Replica wheels vs OEM wheels

Posted: December 2nd, 2011, 7:21 pm
by Allergic2BunnyEars
Are replica wheels bad? Are manufacturer rims worth the extra cost?

Considering getting replica VW wheels at half the cost of manufacturer ones and I would like to know what are te possible pitfalls.

Re: Replica wheels vs OEM wheels

Posted: December 3rd, 2011, 1:25 am
by MG Man

Posted: December 3rd, 2011, 8:49 am
by Allergic2BunnyEars
MG Man wrote:Image

Posted: December 3rd, 2011, 6:17 pm
by nemesis
Replicas would be weaker but lighter and significantly cheaper.

OEM wheels would have a better finish and stronger than the replicas(most times) but are rediculous with their weight and price.

If you intend to have a lot of sidewall on your tire you might get away with the Replicas in Trini for a long time.

If you have no problem with good aftermarket wheels (volk, OZ etc) then you could probably go that way and get the best of everything.

Posted: December 3rd, 2011, 8:04 pm
by MG Man
depends..........most OEM wheels are manufactured by one rim manufacturer or another...........find out who makes your rim and you might get the same or similar for much less

Posted: December 8th, 2011, 11:41 pm
by Allergic2BunnyEars
Thanks guys. Goin with Enkei Fujin wheels.

Posted: December 15th, 2011, 12:22 pm
by Allergic2BunnyEars
Cyah make up my mind now :oops:

Posted: January 17th, 2012, 8:42 am
by Ted_v2
first one in gold ^

Posted: January 18th, 2012, 6:18 am
by Allergic2BunnyEars
I no longer goin with these nah. Don't think they suit the style of the car I'm looking at.

TSW Nurburgring wheels are my new favourites

Posted: January 19th, 2012, 11:48 pm
by black start
being undecisive is a bad trait....u didnt even state the type of vehcle or colour...

Posted: January 20th, 2012, 6:35 am
by Allergic2BunnyEars
Black Start wrote:being undecisive is a bad trait....u didnt even state the type of vehcle or colour...

Well thank God I was indecisive and not undecisive.

Mk6 VW Jetta in tempest blue metallic

Posted: January 20th, 2012, 8:28 am
by black start
*looks at keyboard*

smh.....i liking the last set of black enkei's, will compliment the blue real nice imho....

Posted: January 22nd, 2012, 8:02 am
by Allergic2BunnyEars
b-21-1

b-21

a-22

decided to go with TSW Nurburgrings instead. Most likely in gunmetal. Pic colours off and the indicator for the car is not amber like in these pics but yuh get a general idea