole doesnt do tranny work. 15k is normal. As i said, i get ah bligh. the 1st time when i spent 9k it was my diff, second time can't really remember, but a pin recessed and some kinda other crap.

trinsimon

Postby trinsimon » March 26th, 2010, 9:24 pm

I believe preventative maintenance plays a big role in maintaining and avoiding costly problems in all vehicles, but for me personally, i lost confidence in vw. Sorry i know some men might get offended,but truth be told, almost d same as drivin a french car.

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » March 27th, 2010, 12:16 pm

trinsimon wrote:I believe preventative maintenance plays a big role in maintaining and avoiding costly problems in all vehicles, but for me personally, i lost confidence in vw. Sorry i know some men might get offended,but truth be told, almost d same as drivin a french car.

I own a few VWs, well 5 actually, including a 2001 1J Bora V5 with 170 PS. So far it has done 40K miles and no mechanical issues. Yes it has had corrective work on the nearside front door regulator and the glovebox stoped working which was repaired and reglued. It is serviced every 10K miles as per VW schedule. Going to Paris and back to the UK is not a problem what so ever. On the other end of the scale I have a 97 VR6 with 135K miles on it with a dyno proven 193bhp@5800rpm and 199lbft@4300rpm. This vehicle is also serviced as per VW schedule and anything that seems untoward is investigated and replaced with OE parts.
This car has no problem lapping up the 100 mile round trip to work and back for 5 days and there are many times when it has been driven to 13* mph including VAX of 147mph on the Autobahn. Even though this car is my daily it is about to be fitted with Koni adjustables dampers and Eibach springs with powerfex purple bushings and a rear anti roll bar, then take it to the Nürburgring Nordschleife for a proper shake down with other VAG enthusiasts There is even a plan to take to its original place of birth, Wolfsburg. This is easily a 2500 mile trip that the vehicle will do no problem, then return to daily commute activity back in the UK. So it sounds to me you have had poor support for this vehicle back in Trinidad. Hence the analogy with French crap, which may also have poor after market support.

trinsimon

Postby trinsimon » April 1st, 2010, 9:58 am

show off... :lol: jk
Personally i loved the service i got from Super Auto..although i've heard the complaints, the quality of service i got there, i never got anywhere else, including massy!!!

id go back there if i bump my head and own another vw, or get rich and own an audi.

There is in my humble opinion a fair amount of support (techs and parts) for these vehicles here. The problem most men down here have, is the money they have to put out for repairs that will inevitably occur due to the "harsh" driving conditions.Repairs that are unexpected and even untimely, but nevertheless inevitable.

The amount of vw's we've heard with overheating and interior problems. I've even heard enough peugeot men say the same thing, overheating and interior!!!!.... and i quote "almost d same as drivin a french car"

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 1st, 2010, 6:17 pm

OK..so what (100 - 300k) euro car can handle our heat and road conditions without going back crying to their mama every minute??????

trinsimon wrote:show off... :lol: jk
Personally i loved the service i got from Super Auto..although i've heard the complaints, the quality of service i got there, i never got anywhere else, including massy!!!

id go back there if i bump my head and own another vw, or get rich and own an audi.

There is in my humble opinion a fair amount of support (techs and parts) for these vehicles here. The problem most men down here have, is the money they have to put out for repairs that will inevitably occur due to the "harsh" driving conditions.Repairs that are unexpected and even untimely, but nevertheless inevitable.

The amount of vw's we've heard with overheating and interior problems. I've even heard enough peugeot men say the same thing, overheating and interior!!!!.... and i quote "almost d same as drivin a french car"

nes123

Postby nes123 » April 2nd, 2010, 5:12 pm

Skoda,Fiat,ford.....

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 2nd, 2010, 6:47 pm

nes123 wrote:Skoda,Fiat,ford.....

is fiat yuh say dey...i wouldn't mind one you know....
anyone have the new Punto? I'd like a local review of it....thinking of it as my next.

nes123

Postby nes123 » April 3rd, 2010, 6:43 pm

well I checked them last month and was to go for a test drive in the bravo 1.4T...but something came up...de price is right also..165k for any of the last 3 in the present batch in Trini, but from next batch coming in it will be 180k...punto was 125k and to raise to 140k

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 3rd, 2010, 8:04 pm

nes123 wrote:well I checked them last month and was to go for a test drive in the bravo 1.4T...but something came up...de price is right also..165k for any of the last 3 in the present batch in Trini, but from next batch coming in it will be 180k...punto was 125k and to raise to 140k

what!!! have to call meh partner in Sterling to check that...
all the punto sell out yet?
you know anyone with one..or the bravo?

nes123

Postby nes123 » April 3rd, 2010, 10:18 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
nes123 wrote:well I checked them last month and was to go for a test drive in the bravo 1.4T...but something came up...de price is right also..165k for any of the last 3 in the present batch in Trini, but from next batch coming in it will be 180k...punto was 125k and to raise to 140k

what!!! have to call meh partner in Sterling to check that...
all the punto sell out yet?
you know anyone with one..or the bravo?

is a fella name bret working there....not sure if they sell yet...but were down to last 3 units I believe for the bravo.....the bravo have some kinda eco engine that adapts to hot climates efficiently,can't remember the term used to describe it,but telling ya I sat in it, I was impressed...the quality is there..

sr20

Re: all yuh DIE HARD VW people

Postby sr20 » June 20th, 2010, 5:52 pm

Any one has any experience in having a Tiaguan
hoping to upgrade my sr20

Postby MG Man » June 22nd, 2010, 10:45 am

same basic engineering, so you should be ok

beatrix is back

Postby beatrix is back » July 21st, 2010, 2:20 pm

honeslty i love meh passat 1.8....acceleration brakin system, anti theft, it dont burn much gas , body is in excellent condition....everything i like

i just hate it when one thing goes bad everything else follows...transmission, then radiator...now back to transmission after i pass through flood ..the a/c not working all of a sudden...and horn going through,....it so damn expensive to even change de wind shield wiper....jeezz

hoping to sell it soon...but wanna fix things before i sell it....not much resale value either

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » July 25th, 2010, 6:12 pm

Yup, these cars run pretty good, safe and everything like you said. Maintenace wise one has to be on like a microscope. Well, I've learnt to change a few things on my own tru reading and online forums. the wiper takes about 2mins to change...lol. Started making my on stock-room with basic things.
I asked a mechanic one day, "when do I change my transmission oil?" - since it's bearings/metal that's working around the clock, crucial to the entire response of the cars' performance.
He said they don't usually change the oil, very seldomly.

Transmission oil is advise to change 40k-60,000mil for these vehicles for a longer life, the particles of grinding metal becomes a sludge this sometimes causes the gears to slip. Depending if your a city driver or highway. Same with the Audi's.

justwhatuseeing

Postby justwhatuseeing » July 30th, 2010, 9:21 pm

beatrix is back wrote:honeslty i love meh passat 1.8....acceleration brakin system, anti theft, it dont burn much gas , body is in excellent condition....everything i like

i just hate it when one thing goes bad everything else follows...transmission, then radiator...now back to transmission after i pass through flood ..the a/c not working all of a sudden...and horn going through,....it so damn expensive to even change de wind shield wiper....jeezz

hoping to sell it soon...but wanna fix things before i sell it....not much resale value either

what price u looking at as is send pm

Postby MG Man » August 1st, 2010, 1:04 pm

Mazdout wrote:
Transmission oil is advise to change 40k-60,000mil for these vehicles for a longer life, the particles of grinding metal becomes a sludge this sometimes causes the gears to slip. Depending if your a city driver or highway. Same with the Audi's.

local dealer insists the MINI's CVT is 'sealed for life' :?
I suspect it sealed till it fail :? :? :?

beatrix is back

Postby beatrix is back » September 7th, 2010, 3:44 pm

Mazdout wrote:
the wiper takes about 2mins to change...lol. Started making my on stock-room with basic things

for reall?? an a man wanna charge me 3500 to change it.....u had to be kidding...

dey feel i is woman i think wid meh....

steups ...thanks for the ideas.i working on things slowly but surely..

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » September 27th, 2010, 3:46 pm

I have the 1.4TSI 7 spd DSG,excellent on gas,enough power,handles pretty decent,tcs comes in handy in dangerous situations.I've done 30,000k so far and serviced twice.Only problem i got was total engine cut off on the way to sando.I still dunno what caused it as I didn't send it in as yet but the car started after I pulled over n kicked the starter again.Someone suggested it was bad gas but who knows, won't know until i sent it in which is soon again.

Return to “EURO”