Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

purple_heart77

Re: Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby purple_heart77 » July 31st, 2014, 10:07 pm

neexis wrote:
greggle71 wrote:
neexis wrote:
greggle71 wrote:Upgraded to 18 inch goal wheels. Was trying to post pics but tuner app is throwing an error message when uploading

Silver or same as Bunny?

Silver, went 225/45/18 on tires, no noticeable difference in ride quality. Went high end on tires Michelin Pilot Super Sport. Might consider doing some lowering spring work.

Where did you get those tyres, and how much?

My stock tyres are 235/45 R17 Continental's. Really love the grip and handling of them, so I kinda hesitant to go to another brand (as long as I don't have to)

Continental I found were great on my car. Changed to the cheaper Bridgestone RE760 which seem to perform equivalent wrt to grip and handling. At installation, they were all filled with air. Decided to try N2 and it made a difference on the ride. Next day, N2 in the Yeti :wink:!

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » August 2nd, 2014, 10:47 pm

greggle71 wrote:Ok got through using iPad as opposed to phone
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1406799165.273284.jpg

wait nah..is this from the east?

syncrod

Postby syncrod » August 6th, 2014, 5:40 pm

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 10th, 2014, 9:20 am

Check this out. I find the integrated vent gauge too expensive for what it offers compared to this:

http://www.vwwatercooled.com.au/forums/ ... 439-2.html

Postby Team Loco » August 10th, 2014, 9:37 am

Anyone ever brought in this jetta foriegn used? I am finding some nice prices on the 2008 models. $5000usd. Tempting

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 10th, 2014, 9:58 am

This Jetta as in the mk6? If it's the mk6 then it only started being produced in 2011 for european markets. 2008 would be the previous model Jetta. If you go that route just be sure to make sure it got all the software updates and other fixes from VW or organise to get them via BA.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 10th, 2014, 10:53 am

Guys are there any improvements done to the new 2014 Jetta since it's launch locally back in 2011? I'm getting the leather and sunroof version for $265k which was previously 275k. Just want to know if there were any mechanical or electronic improvements thanks.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 10th, 2014, 11:42 am

Minor things changed. Engine code changed from CAVD TO CTHD. Ecotune should be able to tell you the benefits of that change since I think his has the newer engine.

Other minor changes include new air con controls, leather on the door hand rest versus cloth in my 2012. Yours has an adjustable centre hand rest whereas mine is fixed.

That's about all I know off the top of my head.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 11th, 2014, 12:09 am

Sweet thx..really interested to know more about the engine code difference though.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » August 11th, 2014, 4:57 am

Cthd map not aa aggressive....slightly more conservative...that and they introduced a little gimmic feature while using tiptronic an upshift arrow prompts you on mfd display...

No tunes available yet for cthd worldwide...hopefully later down this year into next..

Upgraded pistons....now fully forged...revised oil pump and slight changes to the head...revised turbo..tho not confirmed ....

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 11th, 2014, 7:33 am

very interesting info there. Rep says there would be a new jetta next year. Do you all think its worth waiting for or plunge into the mk6 even though in its final year? See pics below:

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 11th, 2014, 7:51 am

I think those pics are the jetta cc. I don't think the mk7 jetta would be out till 2016 so. The new Passat is now being launched for next year

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 11th, 2014, 7:59 am

The Jetta the rep is talking about is a facelift. Facelift for 2015 launches in the US this year followed by a release for the rest of the world next year. Mk7 Jetta prolly won't launch till 2017 - 2018 or so.

http://www.thecarconnection.com/news/10 ... -auto-show

neexis

Postby neexis » August 11th, 2014, 8:30 am

New front looks like current Passat

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 11th, 2014, 8:51 am

And they shall call it "Mini me" lol
But seriously how u tell the current gen Passat and face lift mk6 apart

neexis

Postby neexis » August 11th, 2014, 12:41 pm

Jetta has them fancy lil flares on the front and a better looking behind :lol:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 11th, 2014, 2:42 pm

Looks like they fully forged those pistons after some reports of piston cracking in the 1.4 tsi.
Read on some Malaysian forums that some 1.4 tsi engines have this problem.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 12th, 2014, 12:19 pm

UK getting the facelift jetta in dec so early next year for us. Looks like they not offering the 1.4 twincharged engines. Only the 1.4 tsi with 148bhp just like on the golf.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » August 15th, 2014, 9:15 pm

I some sites offering aftermarket GLI front body kits (front bumper, upper and lower GLI grille and fog light kit). Same fit as existing model, will have to re-use the existing parking sensors tho

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 16th, 2014, 2:09 pm

Whew! Finally made it thru the 59 pages.

Excellent job guys. The info found here is priceless.

Postby Team Loco » August 16th, 2014, 2:14 pm

sweeks wrote:Whew! Finally made it thru the 59 pages.

So i getting to drive it right

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 16th, 2014, 6:43 pm

Team Loco wrote:
sweeks wrote:Whew! Finally made it thru the 59 pages.

So i getting to drive it right

Nothing yet .....still waiting for the stars to align .....

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » August 17th, 2014, 7:34 am

syncrod

Postby syncrod » August 23rd, 2014, 5:20 pm

installed a panel filter to help car breathe easier
20140823_115526_Android.jpg
20140823_120055_Android.jpg
20140823_120102_Android.jpg
20140823_120404_Android.jpg

Side by side
20140823_120434_Android.jpg

Stacked AEM>Stock
20140823_120443_Android.jpg

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 23rd, 2014, 8:54 pm

Massy have sale on VW parts. Up to 35% according to the ad.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 23rd, 2014, 8:55 pm

Whoooogaaaaard

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 23rd, 2014, 9:59 pm

Nahhhh..I just tune up by them..brakes rear is 1500

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 23rd, 2014, 10:04 pm

Erm for brake pads yo. Less than a 1000.

nicks1

Postby nicks1 » August 24th, 2014, 1:18 am

Where u got the filter to buy.

nicks1

Postby nicks1 » August 24th, 2014, 1:21 am

Where is ERM,i am looking for pads as well but i ent paying 1500 for the back alone plus labor and u ent talk about tue front yet....i was looking at the hawk pads but was told that it would be too hard and would eat the rotors.

Return to “EURO”