So resale value just went down: How you feel?

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

Pointman-IA

Re: So resale value just went down: How you feel?

Postby Pointman-IA » October 24th, 2012, 1:56 pm

@ Allergic: I understood what you mean buddy...

But on a serious note, since NP claim their products to be of international standards, how come the dealers for European vehicles and even Japanese does not use these.
Took my wife's 2012 Rio for an oil change and was surprised the SS using Shell Helix, as opposed to Castrol.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » October 24th, 2012, 2:28 pm

Shell is used by Ferrari,maybe the Rio is a fast car? :D

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » October 24th, 2012, 2:33 pm

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:Shell is used by Ferrari,maybe the Rio is a fast car? :D

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby equipped2ripp » November 4th, 2012, 4:17 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:consensus seems to be 1.8T engines on VW and Audis can use 100% super.

says who?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 4th, 2012, 8:35 am

equipped2ripp wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:consensus seems to be 1.8T engines on VW and Audis can use 100% super.

says who?

Says best auto with respect to Vw. Says Vw repair database with respect to Vw. The 1.8t engine is shared between Vw and Audi. Compression ratio on the engine isn't the highest either.

Lastly I would say to check the manual just to be sure.

neexis

Postby neexis » November 4th, 2012, 11:55 am

equipped2ripp wrote:

says who?

Southern Sales also says super can be used for the A4 1.8 TFSI

nemesis

Postby nemesis » November 5th, 2012, 1:50 am

I don't think it would take 100% super very well. Try it and let us know.
I know it's old, but about the resale value of euros, there's one more thing that was missed. The initial purchase price of many of them are much higher than the average Japanese car we have in Trini. So the % drop seems more drastic. This was made even worse by the banks that for a long time would only finance 50% for local used cars (even though they did up to 80% for foreign used) making it very difficult to sell a used euro at a reasonable price. Hence the prices had to be reduced if the owners wanted to get rid of the vehicle. If someone had to pay true value very often they'd just go for a new Jap over a used Euro. Also amongst the reasons that used Euros seem to have gotton more expensive over the last 2 yrs or so. They're financed the same now, and they've gotton a better reliability/safety reputation.

Postby equipped2ripp » November 5th, 2012, 2:51 am

Lol... the 1.8T needs 95 RON, it says so in the manual and on the inside of the gas tank cover lid.

I used Super ONCE about 2 years ago and there is a big difference with regards to power and acceleration between the two.

neexis

Postby neexis » November 5th, 2012, 7:37 am

equipped2ripp wrote:Lol... the 1.8T needs 95 RON, it says so in the manual and on the inside of the gas tank cover lid.

I used Super ONCE about 2 years ago and there is a big difference with regards to power and acceleration between the two.

just repeating was a colleague was told by SSL for a recently acquired 2012/2013 facelifted A4.

fire for that sheit though..... I not gonna run super in one of those engines

Postby equipped2ripp » November 5th, 2012, 11:47 pm

Ok, I spoke to the head mechanic/technician for Audi in South today and he said Super can be used, but to expect less performance.

Premium for me yes.

Postby S_2NR » November 7th, 2012, 9:31 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:Lol... the 1.8T needs 95 RON, it says so in the manual and on the inside of the gas tank cover lid.

x2.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 7th, 2012, 10:12 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:Ok, I spoke to the head mechanic/technician for Audi in South today and he said Super can be used, but to expect less performance.

Premium for me yes.

Will SS be replacing the injection computers, should it go bad?

Postby equipped2ripp » November 7th, 2012, 10:33 pm

good question :idea:

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » November 8th, 2012, 7:19 pm

lol u guys are funny

mango_chow

Postby mango_chow » November 8th, 2012, 9:11 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Pointman-IA wrote:
kantoine wrote:Resale values for a lot of european marques are low for several reasons:

In the case of french cars, low because they just not very good and poorly built.
in the case of german cars , VAG cars in particular, you have to understand, that a lot of cars being sold less than 7 years old for small money are cars bought for managers. They probably going to get a newer , audi, vw or skoda, and so, they just selling them off, which is why i say, those are good cars to buy: usually driven by one person, highway mileage and serviced by southern sales (i dont know if thats a consolation)

Way boi, yuh ponging yuh european cousin so hard? :lol: :lol:
What is amazing is that people misunderstood the european engineering behind the Renaults. A perfect example is this: The owners manual specifically said that coolant is to be put in the bottle. I have seen people fill up the bottle with water and run the car with this. When disaster strikes, who is to blame? The manufacturer or the owner?

Daiz renault fault :lol:
They should have been more specific. "No water here. Only G12 coolant"
Technically water can be considered coolant.

.It is stated...
Will you introduce NP Engine Oil to your VW or stick with Castrol?

Hahahaha

mango_chow

Postby mango_chow » November 8th, 2012, 9:14 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:Ok, I spoke to the head mechanic/technician for Audi in South today and he said Super can be used, but to expect less performance.

Premium for me yes.

Stick to the premium horse. My friend fill super in his Audi and an error message came up stating Wrong fuel filled. Needless to say, they nearly drop down. :shock: I do not believe in NP octane levels after that. Seriously. According to the audi manual it can use super ratings of octane by np but when it was used the error message came up. Friend had to go n buy octane booster and when it normalize the car start.

Doh ever play cheap. Yuh does end up paying for it later. :shock:

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 1st, 2012, 9:13 pm

The NP octane levels are correct. I think those dealers not really checking the specs on those cars properly. I think mango is right though. If you want to drive a car that requires premium, be prepared to pay for it or else switch to Japanese.
As for the oil, well NP ain't going to make any deals with any car brand! I feel they wouldn't do too well if they tried anyway. :) I personally am currently not using the recommended brand for my car, but at least stick to good, reputable brands.

(l)bass

Postby (l)bass » December 5th, 2012, 7:05 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Its nearly 50% more to fuel most of our euro spec engines.

Super runs the risk of damaging our finely tune engine, so its not true alternative.

Still hope to sell your car this year and make a decent profit?

Make a profit? :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 5th, 2012, 7:30 pm

Step 1. Purchase Euro
Step 2. Sell Euro
Step 3. ....
Step 4. Profit!!!!

That's my plan dey wid d jetta

Postby Habit7 » December 7th, 2012, 10:57 am

When I say profit, I mean profit over the depreciated value. It will be sad if you bought a euro for $200K after 3 years it is worth $120K and you can't get an offer over $100K. Ideally you would want to make a profit over the depreciated value like +$130K. Otherwise you will end up selling your car, still owing on your bank loan, and without downpayment towards another car.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 7th, 2012, 6:31 pm

What profit allyuh talking about? Profit = Selling Price - Cost Price.

So if you paid $255,000 for a vehicle in 2008,how much you expect to sell it for in 2011/2012?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 7th, 2012, 6:44 pm

$260K :lol:

Postby Habit7 » December 7th, 2012, 7:02 pm

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 8th, 2012, 1:43 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:$260K :lol:

lol...like the car sleeping in the living room..

Return to “EURO”