thinkin about buyin this

Posted: March 16th, 2012, 2:09 pm
by MG Man
:mrgreen:

1.8 non-VVC
minor dings, binnacle over the instrument panel missing, a/c not workin (gettin a used compressor thrown in with it), hydragas need pumpin up, pulls to the left, original stereo missing

on the plus side, gearchange is excellent, clutch seems to still have some life, it already had the blown headgasket, and was repaired with new stretch bolts, so hopefully it will last a while

Other known issues with these cars:
gear linkage can get worn, troublesome to fix, coolant pipes corrode, hydragas system seals eventually fail and are unavailable, but there's a coil-spring kit for about 12k....usual need for new balljoints etc at this age.......

and...............gonna have to sell the MINI cuz I have no room for another toy :(

Re: thinkin about buyin this

Posted: March 16th, 2012, 3:42 pm
by Habit7
like yuhself nah

Posted: March 16th, 2012, 7:52 pm
by plex
my euro kind of rusty, what kind of car that is?

Posted: March 16th, 2012, 8:09 pm
by TriniVdub
Look keep yuh mini eh....i have no room in meh car if ah see yuh shut down on d side of d road.

Posted: March 17th, 2012, 12:13 am
by MG Man
looking like a done deal :)

Posted: March 18th, 2012, 4:29 am
by rfari
sweet ride. u can drive titties out on the weekend. no, the car :?
:mrgreen:

Posted: March 21st, 2012, 11:07 am
by MG Man
in my possession now :)
MINI will be up for sale shortly.....I had stockpiled lots of parts for the MINI because I had no intention of selling it :(
Uprated shock tower reinforcement kit on the way, as is a replacement a/c compressor cuz wife / sis / moms kept complaining about the lack of cold breeze (never bothered me)
Stockpile of spare new spare parts includes front rotors, front and rear brake pads, complete ball joint set, new lower mesh grille and some extra trim pieces. Also was planning to replace the cradle bushes, but instead of just pressing out the old rubbers, I bought the complete cradle brackets, including the new rubbers.......Just had the CVT fluid changed, installed a K&N etc

But she has to go........first on the list for the MG is uprated suspension to replace the hydragas system (about 12k)

Posted: March 26th, 2012, 3:38 pm
by Habit7
^^^your wife must love your plans :roll:

Posted: April 15th, 2012, 2:36 pm
by Pointman-IA
MG Man, how yuh project looking?

Posted: April 15th, 2012, 9:48 pm
by MG Man
only drove it once...........planning a complete suspension revamp in a few months............need some new tyres too

Posted: April 16th, 2012, 8:01 am
by Pointman-IA
vehicle to make chic drop their jaws and undies.. :D :D :D :D

Posted: April 16th, 2012, 1:41 pm
by MG Man
lol nah
most chicks nowadays only know almera and wingroad wid lambo doors

Posted: April 16th, 2012, 9:43 pm
by Mazdout
nice project car I can see some updating heading this way soon..lol
http://www.lexuslights.net/ROVER_&_MG-R ... index.html

Posted: April 17th, 2012, 8:34 am
by MG Man
riiiiiiiiight :p
always hated those tail lights...........no body or style mods anytime soon, if at all.........heck I really don't have any plans for the car, except the suspension conversion from hydragas to springs....maybe a roll-hoop kit at some point....most likely that car gonna sit under covers in the garage 90% of the time........

Posted: April 17th, 2012, 10:11 am
by Mazdout
...don't let it dry rot...LOL

Posted: April 17th, 2012, 10:29 am
by MG Man
ie English...........it go rotten first